Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Rugby Discussion 3

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Absolutely - Goal-Kicker/Punter is probably the only genuine pathway for someone coming to the NFL late from Rugby/AFL/GAA etc.

Directly transferable skills and limited requirement to master all the other elements of the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,230 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Only surprise about his appointment is that its only a 2 year contract.

This time last year they stupidly sacked Rennie and gave Jones a 4 year contract.

Real change cant be implemented in 2 years.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,207 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

possibly a result of RA recognising they were burnt with Jones. Id imagine if there is any consolidation of results, or progress with pathways, they will extend Joes tenure.

It may also be possible that Joe could be looking to return to teh ABs for the run in for RWC 27

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

He has been officially confirmed now, head coach on two year contract.

Its an impossible task though, fair play to him to take it on but it will really be an uphill struggle from where they are starting.

https://www.rugby.com.au/news/schmidt-calls-for-patience-with-wallabies-rebuild-2024119

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

2 year contract is short, but I guess they feel burned by prior appointments.

Thought this was interesting

"(With Ireland) we didn't select anyone who wasn't contracted in Ireland," Schmidt said.

"There was nothing really stopping overseas selections in Ireland, but I know because they're so close to Europe, that would have been really detrimental to the Irish domestic competition

"So it's another one of those questions where I just want to find out a little bit more of what it looks like.

"It would be great if we can select almost entirely from Australia, rather than chase guys from overseas." 

I see Jaco Peyper is retiring

always found him a bit meh to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,467 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Never liked his style or occasionally wild inconsistency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭ersatz

WR is a possibility, The Raiders tried to convert Ronaldo Nehemiah, who is the Olympic gold medalist 400m hurdler from Cuba and there have been other attempts to take track athletes and turn them into wide receivers, assuming they’ve got elite speed and hands. The other obvious one is kick returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,121 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Thank ****. Atrocious ref, absolute menace to the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,331 ✭✭✭leakyboots

In my opinion you're a bit too on the fence on this one, can you tell us what you really feel?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What is a kick returner when it's at home?

I've only ever seen lads kick conversions after touchdowns.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

At any restart, one team kicks to the other, or attempts to reclaim it from their own kick off.

A kick returner is someone that catches the ball, and attempts to run it up the field.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Just like in rugby union - the kick off is one of one the few parts of both sports that mirror each other directly, and where the US sport really shows its rugby origins. Of course, American football’s played on a much smaller field, so a lot of kicks aren’t actually returned at all - the ball might go out beyond the end (dead ball) line, resulting in what’s known as a touchback, or the receiving team might call a fair catch (mark).

Punt returner is rarely a dedicated position though, and often played by someone who normally plays on offence as a wide receiver (a similar position to winger in some respects) or running back (roughly fullback).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Will watch playoffs and the Super Bowl but never have a clue what’s going on at the kick offs. Couldn’t figure out why some are returned and why sometimes they are left to bounce and the players all surround and stare at the ball on the ground.

They’ll do this if the kick has landed inside certain areas.

For the kicking team, they basically want to get the ball to land as close to the opposition goal line without crossing it. In those scenarios, the returning team will rarely chance picking it up and it will be deemed ‘down’ where it is.

If the kicking team kick it too far into or through the back of the end zone (deemed a ‘touchback’) then the play will automatically restart out on the 25 yard line.

just heard the eggchasers boys say that Roots is welsh qualified, so maybe im not going completely mad. There must be some connection somewhere

Anyone started watching Full Contact on Netflix?

I watched the first two. Not really compelling viewing so far but maybe interesting for new fans of the sport. It's basically two featured players per episode. Russell, Genge, Smith and Negri and I guess Porter is in the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Finn Russells head is so far up his own arse

Porter comes across brilliantly.

Fickou is incredibly likeable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Watched the first four. Porter has indeed come across very well as has Genge. Two players who would polarise opposition fans, due to their combative nature, I think it’s fair to say. Lots of depth from the two. Russell a little less so. Comes across (to me) as a bit childish for a 30 year old.

Gregor Townsend fills the Scottish players heads full of so much crap

His main coaching point is "we will win because we are fitter than them", then they lose

Owen Farrell comes across very well too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Im nine minutes into episode 1 and one thing is clear.

Scotland will never win anything with Finn Russell.

Hes got the maturity of a giddy nine year old, all he wants is to pull off one or two flashy tricks in a game completley secondary to their gameplan and to him the winning or losing of the game is irrelevant. Its the Finn Russell show not a team.

Long may it continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Was always going to be aimed at the general sports fan rather than the rugby lovers but would have liked to have seen a bit more depth to it. Feels a little bit rushed.

I'm also surprised they didn't at the very start give a beginners guide to the main rules.

It's obviously only a snippet but the Irish training camps look like they are miles ahead of Scotland, Wales etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Isnt it better to some extent its aimed at general sports fan more in hope it will attract then to rugby more?

Background to the laws in what way at the beginning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Strand1970

Genge came across really well. I know feck all about players outside of Ireland. Really interesting to get a bit of their backgrounds. I can see this growing over a few seasons if it continues. Might take a while for teams to be more comfortable having cameras around and learning what boundaries to relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭ersatz

Agree that it just reinforces the worst suspicions about Russel and to a lesser extent Townsend. Italy’s coaching crew beyond Crowley also pretty thin. I fast forwarded a lot. Genge, Porter and Farrell are box office, potentially.

Hard to tell about the quality of the training camps but Townsend fills the Scottish players heads full of so much delusional stuff.

Your fitter then Ireland, You will smash them in the scrum, in the maul, in contact. They were crap and they lost.

He told them the same crap against France and they lost.

He also told them if they perform to their best, they can beat anyone. Yet to get that performance from them though.

The Negri life story was excellent. And the end with Sexton and his son was fantastic. The world isn't ready for the Johnny and Luca secret handshake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

You mean someone else? Nehemiah is American, not Cuban, and did the 110m hurdles. He played a bit of American football.