Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭yagan

I can imagine Graham thinking everyone I interview has some work behind them with which I can talk to them about in front of the UK public. Where would he even start with Tubs in front of a UK audience?

"Hi everyone, this is Ryan whose Partygate style backhanders were found out so now he's slumming in the UK until he thinks it's safe enough to crawl back to his old job."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭FattyBolger

Not true. I bought a copy of a JMcC book, must be almost 30 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Tork

I can't help but think both sides went into this agreement with different aims. Virgin thought they were getting a veteran broadcaster who'd take over that mid-morning slot and perhaps become a breakthrough star. It's looking more and more like Tubridy isn't interested in trying to connect with any of his new listeners. It's the equivalent of a summer job that'll keep him going until something better comes up back in Ireland. I'm not a fan of Tubridy's but don't wish him ill either - I'd describe myself as an interested observer. Any time I dip into his show, I come away thinking he's doing a terrible job. Any texts he reads out are from Irish people, he can't stop talking about Irish things and he's not actually that interesting. Other radio stations are available and I think many will turn the dial or whatever the modern equivalent is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭FattyBolger

Is there any actual evidence to suggest that Paddypower are directly paying his salary instead of Virgin? A few people have hinted at that, and I find it highly dubious to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

Jaysus the defenders are out in force. The cheques must have cleared

What’s happened to @Pintman Paddy Losty and @Sunny Disposition ?

Why does everyone seem so confident that Tubridy will have ANY chance of a future career with RTE ?

How could that be justified by anyone at RTE ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

No evidence they are directly paying his wages. His own evidence they are sponsoring the show after he begged them. Does it make a difference if they pay him directly or they pay Virgin who then pay him?

And for the record I am not saying this is a Renault 2.0 deal. Its all above board.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I think that is a fair assessment. If Virgin are referring to Tubridy as the "legendary Ryan Tubridy" though, they've miscalculated, even by Irish mammie standards. The LLS is technically legendary, but Tubs is only legendary due to recent events, and not in a good way.

tub joe.png

God, this is from 2017. Even 6 years they were actually telling us that the joke was on us!

I suspect the novelty of posting when 98% of people disagree with them, has worn off. Perhaps one of them hoped this thread would be closed. (Dunno where I got that idea).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,536 ✭✭✭jmcc

Unlike RTE, Virgin Radio is a commercial radio station and it has to cover costs and make a profit. It has no licence fee to help it along so it primarily works on getting advertising and sponsorship. With Tubridy, Virgin got an established name even if he was just an Irish broadcaster with little UK visibility. The interesting thing is the part of the deal that has Tubridy's slot syndicated on Q102 and other Wireless Group (News Broadcasting) stations in Ireland.

There has been a lot of takeover activity in the Irish radio market and the Communicorp stations were sold a few years ago to Bauer. There have even been sales at a local radio level. Tubridy's main value is not to Virgin Radio but rather in the syndication deals with Q102 and the other Irish stations. He may have been worth the salary he is being paid by Virgin Radio if he can boost the listenership of Q102 and the other Irish stations. He's working longer hours for less money than he was getting in RTE.

It might seem to be a bit of a gamble for Virgin to put Tubridy on right after Chris Evans but if people are listening to the slot rather than the presenter, it might not lose a lot of the audience. The important thing is that the advertising and sponsorship for the slot remains healthy. If Tubridy helps build the figures for Q102 and the other Irish stations, it would make them more attractive to a buyer but it might also bring in more advertising. Perhaps he will get some of his fans to switch from RTE to Q102. His old slot on RTE seemed to get more listeners after he was replaced. The next few RAJARs and JNLRs should show if the gamble has paid off.

If he's a success for Q102 etc (their figures go up and the RTE and others figures go down slightly) then it might make more commercial sense (for Virgin Radio's and Q102's owner) to move him sideways back to Ireland and reassign the Virgin Radio slot to a UK presenter. It could take six months to a year to see if that's what will happen.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,045 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Best we not talk about how sponsorship and payments worked in RTÉ…….

It was also complete made up fantasy…. Except the bits where it all actually happened… which was most of it!

Opening link and the dad jokes are back....

"Gail is on" "Run like the wind Gail"

"Who am I?" Ryan Tubridy, thats RYAN TUBRIDY... Let me introduce myself........

It really is hospital radio stuff....

Tubs talking speed has reduced today.

Still talking about books and bookshops.

Says he owns a couple of younger people!

You get the impression from him that he's actually broadcasting to a BBCR4 or R2 audience.... or maybe he believes that's who his audience is....

All the while playing Taylor Swift and Ed Sheehan songs...

I give it 6 months (and I'm being kind)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

If Tubridy couldn't find a sponsor, it would certainly be a cause for mockery (here) and concern (in Virgin Radio HQ and Casa Tubridy).

But he has found a sponsor. And a good one too. The fact that Noel Kelly's team have worked with them before seriously isn't the gotcha many here think it is: that's exactly what you want in an agent - someone with good industry contacts. And if you look at CMS Marketing's website, you'll see that they've worked with a lot of very, very large international corporations. Getting a sponsorship deal with one of them is not surprising or concerning at all. If he had got a deal with Vodafone or Visa or Samsung, would people still be making it out to be a negative thing? Of course not.

