Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,930 ✭✭✭ongarite

Agree, enjoyed the movie review episode.

More Ken outside his comfort zone of football & politics please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I keep saying Happy Christmas to people in that David O'Doherty voice.

I don't know if they like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,886 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Like a parrot being carried away forever? In which case, I approve.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Thought they'd have some of the live stuff they recorded a few weeks ago out today.

They said in yesterday's short pod that none today, the Ken Early/Jonathan Wilson post-Christmas special tomorrow and Brian Kerr chat on Thursday from the live shows I think. With US Murph in there somewhere too. I may have order mixed up...

No trip to the log cabin this year, there hasn't been any new audio beds though in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭al87987

I think an Emi Martinez/Unai Emery audiobed is merited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Remember when Ken was comparing Nathan Collins to Van Dijk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭jones

I do wonder what's going on with Collins he's really gone backwards the last year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Has he? Seems more that he has been and still is occasionally error prone. He’s had a decent season overall. When do you think his best form was that he’s dropped off from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭jones

Well let's just say his errors are more pronounced in the last year and his managers in both club and country have dropped him during this time. Unthinkable especially for Ireland before this time. I feel it's just drops in concentration but they definitely seem to be happening more frequently.

Did you see the match yesterday by any chance? Not a good day at the office for him and I'd say definitely not his normal level

Ps I do think he's been better since the start of the season when fit (apart from yesterday). I'd very high hopes for him so suppose it might exaggerate how well I see him playing. I think he's a great player.

Post edited by jones on

Wow, I saw a few new posts on the thread and honestly just assumed they'd all be about Ken's intro today. Could well be the last time I ever assume that.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Haven't listened yet, but didn't expect 70 minutes of new material this week.

There's always a post Stephen's day round of matches pod with Jonathan Wilson. And there always will be, regardless of what Ken said at start of today's pod...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Johnathon Wilson worrying about creating too much coffee grind waste and setting up a worm farm is more of a Waterford Whispers ass parody of a Guardian writer being a Guardian writer than satire could even hope to come up with.

Post edited by Tucker.Tim on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,487 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yes. Felt like Ken was being deliberately coy about something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭MercuryBoy

Ken is retiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

He’s been poached by Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Ken actually left the show 6 months ago and has been replaced by AI

Ye lads have been hitting the Baileys a little too hard over Christmas. He was making a joke about how shite the panto was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

No. It is clear he is dead within the next 12 months. It was a deaths door soliloquy. AI KEN should be just as good anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

You can tell it's AI Ken when he says "so what I'm saying is".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭MercuryBoy

Ken had a good run, best to go out at the top, like Cantona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Simon is excellent when he does the rugby chat. The pod about rugby yesterday was the best in a long time and better for the absence of their usual rugby lads.

Even the regular rugby chat is better than darts chat.

Eh. I think Horgan is great honestly and suits the vibe of the show well. Kinsella is one of the better rugby journalists, here or abroad. It's always better when they chime in.

On today's show Ken's rant about the Christmas game schedule seemed like a problem stemming from compulsion or committment to watch as many games as he can for his work. From a purely armchair viewer's perspective a steady stream of games on different days that you can pick and choose from is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Did Jim McGuinness really revolutionise the game that much? Maybe I'm being ignorant but his plan was so stick a bunch of lads behind the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Shank Williams

Did they ever post up Ken’s Napoleon review?

The weird anti-FA Cup thing is.. weird. Don't over think it lads. it's a cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Yeah they've been at this nonsense for years making out fans couldn't care less. Basically what they make out is unless football is played in the premier league and up at the top of it then it doesn't matter and nobody cares. They look down their nose at so much football you'd wonder at times do they even like it properly.