Enoch Burke is The Prisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,947 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

When would a teacher even need to refer to a student in the 3rd person in their orbit anyway?

I see what you did there 😁

And now trans people are being treated the same way.

Because the knuckle-draggers generally can't get away with attacking gay people any more so they had to find another target.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,355 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

There are a certain cohort who have to have someone to hate and to blame for everything they perceive as wrong in the world.

The target changes , but the hate remains the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yep, and when trans is widely accepted they'll move on to some other target.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

My youngest daughter has a good friend in school who is trans teen and has being so good during the last year to her over being in and out of hospital having surgery and all her year in school treat they the same as every other student, young people are so clued in nowadays. Burke’s **** behaviour is more about him and his family, every time I think back to the stunt they pulled at that poor girl’s inquest in Mayo over her death during Covid says all that needs to know about that family. How in any one’s right mind was excepting that stunt and the family in grief over losing a child. What Burke needs is the judiciary to stand up and make an example of them in court for all the contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,947 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes that was disgusting and there was nothing the poor bereaved family could do about it either.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Mammy Burke has turned her sights on Judge Maire Whelan, a friend of the gay Taoiseach Leo who appointed her to the bench, which Michael Martin described as a disgrace, and is trampling her son's Christian constitutional rights because he wont call a boy a girl. She wants Judge Whelan got rid of by Michael. The Burke PR video was filmed outside the 4 courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭DUBLINIRL

This man is sitting in prison, in my opinion, as a result of brain washing done by his parents. He was homeschooled until the leaving cert and never really experienced other opinions so he could have a think about things and come to his own conclusions.

Most members of his family are now experiencing many issues interacting with society to the detriment of all the hard work they have put in to educate themselves and obtain good qualifications and make a good life for themselves.

I can't imagine any employer who would take a chance on them now and they wil even have to go to extra lengths to make sure they can justify why the Burke applicant was not the most suitable candidate.

At this stage, with more news having come out about his upbringing I do think Enoch is a victim, mainly of his mother's teachings.

I don't have a solution to this problem but surely it can't be letting him sit in prison.

A lifetime of brain washing can't be overcome by "do what I tell you or go back to prison". He has been conditioned not to compromise.

For a long while this was funny watching the latest developments but now a man is sitting in prison and I don't think he will give in. As a society how long are we going to lock him up for if what he plans to do is stand on a footpath? I have no reason to think he is a danger to anyone so let the man out. If he steps back on school property now that is a crime so lock him up for that but if he stays on a public footpath or the side of the road then leave him there. Has he at any point since being dismissed from the school tried to interact with the student in question?

I'm just trying to figure out why we are paying to lock this man up considering it costs over €80k per year and as far as I can tell he is just some eejit standing outside a gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,171 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Keeping him outside the gate requires an expensive security operation as he attempts to enter the room he is still convinced is "his classroom" it he can

He disrupts the education of ~400 pupils when he does enter the premises, as he did frequently.

Also, it needs to be clear that contempt of court is punished. So in prison he stays, and should stay until he clears his contempt. If that's never, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Because we live in a society, and we play by the rules of the society. One of which is respecting courts and the judicial process.

If he doesn't want to partake in society, that's his choice. As is leaving prison whenever he wants.

Will Mammy Burke be more explosive or less explosive when she finds out that Whelan was actually the nominee of Labour rather than gay Taoiseach and then Minister of Health or Transport Leo?

So you don't care about the possibility of this person being brain washed (I should find a better term... mentally conditioned) by a parent over 18+ years which might have impaired his ability to make rational decisions?

Do you think he is a danger to society?

They absolutely hate Labour and rant about other labour connections a lot.

Lots of the social change they fought against was pushed by Labour which would contribute to that.

The icing on the cake is that Wilson's barrister is former Labour TD and Senator Alex White.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Prove it. Cos whatever upbringing he had he's a grown adult and as such is being treated like one. If there's a suggestion of cult behaviour, or cognitive impairment then that's for social services, friends or relatives to forward.

Are you proposing the state forcefully provides cult deprogramming here?

He is in contempt of court, so needs to stay in prison until he clears it - that's the only matter here.

I don't care one jot about this particular individual.

If it leads to more inspections on home schoolers, that would be a good thing.

What about the young LGBTQ students who have to enter and leave the school every day, passing by this bigot who stands at the gate of their school, objecting to their very existance?

Don't forget, this is a man who not only refuses to follow court orders, but refuses to acknowledge his students' rights under the Equal Status Acts. He also claims homosexuality to be an abomination and has linked it paedophilia. He has harassed LGBTQ politicians in the past, including Katherine Zappone (whom he accused of approving of witchcraft) and Senator David Norris.

