Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭amlinopta

It was a super piece, interview flowed so well. There's another section on tonight's show with Brady, Giles and Dunphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Yes i caught some of the free segments from the Mansion House the other night. It was a great listen. The three amigos Brady, Giles and Dunphy told some entertaining stories and it was a nice trip down memory lane. Got a bit emotional at times you got the feeling it could be one of the last times they'll do a live show like that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Reference was made to Paul Kimmage's recent appearance, at the Second Captains love show, on the Paper Review today but did not reference it was a SC show. Are OTB that petty that they still won't highlight SC exist? Maybe they have done in the past but it seemed a bit off today.

As someone who went to the Counsel a good few years ahead of Tadgh, I can confirm you’re full of shite.

Its a big bog standard school that caters to New Ross and it’s hinterland, with all the good and bad that implies.

Rugby is by far the lowest priority of the sports in the school and at times, only survived, due to the efforts of individuals like McGinley and Walsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭bren2001

I didn't think it was unusual. Normal enough not to name competitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Is it? SC would refer to OTB without issue. Would've thought it's good practice to reference the publication you are talking about in such situations.

I almost never hear a radio or podcast actually name another. Usually "on another station" or "on a podcast".

Second Captains naming OTB is the odd one out. Makes sense for them to do it otherwise they'd be called petty.

I wouldn't critize OTB for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Butson

To be fair Joe Molly did reference a comment made by an analyst that was made on SC the day prior, during one of the rugby discussions last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭left_hander

I'm sure those lads know each other well and know they are competitors but those circles are small and the lads are probably friends at the back of it all. They are probably unlikely to promote each others show but I doubt they are so small minded either as to never mention the other show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

There was an article in the Sunday Independent maybe last year with Ger, and he mentioned that when the second captains lads worked in newstalk they were friends, they were at his wedding. He said they don't speak any more now (or words to that effect). So at least at his level, there's likely to be an issue.

Yes but that's Ger, I'd fall out with Ger too and if he was one of my team mates I'd not be throwing digs to support him in a fight.

He'd probably start a riot in a graveyard.

Its not the lads decision, people like Dennis OBrien and the higher ups would be annoyed if they effectively plugged Second Captains. Them never mentioning it is a corporate decision.

I was listening to A Slight Tangent (one of my favourite segments admittedly) last night. What is the story with yer man Arthur? He did a PhD in Bob Dylan?

Why? What could be the point in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,995 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Not sure what the point is but surely it's no different than doing it on the work of any famous poet or writer

I heard a small bit of the newsround earlier this evening. I've mentioned this before, but it still baffles me how a broadcast national radio station allows Richie McCormack to read the news using a potato for a microphone. It's shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Butson

Yup. I'm all up for letting people work from home etc but his connection is always terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Like another poster mentioned a page or 2 back, Second Captains had fallen off the radar for me the last few years. I listened to a few of the free episodes and forgot how good the quality is compared to OTB, so I subscribed this week. It's "only" a fiver a month.

I do miss the football show on Saturday's and the Sunday paper review, especially when Joe is on but OTB will never be worth €10 per month to me.

The two areas that Second Captains fall down on are live reactions (they will do the odd post-match pod for an Ireland game, but usually it's the following day) and weekend coverage (obviously they can't cover 7 days a week). But the quality is excellent there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭The Guru 123

Another former big consumer of their podcasts but like many there’s zero chance of me paying a tenner a month.

I listen to a lot of podcasts as I can consume them while I work and a few have gone behind the paywall over the last 18 months. But I’ve refused to pay for any of them. There’s more than enough free content out there on every topic I’m interested in.

Off the ball do have some very good segments, namely newsround, slight tangent, Paper review, Dan McD on football show. Also loved Golf Weekly but was never going to pay for it. Don’t think their GAA coverage is fantastic although I did enjoy the football podcast despite not being a Gaelic football fan.

I do miss the content and I also think Joe Molloy is the best broadcaster in Irish media at the moment so miss not listening to him.

But my point being I’d say there’s thousands more like me. That enjoyed the content but just won’t pay for podcasts. I can’t see how the few bob they’re getting makes up for the thousands of less ears they’re now reaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭robo

Well I use my 3 free ones a month to catch the Sunday paper review - If I don't get it live.

I have been toying with the idea of paying as like you, I would be a big Joe Molloy fan & also enjoy A Slight Tangent, among with other unreported sports events and athletes that OTB seem to get. But I am going to wait and see if the price comes down - a tener a month is a bit steep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Limpar

Deleted.

Post edited by Limpar on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Vautours Ghost

Cancelled my subscription last week when they had Adrian Barry on a day that wasn't Friday, he genuinely knows nothing about any sport.

He half watched a Newcastle game and gave some piss poor pub talk takes on the game, farcical to expect a tenner a month for that

I often wonder how he got involved in sport media with no playing background and literally no knowledge of any sport

The morning show is decent when Ger and Eoin are at the wheel , but the rest of them are really shite

Pity cause I've listened for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Leslie Purkiss

These guys are pathetic. Thieving at €10 a month. Hard to believe that anyone would shell out.

Yes, they are robbers asking people to hand over €10 out of their own free will. Ger and the gang should be matched straight to Mount joy. I think we should throw away the key too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 PacePower89

In fairness expecting someone to pay €10 a month for a segment about the best YouTube comments is a bit mad no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Is it me or have the lads gone very quiet about the subscription model and offers?

Maybe a sense it has turned out to be a failed experiment.