No-one actually knows what the sponsorship deal is, but lets just say it's the amount of money that covers Tubridy's wages for the sake of argument. That's seriously not a gotcha either. Virgin Radio aren't in the business to break even. They're in it for profit, and they're not a charity. They certainly have't hired Tubridy to just keep a seat warm. And that's not even taking into account that Tubridy's wages is not the only expense of broadcasting the show. They've calculated (rightly or wrongly) that he'll bring in sponsors, advertisers and listeners. He's brought in a sponsor. Time will tell if he's bringing in advertisers and listeners, and if he's not, he'll be out on his ear. But he'll be given time to build up that audience and draw with advertisers.

I'm certainly no fan of gambling and betting companies, but they are legal, and they have to operate (and advertise) within a strict regulatory framework. Virgin or Tubridy are really doing nothing wrong in dealing with them. Paddy Power are a massive company in Britain (they're certainly not the parochial, Irish company some here think they are), and they sponsor loads of things. Former Newstalk host Ivan Yates actually owned and operated a string of betting shops, and he didn't receive the criticism that Tubridy is facing for merely being sponsored by one, so there's definitely a case of double-standards here.

Finally, I'd like to point out that Paddy Power is not a person. It's a company. I've seen a few people on the thread talking about "him". You'd be laughed at if you were to think that Ronald McDonald was the guy behind McDonalds. There's no "Mr. Paddy Power" behind Paddy Power. There happens to be a man called Paddy Power that runs their communications department, but that's co-incidental.

There's plenty - a plethora - of things to criticise Tubridy for, but having secured a legitimate sponsorship deal for his show certainly isn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

Pairing up with a gambling company is the absolute height of scumbaggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭mountain

Ah now,

im no fan of Tubs, but that’s a harsh comment

It's hard to avoid sponsorship from gambling these days because the industry sponsors the feck out of everything and anything it can... (probably half of Premier League jerseys were betting ads a few years ago)...

Tubs & Noel probably worked a few connections to make it happen, which is absolutely fine, and not a stick to beat them with...

I've probably only listened to about 6-7 links in total, with 1-2 being the initial intro's (all on Q102), but haven't heard the name Paddy Power once!! so do only the Virgin audience hear it? Or is it only at the top/bottom of the hour type deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭hawley

It's not coincidence at all. Paddy Power's father set up the Paddy Power company. They're under the umbrella of Flutter now and I'm sure that their share in the overall company is very small. Ivan Yates got plenty of criticism for facilitating gambling.

Post edited by hawley on

Communication was the greatest fatality

Remove Tubridy from the situation for a moment and just say it was an well known Irish radio presenter without toxic baggage who was approached by Virgin to host that slot then what would their business angle be?

There's no shortage of candidates in the large market that is the UK, perhaps someone with a loyal following via a regional radio station that covers a population greater than Ireland would be ideal. No weirdness rabbiting on about things and people that are unknown in Britain etc..

The only business argument I can think of is that Tubridys seat is paid for by a sponsor, or maybe it's paid for by Tubridy himself to just get back on air; Paddypower being a smaller input than we credit. As someone else pointed out Paddypower is a well known business in Britain so it's just more adverting they'd do anyway regardless of Tubridy so not exactly any kind of scoop; it's just their advertising budget including that slot.

There was over half a year of radio silence for Tubs so desperate times require desperate measures and if paying to get on air on any station is the way to go then it makes sense. I've no doubt Virgin will be aware of the circumstances under which he burned his own bridges in Ireland, but there's no risk if he costs them nothing and if listenership falls they simply replace him.

IMG_2458.jpeg

If Ryan were an artist, this might be a typical production. The admirers, the ladies of a certain age from the local branch of the ICA would be praising his efforts to the hilt. The emperor has no clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

Its not a coincidece that Paddy Power works for Paddy Power.

The only other quibble that I would have with the above is that if you do not have extra listeners or extra advertiser, it's useful to have an agent with established connections to offset organic growth. A minder. You could say that Ryan is an investment vehicle for Noel and Niamh.

And yes, gambling sponsorship is everywhere. While it wont matter as he plays Taylor Swift, the forces behind Tony O'Reilly and Declan Lynch not getting interviewed (badly) by Ryan Tubridy on the Late Late is where the relationship between Paddy Power (or Flutter now), Noel Kelly, RTE and Ryan Tubridy becomes a bit more sinister.

EDIT: One final thing, I don't think that many would be looking out for a radio host to bring a sponsor with them. Ideally they would be hired for their listenability. It would be no cause for mockery if there wasn't a sponsor as not all radio hosts have one, and many of the best dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Guy from Galway on the phone with Tubs currently, i'd swear it sounds like Dave Fanning.

"In his new weekly column, Ryan will offer readers a view into his daily life and his unique take on living in London.  

Speaking about his new column, Ryan said: “I’m very excited about writing a diary from London for The Irish Mail on Sunday.

"New city, new show, new beginnings so the possibilities are endless.

"This weekly column means the reader can join me along the way.” 

Paul Henderson, CEO of DMG Media Ireland, commented: “We are delighted that Ryan will be joining the DMG family this week."Ryan is one of the most outstanding broadcasters Ireland has ever produced. The insights that he will provide into his new adventures will simply delight our audiences every week.”

Seeing as the whole JFK thing isn't as big over there I reckon in time tubs will become a self appoint royal correspondent for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,443 ✭✭✭leath_dub

He may have to branch out a little more to keep the income stream at it's usual level, but he seems determined to do this

Back in RTE, I would have thought Ryan would have despised everything that the Daily Mail stands for but hey: "Work is work!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

There were rumours he was going to GB News at one point, I would have loved to see that.