Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Life passing by people in their 30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,577 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Over the last three times I got my hair cut pretty straightforward 3,4&5 with the blades it's gone from 12 to 15 to being charged 17 the jast time same place changed owners in a rural town.

Saw a young lad getting a mullet sorted he was being charged 25-30 at a guess

By the way I go every 6-8 weeks and I will be shopping around the next time

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

One of my grandfathers apparently used to go and get his hair cut and face shaved every Friday and go on the beer after work. Apparently it was a thing back in the day. He was a labourer who worked - among other things - on building sites. He didn't have a trade or any land. That single basic salary was enough to buy a decent cottage/house with about an acre of a garden out from the Council after they built it for him and rear a big family. He died of relatively old age when I was young enough but he was apparently reasonably fond of the drink too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭BillyHaelyRaeCyrus

My grandad was a labourer, council house he later bought, drank everyday. Had a pension my granny still lives on from the company he laboured for. Had plenty of kids of one income. But those where the bad days apparently and our GDP is sooo worth in our rentals today or house shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,577 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

And she is better off now than she ever was while he was alive. Back where I grew up the guard on Christmas morning used to park the squad and stay in it from 10 am to 1.30 pm to stop people going in to pubs Christmas morning.

He was fed up of the phone calls from women about lads drinking and not coming home for dinner or even have to go to a domestic abuse call.

Your grand father did not have a mobile phone, he did not have a latte on the way to work every morning, he did not buy lunch out 2-3 times a week. The house had four walls timber windows it was probably a two or three bed terrace provided by the council. One toilet probably external with two fireplaces. He probably grew a certain amount of his own potatoes and veg. There was probably washing machine until the seventies.

Comparing apples and oranges. I remember an ould lad telling me about selling spuds in the inner parts of Limerick city in the mid sixties. The kids would start to eat the raw line apples when he drop them into the house.

Slava Ukrainii

By any chance are you Frank McCourt's less happy-go-lucky and depressed brother?

Did he get all the sunshine and brightness and leave only the misery and darkness for the rest of ye?

Thats crap and you know it, assuming my grandad was a wife beater from the slums. My gran still lives in the house and they are better built than anything from the tiger.

My granny and him lived loving lives until he passed a few years ago, he drove a moris minor in the 60s and they went to Butlins in Mosney most years.

When our parents are telling us things are worse for people from working class areas in Dublin then they had been when they where starting stop gaslighting us that everything is grand

I worked with lads that ''drank every day'' and I can guarantee you there families suffered because of it.

Slava Ukrainii

Relating this to the point of the thread - were they able to drink every day but still be able to end up with a house and family?

Young people today don't drink like older generations used to. They definitely don't smoke either. Yet in the 70's a dipso could still own a house

Well then you granny was one of the lucky ones. Because even if he was a labourer he was obviously earning enough to fund ''his lifestyle'' because I came across many that found not. Some straightened out gave up the drink but for most that ''drank every day'' someone somewhere else suffered

Slava Ukrainii

Limerick must have been a different place than Dublin, or you are confusing the 1920s with the 1970s. The estate I grew up in was full of labourers who bought houses next door to civil servants.

Funny how in the "bad old days" everyone supported FF and FG, obviously felt happy with a home, ability to have a family etc. Now no one can get a home.

Your types always ignore the fact the we are being forced to rent as we are locked out of housing and you are ignoring the impact thats having on our mental health and sense of self

Most of the dipso's as you put it got council houses. One thing though after they got the house they had to pay the rent not like the present situation where in LA housing it seems optional in list cases.

Now the housing they got were small three bed ( they might also be only two bed)houses with one bathroom If you had ten kids that was the only house you ever got. Just to be fair to the dipso's and actually to anyone that got those houses they minded them and maintained them. They painted them up until the noughties they often upgraded them I know I had an aunt and uncle in a council house and he extended the kitchen to make it twice the size and it's still a small kitchen dining room and they were still renting it at the time. I not sure how there is three bedroom upstairs because the house is no more than 70 sqM

Slava Ukrainii

You be surprised what went on in cities and most people are ignorant of it

There was a lot of poverty in all cities well into the 70's. I think the last of the people moved out of tenements in the late sixties in Dublin

Slava Ukrainii

So even a dipso got a house from the council. Today people in professional jobs are forced to house share from landlords with no long term security and likely extreme poverty when we retire.

