Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children stabbed in Dublin city centre **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

It's been building for ages.

It just needed a spark.

There's been loads of anti immigrant protests. Even Ryan Casey's victim impact statement, although I agreed with him, was shared by far right groups.

It's all over social media.

Even Danny Healy Rae is talking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

'It was pure instinct': Brazilian Deliveroo driver tells of moment he stopped Parnell Street attacker (thejournal.ie)

Fantastic intervention by the gentleman, a true hero. He deserves a great reward.

The framing/language of the article though is kind of strange, like a 'good guy with a gun' we hear of coming from some in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Also, people don't say it as a flippant remark - FF/FG/SF really are only in it for the possibility of a well paid EU job down the line. They don't care about the state of the country, they find their own electorate repulsive, never mind those who don't vote for them.

This is the only thing that will make them listen, every other avenue has been exhausted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Saw a video of a lone Garda being attacked by a mob.

If I was a member of AGS, or Dublin fire brigade I would refuse to go out tonight.

F*ck the lot of them for letting this situation get so far out of hand. This is absolutely out of order and the minister fom justice is directly responsible. She should resign tomorrow.

AGS is paid to keep the peace, not venture into a warzone caused by three decades of lax judicial systems. DFS is the same, getting pelted with stones while trying to keep people out of harms way. I'm absolutely furious at this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

Yeah, it's opportunistic chaos brought on by a heady concoction of actions.

This isn't a miracle. This isn't a spontaneous creation of matter.

Add in the multiple crises at large in the country, add in the impact on the least able to afford those crises, specifically target those areas to dump migrants, add in a knife rampage...

Oh look, trouble. Who would have ever dreamed it. Who didn't see this problem coming?

Who doesn't see this getting nastier at scale as every single factor that created the current tragedy gets worse?

Anyone lamenting the behaviour of such and such and its impact are just looking to retreat back to their increasingly uncomfortable ignorance. Can't hide there forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Packrat

Thank you I've participated in and read plenty of threads here over the last 25 years.

The mods almost NEVER ban anyone on the far left.

Yes I agree that the term far right is thrown around "willy nilly"

It's a convenient way of disenfranchisement of anyone who disagrees with the far left multiculturalism zeitgeist.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

Absolutely right.

Whether for one reason or another, this entire country needs to basically grind to a halt to force change.

It's going to grind to halt through sheer disfunction eventually, better to voluntarily do it now while there's something left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,483 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Have only read last page or two but gonna throw my two cent in.

The human piece of excrement who stabbed those children hopefully dies of whatever injuries he sustained today. After every Guard in the city has had half a minute alone with him.

I work less than ten minutes walk from the school and had the misfortune of having to cross the city centre tonight. This wasn’t just a few local scrotes. There were plenty of adults, more than a few country accents and I also came across one guy on his phone who seemed to be directing or giving orders and saying how “We’re the real Irish”.

No personal opinion or agenda in my second paragraph. This is what I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

If these little fuckers could get away with rioting after a football match, they would. What happened tonight is just a perfect storm for that type. It was an opportunity for them to go into town and cause trouble for entirely their own outlet.

A few hours ago I talked to two kids that live beside us that were terrified trying to get home from town tonight.

There's nothing justifiable about what happened in town earlier. It's a bloody disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Meet_Yur_Maker

So when somebody talks shite its a case of ‘ill keep on repeating myself until you listen’?? and then, because I do that, Im then ‘right..?’ Thats how life works in your brain? fuckin hell

Im not sure what rain youre feeling, But i suggest you may have potentially pissed down your own back. Watch that one

These are the mindless idiots we're discussing.

No wonder they're so easily manipulated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

Pray for the poor children and well done to the man that saved them.. i condemn the rotten things that has looted the city. But also i will add, you dont have to be racist and anti emigration to be worried/ against the current policy of open borders. It seems a lot easier to enter Ireland as an illegal emigrant than it is to get a package delivered from belfast to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Packrat

Surely you're joking?

"Every guard in the city" as you describe them would only help him with his free legal aid application, and give him a character reference for being 'trouble free as he tried to make a better life here'

We have perfect examples of two of them on this thread, one serving and another retired, both far more concerned with punishing the rioters than this bzxtard who butchered 5 year-olds. They are the real problem - the useful idiot apologists.

Neither will he die of whatever injuries he sustained today, - the best of free medical treatment will keep him alive and rehab him, in or out of jail.

Finally - you're right that this wasn't just a few local scrotes, and Saturday won't be either.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

I saw a few on their phones also giving directions and organising.

I hope the Gardai know who they are.

There was no visible Gardai but maybe there was some undercover observing.

