Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ian Bailey RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

what are you on about back to write an article? He could have wrote the article at any stage. Back to place a piece of paper from a drawer and put it on a table.

That’s a very good point , I’m glad it didn’t go to court with what they had , the not guilty may have gotten some of his life back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

For goodness sake. Bailey and Thomas did have their alibi agreed. It was that they were both in bed. She changed it once she thought the game was up and he was spotted nead SDP house. She came clean. Then Bailey was forced to come up with a new alibi.

How on earth can you not see this as suspicious?

Its got nothing to do with hazy recollections. Its Bailey caught out in his original lie and then forced to come up with a new lie. The man had serious issues with the truth.

Sorry what ? He said himself he didn’t drink that much that night- A few pints and a whiskey or two. Where did you hear the on the piss all day?? He could have of course just used his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,105 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

They were both in bed... great masterminds at work there coming up with that one.

You are making statements of fact as if you know exactly what happened when you simply cannot know that for sure.

Self discrediting.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Course he isn’t innocent, he beat his partner 3 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Deeec

And to add to that, they were both drinking which makes the memory of that night a bit fuzzy. As time goes on memory's become a bit muddled - if someone asked me to give a rundown of what I did on Saturday night of last week I would struggle to give correct timings and may even confuse it with a different night. My husband would probably give a different version and give different times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Why did nobody see the car going or coming back . Not even his partners daughter who returned to the house much later . Where is the forensic evidence found in the car ?

You literally said even "if he is innocent" - clearly talking about the murder. They are your direct words. Im not making them.

You are arguing against and discrediting your own posts... a post you only made earlier tonight.

If you wont even stand over your own words they dont need any further discrediting from me.

Do you think he was scum? You have never mentioned his violence.

A murder took place in the property adjacent to the apartment complex I was in. There is no way I could account in detail for where I was weeks later. I would have a good idea but could easily miss out points like going to bins or to lobby for a delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭tibruit

She said the whole Hunt`s Hill episode was "absolute invention" in 2015.

Two years later she gave an interview to Philip Boucher Hayes...."He said at some stage he had a funny feeling that something was going on. It was very strange....something was going on somewhere."

The biggest mistake made by the Gardaí in this case was that they thought that Jules had some part in the clean up. She hadn`t a notion what he had done or what he was up to. The first attempted clean up was in the studio with bleach that he bought on Xmas eve. Then to be sure to be sure he burned the lot in the bonfire. She didn`t even know there was a bonfire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

So bailey was getting cut by sticks trees and turkeys all around the same time ?

Bit coincidental no ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Tell me you've never been to the area without telling me you've never been to the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Ah shur these days we all have murders beside us - 10 a penny they are- I keep forgetting to remind myself of where I was in case I’m asked- I just can’t keep up with my movements there’s so many murders 😀😀😀🤪🤪

Come on. Lucid enough to write a newspaper article but too hazy to remember what he was doing when asked later. There's a lot of stretching going on here. We are also led to believe by the same people he was a functioning alcoholic and so could carry his drink, yet his partner said he was a messy drunk. There's as many inconsistancies in the accounts of his defenders as his own accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

It's amazing how the same posters want to believe a car was used with zero evidence and want to convict bailey with zero evidence. Laughable stuff, talk **** they are judge and jury

its amazing how posters disregard an absolute mountain of circumstantial evidence and claim that he is definitely innocent.

Bailey was nothing more than a narcissist, a liar and a murderer. His story changed so much and had more holes in it than Swiss cheese for anyone who bothered to read up on the reports of journalists who have investigated the case for years.

Thats why its called functioning alcoholism:

"Occasional lapses in short-term memory are normal. For high-functioning alcoholics, these memory lapses may appear more often. They may forget portions of the conversations. Their forgetfulness may be about where they parked their car or an activity they planned to do after drinking."

https://www.hannahshouse.com/signs-of-a-high-functioning-alcoholic/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Yes he didn't tell her and he was right not to

Well said , that’s the crux of it. Just awkward contrarian types say otherwise. I still have to laugh at the French hitman with a rock theory. Although in fairness at least that poster offered a theory. Many of the Bailey sympathisers don’t bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Deeec

It is amazing - they think he drove the car there, murdered her, then drove it back while covered in blood, gave the car a hell of a clean and then went in that very same car to the murder scene the next day - right under the gardais noses. Now that's brazen. Done this all while drunk and managed to leave no trace.

If he drove there and murdered her he wouldn't have been so stupid to bring it to the murder scene the next day.

Jules knew the score. She had to protect herself and her children (who wouldn't visit Jules when they became adults on account of coming across Bailey). She had a choice - turn a blind eye, keep quiet or suffer the poor fate that Bailey gave Sophie. Even still that didn't stop Bailey giving her a few hidings every now and again.

This whole thread is about whether Bailey deserved to be a suspect, little more.

Actual guilt or innocence is not going to be determined on here.

The only evidence in the case is circumstantial. Of course Bailey was never going to be convicted based on the hard evidence, nor would any other suspect including the French hitman with his rock which was supplied by SDPs husband!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Read more anlbiut the case and come back, driving was ruled out by everyone including the gardai. Keep up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

OK it was a very unique crime at a time of few such crimes at a very particular time of year- absolutely. But I’ve written papers when drunk - sometimes that the only way you’ll get me to do certain written work 😀 (seriously! ) And I’m probably not alone in that- sometimes a bottle of wine or a whiskey is required to get through a tedious written task- whether it looks and sounds any good the following day, I’ll plead the 5th on that 🤪

If you watch videos of Bailey in more recent years, he’s very much an incoherent drunk - whether he was always like that only those he knew him back then can say I guess. How drunk was he on the night I wonder? I’d offer that if he did go to Sophie’s house it was because he was spurred on by drink - so probably quite drunk- but then could he have really travelled the roads or the fields in that state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭tibruit

She genuinely believes that he didn`t do it. She said there was no Xmas bonfire because she knew nothing about it. There is no doubt there was a Christmas bonfire. It was witnessed by a number of people. One of them was a girl who was home from London for four days over Christmas. Jules said that Ian couldn`t have lit a bonfire because he was "a hoarder who never got rid of anything."

Well he got rid of something that Christmas and we know it included footwear and clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,251 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The remains of Ian Bailey have been cremated in a private ceremony in Cork, with no one bar crematorium and funeral director staff in attendance.

His solicitor, Frank Buttimer, confirmed the news on Tuesday evening on behalf of Mr Bailey’s UK-based sister.

Given his previously well-documented health difficulties, including two heart attacks last September, no autopsy was conducted and the cause of death was recorded as natural causes.

Mr Bailey’s body was retained in Bantry General Hospital until arrangements were made for its collection by a funeral director from outside West Cork for transport to The Island Crematorium in Ringaskiddy, near Cork City on Tuesday morning.

It is understood that his family wanted a low-key service away from the media spotlight.

In a statement issued this evening, Mr Buttimer said he was authorised on behalf of Mr Bailey's next of kin to confirm that Mr Bailey’s remains were cremated at a private event earlier today.

He said that no further statement would be made in relation to this matter.

There was no notification of Mr Bailey’s death on the RIP.ie website.

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World