Thanks for proving the point it took you a while

Because a house now and a house build in the 20+ years ago are two completely different houses. The expectation of the house owners is different as is there expectations of life.

That also transfers to the person building that house. Labour is a major issue particularly in Dublin where probably 50-70% of construction workers travel in and out of Dublin every day.

25+years ago 25+ %of people did trades. Nowadays 90+% of students go to college in one form or another. 25+years ago the average construction worker earned away less than guards, teachers or nurses. Most were directly employed by builders. Nowadays they subcontract into the developers.

Because they earn more they are less likely to do ''tommer's" or small jobs's on the side. It's the same with mechanics. Recently the lock broke in the back door of the house. Any trades person wouldn't be available for a week and it was a 4 hour minimum labour charge before parts. I was lucky got a handy lad that opened it for 80 euro and I did the rest myself. Cost 200 in total.

If that was 40 years ago it would have been a Yale lock and anyone could have fixed it.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

If ye're going to be making reference to 1950s/1960s property prices, don't forget that

In the 1950s, approximately half a million left the Irish Republic. Considering the country’s population than stood at less than 3 million, to lose approximately 16% of your population – most of whom were very young and left to gain employment abroad – in one decade was astonishing. Indeed, Ireland shared the ignominy of being the only country in Europe to see its population decline in the 1950s with East Germany. Roughly three out of every five children who grew up in 1950s Ireland left the country at some stage.

Source: https://www.ucc.ie/en/emigre/history/

So effectively the same "solution" that I spoke about above: just get up and leave if you don't like the current economic situation. No-one's forcing you to stay, and there's plenty of affordable accommodation elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭i124Q

My whole friend group who are all early 30s, and all my recent work colleagues over the past few years also early 30s, all have decent jobs, have a house. Only 1 is abroad (out of choice to work in a country where you don't have to pay tax). We all grew up middle class. Yes we all maybe lived at home for a bit to save up, but not once did anyone complain about it. We did it because it's what you have to do. It's the times we're in. Do it, get on with it and know you will get a house eventually. Just enjoy the ride (but keep it down because your parents are on the other side of the wall). 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Yeah its gas the way young people are criticised for having the odd latte when people years ago spent half their wages on booze. My first job was in a factory and I remember a lot of the staff didn't show up on a Monday morning because they were too hungover. They'd be completely skint until pay day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Motivator

Extortionate rents, insanely high cost of living regardless of location in this country mixed together with backward nonsensical planning laws. How is anyone meant to progress themselves in this country without a leg up? Which, if they get, also leads to people giving out about them.

My sister and her husband are renting at the moment and spending €1,600 a month. They save what they can but they’re a newly married couple in their very early 30s and they had a small wedding to cut down on costs. Everything they are doing is leading towards them being able to afford to build a house. They are trying to get planning for the last 12 months on our family owned land but they can’t get it no matter how many hoops they’ve jumped through. The site they want is 1 acre on family owned land that’s 20+ acres but can’t get planning. How is anyone meant to get on with life dealing with this nonsense? The can’t afford a €400,000 house in a housing estate which is all that seems to be available in the area and they don’t have the money to spend on a €300,000 house that needs €100,000 pumped into it.

It's a stereotype that young people are criticised for there life style, generally it's a few old farts or other young people doing the criticising.

Anyone that purchasse that I know basically lived at home for years and saved like crazy and stuck at jobs they didn't like.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

First off they are in there thirties. I presume they went to college. What did they do for the ten years in between. And yes planning is a struggle. However at the start you need to know what the LA attitude and rules are as well as if planning is possible on the chosen site.

Most KA have rules regarding, basically housing need so your sister fulfills that rule. She probably also fulfills the rule of having lived in that locality. But the killer usually is dose she need to live in the locality.

The problem with many is they seem to arrive at thirty+ years of age with no savings.