We don't have "open borders" in this country. There's a process of immigration to be observed.

And I'll say this to all you lot who want to try and make your petty political speeches on this matter. There's a wee girl fighting for her life at the moment in a hospital.

This isn't the time for your soapboxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,320 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

That they weren't rioting over those issues .

It's bullsxxx by some trying to make out that this is a reaction to immigration or pressures within society because of immigrants getting housing or benefits etc .

It's not anything except the fact that they have been allowed do whatever they want all their lives and especially rule North Dublin inner city for the last few years since Covid . Nobody around and less police . It has become an increasingly difficult area and age group to manage and shopkeepers and city workers gave been complaining about it for the last two years especially.

The Gov and McEntee haven't helped much with the hands off approach , and the Gardaí are tied up in knots with GSOC and tribunals etc .

Nothing cerebral going on there. Just feral gangs getting away with whatever they think they can get away with .

Again, I would never point to a fire engulfing a house and call it opportunistic, or misbehaved, or a scumbag, or what have you. No, you'd be an imbecile to do such.

The fire is the result of many precisely identified factors.

If one ignores all of those factors, you can bet its going to happen again. The murders, the riots, every last thing is connected.

It does/does not surprise me in equal parts that a large number of people have simply abandoned all notion of the knife rampage and are all about "those scumbags". It says an awful, awful lot about some.

Some saying that those rioting are as bad as the person who murdered a child. No exaggeration. Holy sweet jaysus the lackey mentality is stomach churning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I totally agree. They're just scumbags looking for an excuse to act like the vile pieces of excrement that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,032 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Looks like a full Luas tram has been completely destroyed….buses completely destroyed too.

you are probably talking across the night over a million euros worth of damage….

when politicians don’t respect democracy, when they prioritise the welfare, wellbeing and success of others over those who elect and pay them, you can’t guarantee citizens will not respond, they are…their our voices are being 100% ignored, só actions are replacing words, not justifying it but it’s an explanation..

politicians need to give themselves a shake…. They are losing the country and ultimately people damaging property while abhorrent… it’s not impossible that that if this escalates someone might get killed be it a Garda or whomever….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

Wtf are you on about???? Political. Did you read the first line i wrote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The hoodie scumbags that were rioting tonight don't and didn't pay any heed to any "factors". They were just looking to cause trouble wherever they could find it. The events this afternoon were simply an excuse, in their heads, to indulge in such and they did so without any real consideration for what happened or any real sense or care or consequence of their own actions.

Way more than a million.

Luas trams, buses, Garda cars, overtime paid to Gardai. That's our money. We earned it.

They wasted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭holliehobbie

Didn’t those buses cost €500000 each? Way more than a million euro worth of damage done. Not to mention no one will be coming into town for Christmas shopping or Christmas night outs after this.

I actually did see plenty of Guards. Capel Street Bridge was closed off by them and while I was there I saw about twenty of them in riot gear running down Temple Bar. Didn’t see who or what they were running towards but they looked like they meant business.

From there I went to next bridge west heading towards Christchurch and walked right into about fifty guys masked up who I stood aside from until they passed. That’s when I bumped into the guy on phone on his own and ashamed to say I was pretty pissed off at this stage and gave him a bit of abuse. Another bunch of Guards in full gear there - one of which shouted at me to walk away which I did. I definitely wasn’t helping the situation in hindsight.

Lots of Guards in the city centre- some seemed to be on an offensive and others holding a line - can only presume they were trying to corral or defuse.

Again, just what I saw/did and not getting into any politics or criticisms..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭holliehobbie

And of course no tourists will be coming to Dublin anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Meet_Yur_Maker

So you prove exactly what im writing- At what point did I say nothing was wrong? I described it quite clearly, and in depth, at what point did you not get it before you got inflamed and started with abuse?? The first line? one word? maybeeee aaaaa Immigrants??? 👀

But im the one to ‘stop talking shite’…… yep. okay. You sounded all tough with your opening.. does that make you feel better? Have a good night

I get the sentiment of what you’re saying but this is a line that always bothers me. The city and policing should be run for the people who live and work there. **** the tourists.

I was walking all over OCS, Abbey St, the Quays, OC Bridge, College Green, Grafton St, etc from 7pm to at least 8pm and saw no police, except by Parnell SQ.

Maybe they retreated and regrouped cos they weren't expecting it.

By 9pm the riot police were there and in control and moving people down the Quays.

The gangs of lads in masks and balaclavas were intimidating as hell.

It was exhilarating in a way. I've never seen a riot or looting before.

Smell of weed everywhere. You'd think they'd be more chill.