Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,218 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Don't think there is any question regarding redundancy payments where the job is immediately filled. That is the whole point of making a position redundant - it no longer exists, unless you are the person in control of the finances and fancy a nice exit package.

Should be criminal and fraud charges brought against her

Look at the credits of his dancing with the stars show. Several Bass family members credited. Huge skin in that rte game for Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Rhymes with?

Would it be Clooney? More clues please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Same old RTE. Every few years they make a big song and dance about cost cutting and layoffs, when in reality most of the posts are either not made redundent or someone is rehired as a contractor later for unforseen events like you know a World Cup or Olympics. And don't mention the barter account or nepotism.

Rotten corrupt organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭jelutong

Correct. An individual isn’t made redundant , their job is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,476 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Yet a new person was employed at over 200k.

Rte really is an utter mess, and I still think there are so many stories we have yet to hear about, and may never know.

Something needs to be done to start bringing people to account. Public money was wasted so badly, yet we have zero accountability. And they are hauling people before the courts for refusing to pay a tv licence for this ongoing clusterfcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,218 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Exactly - don't pay the licence you are brought to court - waste tax payers money, defraud the company, spend money with no accountability and sail off in to the sunset with a nice little package. All the pensions for these people should be stopped and any payouts taken to court to recoup the money.

It's sickening that people with little money are penalised and nothing is done about the real criminals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

It looks more like fraud than ’money wasted’.

They would LOVE us to think it’s just money wasted or poor management. That’s what they’re hoping to hide behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭RoTelly

@Emblematic just thinking about it all and realize that regardless of any questions I might have about your idea at the end of the day your idea is calling for RTÉ to go, so I am with you on that.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Dee is trending on Twitter / X.

The leadership team when it is announce will possibly not include Eimear Cusack, and I wonder how long Robert Short can stay in the role of Company Secretary. It is strange that Bakhurst would keep these people on this Leadership team. He's really not done very much in the time he has been there.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭gifted

Why are they not dismantling Rte?....They did it with FAS years ago when they discovered the shite show that it was.

Is it because a lot of employees are suit and tie and well in with politicians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭jmcc

With all its much vaunted brilliance for investigative journalism, isn't it surprising that Prime Time or other programmes never uncovered or investigated all this activity in RTE?

Now, the poor feckers in RTE news find themselves having being played for chumps. The whole RTE organisation needs to be investigated. This also includes the former board and management.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭RunningFlyer

I’m just astonished the government seem to only care about reforming the licence fee. I genuinely am starting to feel these reports will be swept under the carpet and a “we move on” mantra adopted.

Imagine the repercussions for those 2x recent reports (Toy Show musical & VR package) for an executive at a private company.

How they can let anyone away with this (into the sunset with their generous pension) is criminal.

Ah now sure Dee and Moya wouldn't have had to have done all this jiggery-pokery had RTÉ been properly funded.

Did you not get that memo?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Why should people who don't have a TV have to pay a TV licence?

Why do I have to pay for your entertainment?

And lets not pay any credence to the oft quoted "they're getting their TV through other means" nonsense.

I don't know anyone under 65 who regularly watches RTE or listens to their Radio stations.

I personally think that Public Service Broadcasting is important and that we should have some from of public funding of it, however RTÉ have never lived up to the idea of being a public service broadcaster, it was always

1. The audience don't understand
    2. We don't get enough money
    3. Its a small country
    4. We need to pay these people to get the best people

We now know almost all of the above are untrue when they systematically used the money for themselves and not content or services.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭saabsaab

It's not for you or me it's for public broadcasting in general not just RTE. It won't be a 'TV' licence hopefully in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 00s anorak

Has anyone mentioned Willie O'Reilly? Rejoined RTE from Today Fm in 2012 to become commercial Director but a couple of years later took an exit package. I was amazed that this was allowed go completely unchallenged at the time but the mainstream media in this country is one communal family that scratches each others backs. I would have thought that it is basic foundation level Junior Cert stuff to know that redundancy packages should be used for surplus to requirement staff who don't need replacing like a midnight to 2 DJ on 2fm who could be replaced by an automated playlist for example, not senior executives who are going to be replaced with someone new in the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,036 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

There is already an organisation fulfilling a public service remit and producing decent quality programming in Ireland, on a shoestring budget - TG4. Give them direct exchequer funding to provide Irish & cultural content, and bin RTE.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

been wondering this myself,looks like all those super hot shot expensive investigative reporters hadnt a clue....in my job id be very low down on the scale but at the same time ive a very good idea of what is going on at board and management level...

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

Willie O'Reilly left in 2018, I would say he left on the 2017 package, I don't see why not.

Frances Abeton left the role of Director of Operations and Production Services at the end of 2018, she'd been highlighted in the press on her arrival a year before, did she take up the offer to go? Note that her role was not replaced, and also that it looks and sounds like a made up role.

Did Jon William take up the 2021 offer when he left at the start of 2022? Do Executives get gold handshakes on Exiting?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RT%C3%89_Executive_Board

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,461 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

For anyone to even think of defending RTE in this situation only underlines how corrupt the whole sector undoubtedly is.

John Q Taxpayer is, and has been, cottaged by these people to a greater and lesser degree for yonks, who ran the gaff like as was said a personal fiefdom ,where a coach and four was galloped through any regulation which left them at a disadvantage.

Then they try to pull the ladder up after them when they are at long last found out.

Unbelievable Jeff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Could be best to just close and restart from scratch at this stage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I have my doubts that only reform of existing structures in RTE in exchange for a new funding model will be enough to satisfy an electorate that's seemingly quite angry about a lot of things.

A rebrand is probably the minimum now and I wonder if a formal split between PSB and commercial is now a real possibility.

Rebrand is useless with out change. Government should start the split.

• Move RnaG and all Irish Language commissions to TG4 (increase funding to TG4 by €17m)
    • Move Orchestra and Lyric FM to National Concert Hall (increase funding by €14m, Lyric FM news provided by RTÉ)
    • Take 2RN out of RTÉ altogether

We then have some movement of that split.

IMO This idea that it was an issue of money and commercialism that got RTÉ to where it is at is pure distraction, RTÉ have never been a good public service broadcaster and they would have played the same game even if they'd been less commercial. IMO.

These idea continue to suggest that RTÉ was always at the behest of outside forces and they could do nothing, in the words of Moya Doherty an "Existential Crisis".

How do you split the rest of PBS from commercial?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

It was always clear that O'Keefe's redundancy was illegal. I hope Revenue actually do something but I'd prefer to see a Garda investigation. It was a cosy deal between herself and Forbes. It's got fraud written all over it.

They can keep sending me reminders on the license fee. Not a notion. Would prefer to go to court.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

wonder what else is going to come out...? its nearly a year since yer man jacked in the late show and very little has actually been done since,yer one dees doctor needs to stop signing off on the sic notes and she has to be made answer questions,its OUR money she pished away after all...i really do think the only thing to do is close it up and start fresh...and in the mean time bring in the garda fraud squad.

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

Is Eimear Cusack still director of HR? It would have been her job to approve and calculate the redundancy payments. She also failed to produce the Org Chart and introduce a Salary Grade system.