Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killers of the Flower Moon - Martin Scorsese - AppleTV+

• Registered Users Posts: 15,734 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I watched a show recently that was o RTE "The Frontier" . Its highly recommended. It explains how for America to be formed that natives were all forced further and further away from there lands all because of greed and the want for more land by the American Governments of the times. Mexico was even bigger than it is now but American Governments decided they wanted there land too. Its probably up on the player. An excellent show well worth watching.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,734 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Oh by the way has anyone seen the length of this film? It is 206minutes long or 3 hours 26 minutes if you prefer it that way and that is without the trailers lol. You would want to be scheduling 4 hours on your arse. Feck that. Another reason not to see it in the cinema ye :)

Definitely one to see in the comfort of one's own home.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

God I was planning on going to see it on Friday but I think I'll need to be more strategic😅. I'd probably dose off if I went to it after a work day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,988 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

A film's running length is perfectly justifiable if it has the story to accomadate it. It's not an automatic problem; those overlong blockbusters only struggle cos they nearly always fail to keep a pace to justify the length.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,377 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

DiCaprio has gotten better as he has gotten older - age has suited him. He was so good in OUATIH as the aging star struggling with irrelevance. I would once have said that he was overrated pretty boy, but I don't think that's really been the case now for more than a decade.

Length of the movie doesn't bother me. If it's good enough then it's just more of a good thing IMO.

Post edited by Arghus on

• Registered Users Posts: 31,257 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Weirdly, I find longer movies much easier to watch in the cinema than at home. In the cinema I'll just lock in and go with it, whereas at home I'm way more likely to get antsy, take a look at my phone, or just get generally distracted by the real world.

Will definitely make the effort to head out for this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Is there a lot of subtitles in the movie? I would be watching in a non English speaking country so subtitles won’t work for me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,227 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

An imperfect but really intriguing effort from Scorsese - and one that's very aware of some of its key limitations.

Fair warning that it is a more sober, elegiac affair than perhaps even The Irishman. That's the right tone for the film, but I do confess to feeling some of that running time in the back half - and I'm someone who thinks directors should make films as long as they can. The issue here is that it can feel somewhat disjointed and scattered and episodic as it jumps through a large span of time. There are frequent moments of brilliance, though - it is Scorsese - and the style of the thing is impeccable. From stunning vistas that emphasise some of the key themes of the film in one simple shot, to stylish, period-specific montages that are pure Marty.

Felt Di Caprio and De Niro were good, albeit in hammy, exaggerated performances. It's Gladstone who once again is the real star - a spectacular performance, living up to that remarkable potential she showed in Certain Women

What's most interesting about the film is how it grapples with both being an adaptation and a real-world story about a horrendous atrocity - the grim foundation of the 'American Way' and the human & cultural cost of capitalist greed. In terms of an adaptation, it's very interesting what it chooses to take and omit from the novel. The FBI (although not quite the full FBI at that stage) investigation - which takes up the entire middle section of the book - is dramatically pared back - Jesse Plemmons as the lead investigator doesn't show up until like the two hour mark. And the lengthy modern-day epilogue - which reveals an even grander scope and conspiracy - is omitted pretty much entirely. The result is a film that very much hones in the Osage experience, but also that of Di Caprio's character Burkhart. Scorsese also isn't really interested in being a whodunnit or procedural thriller - the perpetrators are clear from pretty much the outset, so we just sort of watch their plans unfold.

That's where the film's intriguing challenges with perspective come in. This is clearly a story about the Osage, and there's a lot of love given to recreating and reflecting their way of life here. It's doing justice to their plight. But it also very much hones in on an outsider's perspective, and indeed some of the people responsible for the violence. It sometimes feels like the larger Osage experience and personalities, outside of Molly's, is sidelined - outside of some really smart, elegant little interludes. This viral video doing the rounds is a great, thoughtful response to a complicated film:

I totally understand the somewhat mixed Osage reaction to the film, but intriguingly so does Scorsese himself. He confronts the film's contradictions - a pulpy yet thoughtfully realised blockbuster about a very real tragedy, told by a non-Native American director - in a stunningly frank final epilogue, which might be some of the very best, sharpest filmmaking I've seen in 2023. It's an honest, authentic effort by Scorsese to grapple with a story that's much bigger than him - something reflected in the messy but deeply felt film that preceded it. It's a perfect end to what is often an imperfect film.

Post edited by johnny_ultimate on

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭winstonia

Absolutely loved this. Best thing I've seen in years. First 5/5 in years

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

I really want to see this but I want a great cinema experience. I have been dissapointed with sound a picture quality in some cinemas of late. Anyone got any recommendations for cinemas in Dublin (without head wrecking teens on their phones).

My 77 year old father (slightly hard of hearing) wants to see, "Killer Flowers from the Moon".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

I like the Odeon in the Point.

The Lighthouse in Smithfield also.

The IFI is good but tight leg space

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Oh I went to see the Irishman in the Lighthouse and had a much better experience than seeing it in the Savoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

IFI. Think screen 1 is the "big" screen and do not sit near the front as those seats are too near the screen. Maybe anywhere from halfway back. ... if you choose to go there. Saw Oppenheimer there and no complaints and with a crowd who wanted to watch a movie and not disturb others.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,136 ✭✭✭ronano

I saw the film in lighthouse screen 1 on Thursday, no one on phones, good legroom and sound and picture quality were good

• Registered Users Posts: 33,229 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What is it with Hollywood and overly long films?

Do a bit of editing ffs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,925 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'd to shout at a twat who's phone kept dinging which was a shame.

Otherwise, excellent experience. Didn't mind the length at all. Wonderful film and not quite what I was expecting from the trailer.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Savoy always seems very quiet when I'm there.

I don't know how they survive.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,792 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

No way I'm siting in the cinema for 4 hours, wait for it to be available online.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,925 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 17,792 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Did 4 hours for Oppenheimer and said never again. I struggle to sit in the one spot for that long.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Ah. Yeah, if you come for the trailers then it'll be 4 hours.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

There will be blood is maybe my favorite movie so I think I will like this one too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,988 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I definitely remember an intermission when I saw the Lord of the Rings movies at Cineworld back in the day; was the last time I was aware of that even happening - I imagine margins are too fine, schedules too compressed with showings, to waste time on formal toilet breaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭winstonia

Only 4 people at the point village showing when I seen it on Friday at 4pm.. Did move into the "premium" seats after 30mins as their standard ones are very uncomfortable. I'm used to the recliner ones in the UK

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

Snap, TWWB is top of my list too.

Cause of the run time I'm purposely waiting for this to come out on streaming, that is sort of counter cinema but it is what it is

• Registered Users Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭santana75

Saw it tonight and found it a slog. A lot of scenes are just unnecessary, especially near the end. I thought the irishman was poor and I feel the same about this. There was a lot of biblical references and I know scorcese is Catholic so I figure he was aiming for a "The love of money is the root of all evil" kind of theme but it all seemed somewhat empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Bar the aviator, I haven’t rated a Scorsese movie since Casino ( I hate Gangs of New York and The Departed)

hes a movie industry darling nowadays so any mediocre offering is guaranteed a eulogy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Quite an enjoyable movie, very different from a lot of previous scorsesee movies. Leo also played quite a different character to his usual fare, the trailer definitely didn't give away all of the plot points.

Not all award darlings or critic's choice movies are mediocre, some are actually very good like this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Any subtitles in this from the Osage Langauge to English?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Not in all scenes . In some where the osage are making small comments in the presence of white people they wouldn't translate