So no, this man is not gormless eejit standing on the side of the road, and he is not harmless. He and his family have thrown thousands of euros into their various campaigns against rights for LGBTQ people since 2010.

And again, the only reason he is in prison now, is because of his refusal to follow a High Court injunction telling him to stay away from the school. He could walk free tomorrow, if he agreed to follow that.

The Court hasn't ordered him to do anything else, and this is not because of his beliefs, but his actions.

As for his mammy issues, he is a grown man in his mid 30s. He went to college. He has earned several degrees. He lived away from his family home for the years he was teaching in WHS. The age were he could continue to use his parents influence as an excuse for his behaviour, passed a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,148 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Everyone is a product of their upbringing. If it were the case that he could get special treatment because he may (or may not) have been brainwashed by his parents then where do you stop. Its ok to ignore the courts if it seems that you were reared to defy authority and break the law?

Maybe eventually it will be considered appropriate to perform some sort of invasive treatment to make people law-abiding regardless of their upbringing, but in the meantime we have to assume that, provided insanity is not an issue, then people are responsible for their own behaviour.

I do feel sorry for him, rather than wanting him punished, but he is a member of society, and has shown that he can live as a reasonable member of society whatever his beliefs and must be responsible for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There was an item on This Week today with some interesting comments from Prof. O'Connell.

I get the point that everyone is a product of their upbringing so if an exception is made for Enoch where does it end.

I think it is a shame because he doesn't seem like a bad person he is just repeating what his mother taught him and it has landed him in jail and basically destroyed his profession and landed him with huge fines.

I don't know what the solution is but it doesn't seem right to leave an irrational man in prison when he doesn't pose a risk to society.

I don't think that everyone has to accept another person's religion or sexuality or choice of favourite football team otherwise they go to prison.

If a person is not hired because of a number of criteria including religion and sexuality that is a civil matter, nobody goes to prison.

The level of personalised attacks he has made on various people make him a bad person.

Your last line falls back on the absolute untruth that he is in prison because of his objections to "transgenderism". That has nothing to do with it, and if you believe it does your are basing your entire viewpoint on a lie.

I don't think that everyone has to accept another person's religion or sexuality or choice of favourite football team othwrwise they go to prison.

Comparing someone's sexuality to someone's favourite football team is a pretty odious thing.

You're missing the point.

Nobody should go to prison because they don't agree with someone being gay because of some religious belief they acquired through their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

If a man in his thirties can’t think freely for himself and as you say Acquired by his parents, and you think nobody like him should go to prison for all the shite they have caused in court, the mistake that has being made with him he should be in the open end of prison and get a little bit of real life. By the way which one of the Burkes have we got tonight.

That's 100% not why he's in jail. Please take the time to at least understand the particulars of the case and why it's at this point.

That's true, he is in prison for contempt of court.

I guess I just feel a bit sorry for him things went so bad for him as a result of his upbringing.

I think it's better I leave it there as I don't feel like being attacked by people who somehow think I agree with his point of view.

I feel sorry for him that things went so bad so fast and continue to do so. I'm not really the sort to kick someone when they are down or demand that someone lose everything to teach them a lesson like the internet tends to do.

I think that prison should only be there for serious crimes or where someone is a danger to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

He never attempted to enter any classroom. Get your facts straight

not attacking, not intentionally, but in this highly public case it's important to get the details right cos this shouldn't be rendered as an issue of religious rights - cos bad actors are doing just that.

But the thing is, contempt is contempt. If the judge doesn't act then the law means nothing. And as burke already has been in jail for contempt, the indefinite stay is a side effect of being obstinate.

I don't think that everyone has to accept another person's religion or sexuality or choice of favourite football team otherwise they go to prison.

Yet again, Enoch is not in prison for not accepting another person's religion or sexuality.

He is in prison because he is in contempt of a High Court Order, and he refuses to purge that contempt.

He is not above the law.

He can walk out of prison anytime, once he agrees to abide by the order of the High Court.

The only person keeping Enoch in prison, is Enoch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,506 ✭✭✭Quandary

People like the Burkes are very much a danger to society in my opinion. Their actions speak for themselves, and not in a good way.

Let them all rot in prison as far as im concerned, and if they are happy to stop bullying people then by all means welcome back out into modern civilisation. I may not agree with their stances on many issues but each to their own. If they kept their beliefs to themeslves instead of trying to force other people to live by their beliefs then fine, but that's not how they work.

They are bullies hiding behind a shield of religious dogma.