On renting the big difference nowadays is nobody shares a room when renting except people from.poorer countries. Six of us shared a three bed house, admittedly they was with the living/dining room as a bed room. There was only one bathroom in the house. I know, I know we were dirty f@@kers

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Could be worse. Could one of those coffin size modules. Hong kong was promoting there a while ago

This is meant tongue in cheek before anyone jumps on me.

https://www.ikea.com/ie/en/ideas/inspiring-ideas-for-a-tiny-studio-pubbc8ceea1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭notAMember

Hah, rent covers interest and nothing else? Wut? And how does a market run on that theoretical model? How does more stock get built? Race to the bottom where every landlord and developer losses, 20% of the population is homeless and the taxman is grinning. You're getting your wish there. :)

In a functioning model, the equity and income from rental stock is used, over and over again, by developers and providers, to repair and replenish housing stock.

Capital appreciation is a dangerous and stupid road to rely on... [Wait, am I back in the 2000's where people believed this crap about capital appreciation being the right way to go?] What use is capital, except to your benefactors when you are worm food? Without a functional rental turnover, the building trade stalls, because there is no engine to drive it. It can't all be credit. If you do that, you get a ginormous credit bubble and the market crashes. Deja Vu?

You are in a strange world either where the population never increases and no extra stock ever needs to be built or repaired, or some construction fairies are building housing stock for free, or we all believe in credit bubbles. Or you are thinking about 1 single house, not at scale. Who pays for the free housing that magics itself up? It has to come from somewhere.

[And I'd love to know how you manage to avoid the revenue. Everyone else pays them except you? Very trumpian indeed]

Here in the real world, where we get our hands dirty, and put our money where our mouth is, it only works when rent is higher than mortgage payment.

By perpetuating this myth where housing builds and repairs itself without any money being needed to do so, you're contributing to the continued bolloxed market in ireland. Rent HAS to be more than mortgages. That is how it is in any functional market in the world. Rent is part of the machine , the engine that continues to create more stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Modulok

As a reasonably wealthy person who has a nice house, who generally despises government and politicians of all hues, housing is one topic I would actually like to see the government solve by cutting immigration to near zero for the foreseeable future, incentivizing developers, and penalizing the owners of derelict urban property and undeveloped land for which planning permission has been granted.

Quite simply the current situation breeds resentment, which in turn breeds socialism and radical leftist politics. This would not be in anyone's interests.

All that said, there is a tendency to see one's twenties as a party decade in which one can do whatever one likes, putting the serious adulting on the backburner until one's thirties. This is generally a mistake. Life is short. You will be 40 before you know it. Set some goals early in life and hold yourself accountable.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,640 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Tanking the economy to appease the Herman Kelly brigade isn't going to help anyone, including the Herman Kelly brigade.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I bought a two bed apartment eight years ago for 160k. It’s now worth over 400k in eight years. It’s a complete joke and not sustainable. Before the last crash the government launched the shared ownership scheme and they are launching similar now again. There’s something very broken in the housing market.

So back in 2015 I was renting a house in Drumcondra for 800 euro before I bought (for the whole house not a room). Now you would pay 3k. An absolute joke, renters are being fleeced. It must be tough for young people listening to those that got where they are through lucky timing as that’s all it is.

If you are young try and save to be ready for the next crash, have a steady job and a chunk of a deposit. You can buy a place and have a short term mortgage, I got a fifteen year one and will be mortgage free before I’m fifty. Everyone wants a house but if you are looking at commuting over an hour each way then maybe consider your quality of life. Is it worth it if you spend that much time travelling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Thats what it takes to be able to buy for most people.

Would we still allow immigration for high skilled jobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Modulok

I have little to no objection to genuinely high-skilled immigration but in my opinion such immigrants should have a job secured in advance above a certain income threshold; have verified, attested qualifications, and be subject to health screening before residency is granted. I would also deport any immigrant who committed serious offences, and I would make it extremely difficult to gain Irish citizenship. In short I would encourage such people to feel more like expats than immigrants.

Yes I see the logic. Like an Oz style immigration system.

Skills for Access, basically.

But we are a long way from that. :)