Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭blackdog1

My cows are averaging over 8k atm and don't want to push them towards 9k, too much work so because of this I'm making no more profit just a 20% decrease in milk sales due to banding if I'm to stay out of derogation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭green daries

On the money 💰 like most of them hero's he was supplying cows and management

The owner was as green as the grass Kevin was growing on the place ....... everything is fine until suddenly its not .......the truth is someplace in the middle.unless you mean the place in eyrecourt where the paynes had to pull 300 cows out of overnight ........now I don't like Ed but that owner is a bollix and fair play to them to get there stock out

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

There's 2 sides to it.one farm is a 220 cow approx farm that was converted from beef and is run by a guy called Kevin ahern in conjunction with teagasc s John macnamara it was set up as a trial farm for dairy conversion but now has moved on to exploring climate change dairy and has a project to be carbon neutral in the future.the second farm is a project to explore pathways for people who haven't got a dairy setup to progress through share farming in an Irish context.it offers the facilities for 100 cows to a share farmer for a 5 year term hopefully allowing him to put together a herd and allow them to move onto the next option with stock.the first partner I belive decided not to go into dairy afterwards but the last fella has just entered into a partnership with a retiring farmer.both operation s seem to be running OK not withstanding a few normal situations that usually occur on most farms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,749 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

As I always say to people nobody gives you money for nothing. We were talking about investing in rental property 8-10 years ago around the morning break. It was a block of apartments in Limerick. They were being sold 90% finished in a job lot. Half the group were on about the hassle. As I explained making money and hassle come hand in hand.

I think dairy farmers expected that there would always be money to solve the issues. There was a few on here taking about retiring in there mid late 50's. Life is not like that life expectancy is in reading. Male life expectancy is now starting to exceed female life expectancy.

If you are a small beef farmer you question every cost of you want to remain profitable. You treat advisors as advisors. Adam Woods was on about targets for dairy/beef weanlings target weights and feeding two kgs of ration with decent silage to hit 0.7kg/ day target. It's a loss making exercise. Most dairy weanling producers are paying 370-400/ ton for a good quality ration half worth feeding.

Dairy farmers have not had to make choices about cost for nearly a decade and this has now come as a shock to them. Many fairly new entrants to dairy have unrealistic expectations of quality of life expectations and the lifestyle choices you have to make.

An investment of 70-90k may save you an hour a day but is it a justified or necessary choice. Dairying is unfortunately a time consuming ( especially from the point of view of twice as 6-7 days a week with taking time away a serious cost) life.

Every one not just farmers have to deal with red tape. I remember looking at a part time job ( contractor)after I retired, it required an 60-90 minute job document preparation the day before 3-4 hours driving a day, 20-30 photographs ( to record work) along with other technical data and all this had to be collated and added to a final work document. The actual work task was only 3-4 hour work but the added driving and documentation was making it a 12 hour day.

You talk to nurses, doctors, teachers, Gardai etc virtually every job nowadays is smothered in red tape.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,715 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Remembering getting a call one morning to draft out any lame/3 spinners/bad milkers/poor temperament cows in a place I worked in australia, thought the boss was sending them to the factory, turned out they where going to his new unit he'd went into partnership with his feed Miller with each man providing 200 cows a piece to the unit, its always better to paddle your own canone unless it's someone you've a good working years/decades long relationship with you can trust...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

No I mean the place Kevin Moran had

yes I’m aware of the situation with Paynes and bournes too. Paynes owned all the cows and were to supply all the management.

For years Bournes were after Hickeys to be the partner but Hickeys weren’t interested. You can see why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Whole thing is starting to look like the building collapse in 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭ginger22

The trouble with "red tape" is it adds cost to the business and the market will not reward you for it. This country is heading for a recession because our costs are going out of control in all sectors. Do they think there is the same red tape in China, Africa etc. We are operating in a world market . That is what you are competing with.

Wait until the 450 an acre has to be paid in January/ February.....I really don't know what ladsvwere thinking when they jumped into these agreements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,746 ✭✭✭giveitholly

What will mostly happen there is the farmer will probably go to the landowner and tell him he can't afford to pay the 450 anymore and the landowner will have no choice but to negotiate a lower price or he will have to pay the tax back on the previous payments.

Not necessarily he can find a different Tennant to complete the lease

In the current environment that might be easier said that done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,769 ✭✭✭Grueller

Not if they take the reduction in price. Afaik that is allowed and loads of lads out there at smaller money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,298 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’ll have aa little sympathy with the lad that offered it to the lad that took it ……pure greed ….lots of very good long term tenants who always paid up at fair rents got turfed out for more money

And my point still stands what were lads thinking there's one lad round here who was supposed to be on top of his game best dairy farmer going. Would be renting a lot of land on different leases ,he went and rented 30 acres on a ten month rent and gave 425 an acre ............. was talking to him the other day and it has only dawned on him now what he has done to himself cause one of his landowners gave him advance notice outside the church to be ready to pay similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,298 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

There’s always a hungry hero with a cheque book and short term view

I agree whole heartily mj ....but they have fucked it up completely for the rest of us and if I'm being selfish then they have fucked it up for me cause thers no way I can afford anything like it . The young farmer Messing is bad enough.......why is it when a farmer gets a sub/grant/ extra few quid they feel the need to throw it away to someone else 🙄🙄🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭straight

A tip I got recently is to not apply for derogation. I was told the fines are less significant for exceeding 170 iykwim.

Any tips for getting 8k litres out of the cows. Just doing the simple things well? Is it just good grass, good silage, 2 ton of nuts, 365 milking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭visatorro

Plenty of leases being signed round here for next year, still circa 450.

Oh definitely,the greed from the landowner was unreal,throwing out loyal long term customers just so they thought they could earn a few extra bob. You would love if no one came in to take over the lease.

Only talking to a friend of mine the other day and they were giving 12k a year to rent a large parcel of ground(won't give the acreage). Anyway the lease was up this year so they went to the landowner to see could they get another lease. She was looking for for 16k. They said no way,that she could keep it. She said she heard that land was making up to 500/ac,my friend told her to work away and see could she get that money.

Eventually she came back to them and they negotiated that he is giving her a small bit extra alright now. She wanted to give him a 5 year lease but he said no,only a 7 year lease like they had before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭straight

It takes a special type of low individual to renege on a contract like that imo.

Local auctioneer was going leasing land out last year for a landlord. Highest bid came in at 500. The landowner asked him how much his neighbour was offering? Auctioneer said 370. Landowner said to give it to him,because he knew he would be guaranteed to get paid off him

And there is plenty of those fellas out there imo and I would have little sympathy for the landowner either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

One of them fella’s local gave 380 an acre and reseed and reclaimed the land and gave two years rent up front, has gone down with TB and on his next test will possibly be a total cull and the wife has left him. The previous fella was giving 110 an acre for the previous 10 years.

I'm afraid this is what we are dealing with anymore

The likes of thar lad has to have left himself short on a few fronts

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

For every poster-boy who blows up, there's 9 regular lads tipping away grand.

I was at our local IFA branch AGM last night, held in what the pub owner calls her function room. I was the only non-dairy farmer there. Mix of lads in their 60s back to 40s and 2 in their late 30s. One crew are milking close to 300 but you'd never think it to talk to them. I'd say the smallest herd-owner there has around 70-ish. Everything in between those then.

Some are milking since forever. The lads in their 30s started in the last 5-6 years.

You'd hear of the odd lad around here giving big money for ground but the majority just tip away and stay out of the gossip pages.