Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Recruitment 2023/2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 WestEire00

No you can have a bmi over 30 and be fit too, I flew it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 19thhole

Hi Guys is their a what’s app group for batch 1 and 3 and even 4

Have a few lads who are trying to get into them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Grace259

Anyone know of people failing the medical for having certain conditions or being on certain medications?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 jcoyne22

Seen a post the Minister for Justice said that there is a intake in December. Would this be right as from past campaigns it was February when the next intakes were around the same time this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 christy188

just got invitation to commence training, today by email. I'm batch 1 of 23/24 campaign. starting induction on 27th December

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Liverpool !!

Fair play lad 😁🤙

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 2023recruit

When I did my medical and they didn't do or mention bmi to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 WestCoastcool

How long does it take for the medical to come back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Ed93

Anybody know if your allowed to be on blood pressure medication with regard to passing the medical? (or be put on medication to pass it )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

I am thinking of joining the garda next year recruitment. I am 34 years old and currently working in HSE. I've been in the healthcare for more than 11 years i would like to change career. The only issue that is holding me back is the pay for 33 weeks €184 while in garda college. How will my family survive for 33 weeks, with €184 a week. House, bills and food. My wife and I is surviving because we're both working together. Has anyone been in this situation? I would like to know how to manage around it.

Im also would like to know for candidate that have family. Will we get stationed nearby. And also how will my family survive 33 weeks with only €185 per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭RarePhilosophy

It’s since increase to 305 Euro a week as per budget 2023. Still probably not enough to support a family, but it a lot better then heading to do a third level conversion course for a year and possibly losing 305 euro a week.

I think they sometimes make provisions to be station within communing distance of you home if you have dependants , but nothing is guaranteed. A lot of recruits seem to be stationed near the Dublin metropolitan region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Skipduke

Unless you have children or some huge pull expect to go to Dublin

Thanks that 33 weeks, do we have to be in garda college monday to sunday?

And i am based in drogheda at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭RarePhilosophy

AFAIK it’s Monday to Friday ,9-5 . It’s a bit different to normal colleges , I think there is a curfew where you need to be back in you room. I’m not sure do you need to be back on Sunday night or Monday mornings. I think they used to let people with kids home on Wednesday night and back on Thursday morning.

Id say your in a good location as you would probably be in commuting distance for a Dublin Station.

Ah ye, I've been commuting already to dublin and back. 5.30am in the morning 🤣😂 and finish shift at 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭runnerboy

Lads,

Just wondering about the fitness test, what time does it take. I know it says be there for 9am and expect to be there till 5pm. The reason i ask is ive a County semi that night and was wondering would i make it back in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ruralevent101

I was away before 3 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 WestCoastcool

I

Have you far to travel?

I think I was done by about two o clock.

I would recommend emailing them, telling them the reason and asking if they can put you in one of the earlier groups - I'm sure they'd accommodate you as much as they can

Anyone know how long it takes for the medical to come back, and do they contact you through email or how does it work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 WestEire00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 jcoyne22

They also sometimes tell you at the end of the medical if you pass just depends on where it was done and who is doing it 👍. Seen post from last campaign that some did get notice and some didn't. Doesn't make much odd i think as they still processed. Hope it helps.

Anyone know of any reasons to fail it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Ciano1997

Hey guys,

I got my medical results back today & the cheif medical officer wants me to take the eye test again but by the local opticians with glasses & without. Did anyone ever have there application rejected by this?

4 weeks Friday gone grace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Ste91

Did an intake start this week or will it be January?

Their induction was on the 27th Dec for Jan 2024 in take ste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 D-Reg14

Only 109 for this intake a lot less than the previous two