Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,967 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

is it not still a mecca for shopping? it's rammed all the time, have you been around the shopping streets before Xmas and after during the sales? never seen it as packed.

i found belfast to be pretty soulless and its nightlife is shite compared to dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

It's still a **** part of town. I feel on edge there and I'm pretty relaxed.

If we had a greater supply of social housing, we could move people around and make it more of a mixed area.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

It depends on what you want to base it on. Generally speaking Dublin ranks relatively high in most surveys when it comes to safety. Perhaps it is time that the old DMP was resurrected and the residence of Dublin taxed accordingly. But I'm betting that if that happened you'd be singing a different song and most Dubliners would suddenly decide it is fine as it is. It does not matter who the minister is or what party is in power, it always comes down to who pays the piper and who gets to call the tunes.

It's still the best place for socialising despite the cost of everything. Not much places to socialise in the suburbs.

Belfast has it's merits but lots of dereliction and deprivation. It's much smaller also.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The solution to inner city crime is to move the inhabitants of the inner city out to the suburbs.

Nothing else will work. You can sink as much money as you want into urban regeneration, community schemes, social welfare, but the fundamental problem is that there are thousands upon thousands of degenerate scumbags living at taxpayer expense in what should be the prime tourist, cultural and business centre of the city.

This isn't new by the way. You just hear about more of these incidents because of social media.

The sort of powers that Helen McEntee would need to sort it out would not get through the Dail in 2024, and Sinn Fein would be the very ones objecting to them. So what she's supposed to do about it isn't clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,989 ✭✭✭yagan

The solution would have been to build apartments that could comfortable house an average family rather than the Liam Carrol shoe boxes of the Bertie bubble era and the short term student accommodation that are all over the city now.

There was never any community focused planning involved and I'm pretty certain that one person responsible for decisions made about the inner city between the north and south circular roads actually lives there. It was always a rent cash cow, if not for students then for payment from the welfare department.

It's essentially a dumping ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,891 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

I am not obsessing about FG. I should also add that I am a very good friend of Darragh O'Brien and I will openly admit that despite our friendship he is doing a bad job.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

I agree.

I think it's a worthless comment to say Dublin is 'safe' or 'unsafe'.

it has to be boiled down to which parts of it are unsafe.

Anybody familiar with the North inner city can see the problems themselves, kids dealing drugs on scooters, lot of random homeless and gypsies hanging about day or night. I mean that's the reality. Look at the luas stop at Dominick street, what a dump always alcos and junkies hanging around . It really doesn't feel safe at all especially in the evening.but many of these 'characters' are around in the daytime as well.

Talbot street is well dodgy when it is quiet in the evening . Having to walk up that way to get a train in the very run down looking Connolly station.....and then got on more run down DARTs and old diesel trains with their lack of security guards...not good.

I find it very disappointing how badly the whole area has been managed, the air of neglect . The streets were dirty as well because some areas had only bin bag collection and no wheelie bings until very recently.

There are also suburbs and estates that I just wouldn't want to go into.in the suburbs.

Areas that have been improving overall are Finglas and Cabra notwithstanding the occasional incidents. Probably Crumlin and Tallaght too many of which used to be really rough.

North inner city is main issue now stretching out to East Wall, Connolly st to docklands, to Croke park and the canal there.

Folks should make an effort to say where they actually are talking about.in Dublin. Dublin has always been fairly rough, but unfortunately I feel it is still fairly rough even if supposedly much much richer.

12 years ago I got mugged on Amiens street when my mobile phone was stolen and since then I have kept my wits about me. I live in the Sobo area of Dublin and during lockdown it could get very violent at times. Thankfully it's gotten back to normal but there are parts of the city centre that I worry about walking through because I find it less safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

It goes back about a 150 years to the tenements. I agree that more of the flats should be demolished, and social housing distributed to other areas. But hard to do in reality. They seem very slow i.e. Dominic street area

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

Thank you for reminding me that dismissive replies like this are the reason why I really shouldn't bother with these threads.

Happy New Year.

You have said it much better than I did. I too will never leave Dublin and I do sadly think it does not feel safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

People get more risk averse with age. Dublin's much safer than when you were younger, but as you get older, you get more cautious, so your perception of danger has changed, that's all.

Well, risk aversion must be kicking in younger then, because my 27 year old wouldn't dream of walking down O'Connell Street on their own at night, whereas I did it no problem at that age.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Its the North Inner City that can be dodgy. But as others have said, even that area is generally fine.

The South City Centre is like a different planet though.

Always great buzz around Grafton St environs and much more attractive as an area vs across the river.

If i have visitors I never dream of going over to the north side and all visitors go away thinking Dublin is amazing!

I think the Metro station, Carlton Site, Clerys and Parnell Sq Cultural Quarter will be the game changer for the north side.

Until then it's not really necessary to cross the Liffey.

Capel St is coming along nicely though also.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,017 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's safer than Tijuana, Detriot, Caracas...

You can safely walk the streets of Dublin as a government minister with a garda escort.

Yep, good points.

But removing the drug treatment centres and the high concentration of social housing would also help.

And just tag any trouble causers with an ASBO like they do in the UK. Minute you come into the city centre your tag goes off and breach of bail, off to prison you go.

If the will was there its not difficult to clean up the area.

But until then, just avoid the North side. Job done.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

You will get 2 kinds of responses from people in denial

"I've never had a problem so there is no problem"

"I know all the heads in the area and they're sound"

• Registered Users Posts: 29,081 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

• Registered Users Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Pearse St area from the river, bordered by Grand Canal Docks (posh) to the east and city centre to the west.

Still a fair bit of social housing around there, but it has gentrified a lot in recent years I would say.

It's a makey uppey name for an area in Dublin. I expect created by estate agents to push market prices up :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What drug treatment centres would you like to move and to where ?

Im from the city centre with family and friends from both the North and South Inner City , I don’t want to move nor do most of my friends and family .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,623 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Or people who know the city and know it's safe. There's lots going on that shouldn't be going on, there needs to be investment, improvements, a metro police force and other measures but to say it's a dangerous city is a joke, an idea perpetuated by people that haven't a clue about Dublin. Millions traverse the city, work in the city, live in the city safely every day.

Decentralise the drug treatment centres out of the city centre, so you dont attract all the addicts into that area.

Move some to industrial estates and the council provides transport to the facility where needed.

Nobody is saying you should move, but the north inner city especially needs more mixed tenancy areas, so more working people/high earners can live there. Rather than creating a Ballymun style ghetto, which is what the place is now.

Anyone I talked to said that yes Dublin has issues but for the majority of people it is safe.

You have huge sections of the city which are safe to walk in day or night. You have other which are not, like every city in the World

People trying to push Dublin is not safe have another agenda, in this case it is just been used to have an attack on a TD.

What your suggesting is gentrification of an area which lets idiots open poxy little cafes , destroys local communities with their ridiculous prices and forces locals out of these areas for over priced housing .Ballymun style ghetto , that’s just a slur .