Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Ah now poor aul Gaybo didn't he gift the money to Geraldine and Moya!

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

It wasn't his to Award, but from memory he seemed to think it was his job to give prompts,I seem to remember too the knowledge of contestants was fairly dire and then there was the question where the games answer was wrong, that finished it off entirely

RTÉ didn't really want to produce a game show/quiz show... well I don't think they want to produce any TV... the tiny number of games shows/quiz shows that have come since have been tiny (though last few years they have had a few one off series that will most likely never return).

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭jmcc

It is probably linked to audience figures. I think that the last quiz show on RTE was "Ireland's smartest" but that was outsourced. Perhaps the RTE management really just wants advertising without the difficulty of having to produce content. The reign of error under Forbes seemed to be intent on cutting a lot of things while begging for bailouts.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,705 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

The Money Bank, with Baz is the current quiz. My mum tried one episode, and then switched it off. Wasn't a fan.

Aye, the 'lunar valve' question. Guy gets asked where in the body would you find the lunula, one of the prompts was the heart, the other was the finger. Well the contestant had a thick Scottish accent, phoned a friend and the line was bad, and the friend answered the heart. And it was deemed wrong. But it turns out, there is a lunula in both the finger nail AND the heart. They had to bring him back because of that.

I remember the ratings started out amazingly strong, with about 1.5 million viewers tuning in at maximum. And then they dropped, and they kept dropping. And one week Gay Byrne wrote 'We're the only show on RTE pulling in over a million viewers'. And then they went under a million, and it never recovered. And then they put it on a Sunday, where it's viewership dropped to around 350,000 viewers.

Shortly after that, they lost their sponsor. (Eircell initially, who were bought out by vodafone, who then dropped them after a year or so). We got the usual 'saving face' reports of looking for a new sponsor. But they never did get one.

I thought it went on for longer, but apparently it went for only 18 months. Must have been a very expensive venture.

It might be linked to how badly the produce programming. Not ever programme you make is going to reach 500k viewers. The Money List is bad but it has remained in the top 20 programmes and Baz other shite "Best Place to Live" is strangely doing well also.

@RabbleRouser2k I thought it went on for longer, but apparently it went for only 18 months. Must have been a very expensive venture.

How much did they actually give away over the course of those 18 months? I'd say Gay Byrne's fee was more an issue (remember while Gay Byrne had a 100,000 retention fee after he "retired" he was employed by Tyrone to present the show, and never end up in the top 20 earners for that period).

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭political analyst

So how is that these crappy programmes still get high numbers of viewers?

Huge question, on the broadcast forum there is a thread dedicated to Virgin Media Television. We were just discussing how the last series of WWTBAM UK went out in 2022 and there hasn't been a series since, and that there are only 78 episodes of the new series and they have been repeated for the last year on VMTV ONE every weekend and they consistently get 100k adult viewers with out fail every week. (The Jeremy Clarkson series is also repeated generously across the other VMTV channels). And that this series of WWTBAM hasn't been of VMTV ONE for at least the last 3 years.

TBH I have no problem with bad TV, my problem is were we don't produce TV to improve the programme being served. E.G. One of the TV critics stated in one news paper that Tommorrow Tonight was made by someone who's never watched live TV.

______

Yesterday

Millionaire is more highbrow than Baz's 'Money List'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,101 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Hospitals rarely correctly tune the TV's. It's bizarre. Poor folks get stuck watching whatever it's stuck on.

If a show makes 500 K viewers nowadays, they'll be paid more than the Taoiseach by RTE for that kinda show. Tommy Tiernan got about 500K during the pandemic. Didn't get Noel Kelly money, but you could see Tubridy was bitter about it. He brought on Conor Moore to do a an impression of Tommy Tiernan as some sort of 'bitter' payback. They share the same agent, funny that. 🙄

Seems that the PK Toy Show was a win for RTE in that reaction has been quite positive. It definitely needed tonight's win. It may also bring up uncomfortable questions over the payment of Tubridy and the other "talent" during the Forbes era. Well done to PK.

Regards...jmcc

First Toy Show I watched in over decade. Know people who were genuinely keen to watch it.

I think Kielty advertised it really well, prior to doing the show. The adverts where none of the kids are excited about him doing the show, or putting immense pressure on him. Very sharp way to take the pressure off of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

First toy show I've watched from start to finish in years and it was most enjoyable from Kielty, albeit a nervous start, to revelling with the kids, the kids whispering secrets to him and manic kids just thoroughly enjoying themselves

No sight of any kind misery - meanwhile RT off in Clifden turning on the Xmas lights in view of a few hundred onlookers and saying be kind, oh how he has fallen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,101 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

There's a video of Tubbers turning on the lights which as of yet has NO views at all 🤣

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfCvf4oPpTo&pp=ygUUcnlhbiB0dWJyaWR5IGNsaWZkZW4%3D

Everyone too busy watching the LLS Toy Show? :)

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭badabing106

So many questions..

What is the nature of Dee's sickness ?

How long has she been sick for and is she having treatment for this sickness?

Is Dee Forbes too sick to reply to emails?

What is the sickness that Dee is claiming to have?

Why aren't there intrepid irish journalists on the case and asking these questions....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Because they would get slaughtered for harassing someone who is, more than likely, claiming mental health issues to avoid having to answer some very difficult questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,372 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

You'd need one of those ex special forces long lens photographers as she lives in a gated community 😂

You'd have to ask the same about Jim Jennings.

But then it is a small clique, almost all of the Jornos know weather or not Jim and Dee are taking the dog out for a walk on a daily basis or if they are fight some illness.

______

Yesterday

Did she sign off on their annual accounts recently!

______

Yesterday

From the Minister and her department, she absolute avoids any thing I said and has a big opening paragraph of where RTÉ sit,

image.png image.png

The minister thinks that Public Service Broadcasting is RTÉ, and has no other view on that. It has nothing to do with culture, democracy or anything else.

Simple the Government can only see RTÉ as the main public service broadcaster, and anything to suggest otherwise will be ignored.

______

Yesterday

You'd be hard press to find out that 2 RTÉ board members are going.

Conor Murphy has resigned for "Personal Reasons" he had be appointed in 2020.

Golden boy Ian Keogh (who the press had suggested would get the DG job, and was nominally Deputy Chair, a position that I don't think had existed be for or will again), he started back in 2018 and he has decided not to go for a second term. Yes, he decided he should go for second term.

I wonder what happened between 2018 - 2022?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

Is poor Dee Forbes out of hospital yet ?

Given that Tubs and Forbes are long gone from RTÉ, their departures must have taken enough heat out of the crisis for some of those viewers who stopped paying the licence fee to resume paying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭riddles

Has it been established if it were true that Forbes and the other senior colleague left on self constructed redundancy packages?

Forbes' contract was almost up so how? she was actually using up annual leave in advance of the end of her contract when she 'resigned'

That and a few hundred thousand nasty letters to people not used to recieving them (those used to receiving them will continue to ignore)

• This content has been removed.