Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭bren2001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Happened to catch a few mins today in the car, just after 1pm.. Bit sure that Ann-Marie one they have on is but she had been awful every time I've heard her, particularly today. She start going on that she wouldn't be surprised if there's "an investigation" in the Spurs vs Liverpool game in 12 months time. Honestly couldn't believe the stuff she was coming out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

When she’s on the newsround and you could look at it she to me always looks totally disinterested in sport..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Could well be the case, you hear someone with the same name mentioned as a BCO or broadcast assistant on non sports programs on RTÉ, presumably the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭left_hander

Going to sign up for the free month and cancel at the last minute! Will binge A Slight Tangent and Sunday Papers.

What I am absolutely amazed is that I have yet to hear a "We have a special interview with (Extremely Famous Person) exclusive to our Off The Ball subscribers."

My suspicion here is they haven't got enough subscribers to make some big splashes and get some internationally renown guests and the numbers are not backing up the decision. The market is just too saturated for ordinary chatter and you just can't flog the radio pub talk for €10 a month, no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Maybe they could just go the route of impersonators ? There are people out there who do fantastic Rooney or Pep Guardiloa impersonations… I bet they would get away with it…

Kimmage falls out with everyone which says more about him. Give it a few months and he’ll be moaning about second captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Butson

At least the clip of Gilroy making an eejit of himself is doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Azatadine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Coleman on a massive high this morning initially due to the drop off in corporate tax receipts. He has loads of contributors like IFAC etc on to join in the chorus but you can hear the disappointment in his voice when they don't agree that it's not all doim and gloom. They all seem glass half full and that's not suiting his narrative at all. He was 10 feet high at 7 o'clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Rassie put that clown back in his box very nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 PacePower89

I didn’t subscribe as I felt the way they went about the whole thing was very sneaky. Found myself with a free hour this morning so knocked on the AM live. The conversation was about how the Scottish accent is the best in the world. Absolute tripe. I’ll keep my €10 a month Gilroy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Stoned_Rosie

Not really true is it?

Few hundred for clubs, few hundred for membership. A lot of time needed to play and improve.

I've worked across many big companies in Ireland and the big wig always are interested in playing golf. It's a status thing. A friend of mine even went out and bought clubs just so he could go golfing with the higher ups.

The Ann Marie woman seems like she hasn't got a clue about sports?

I was listening last week and heard "Greg Townend announced his team to play Romania". It's Gregor Townsend.

And then sometimes you get the feeling the other lads know she hasn't got a clue. They were on about the rugby match v Scotland at the weekend and one of the other lads just said "do you have any thoughts?" as if it was like "if you haven't got a clue, we'll just move on". Anyways, she basically just repeated what another lad said, that Ireland are seasoned as a top team while Scotland are still trying to make the break through.

Happened to catch some coverage on Sunday when Vinny Perth was talking about the Forest/Brentford game.

Duggan interrupts Perth to update about something he saw on the screen. I don't think it was even about Europe winning another point, just something about the crowd cheering. Anyways, Duggan, who was mid conversation about Forest/Brentford asks Perth where does the Europeans passion for team Europe come from.

It's just stupid to go off on a tangent like that for basically no reason.

Anyways Perth was clearly bluffing his way through the answer. He finished up with something like "when you think of all those who voted for Brexit, and then you so many Brits over there (at the Ryder Cup), it's mad"

The thickos still think that someone voting for Brexit means they hate Europe and its people and that they only ever want to stay in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭bren2001

Not sure it was sneaky. It was pretty bloody blunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 845 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

Nope. Disagree. Driving ranges and most courses full of people just like you and me. Ordinary folk. I should know I've been doing it for 45 years.

Big wigs in companies playing golf. So what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,008 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

If you are considering paying a tenner a month for OTB, listen to Shane Hannon on Pat Kenny show today just before midday.

He was asked on about the VAR controversy and displayed an amazing lack of knowledge on new offside VAR technology available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,325 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I know he's the boss but having Gilroy come out as the face of asking for your €10 every month was a serious misstep. Nobody really wants to line Gilroy's pockets directly. And given how flippant he was the night he announced it I'd say many refused to subscribe there and then. It really seems like they rushed it in without much thought before the return of the Premier League and the Rugby World Cup. I think a bit more notice and maybe someone like Joe Molloy announcing it would probably have worked better. Although I sense Joe is not particularly invested in the subscription route anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

There's no need for Joe to be overly invested. He won't be short of opportunities elsewhere if it all goes tits up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The same was said when the Second captains team left and Ger came back to OTB, and again when he started OTB AM. It's a bad move, it won't work, he shouldn't be in that position, etc etc. But both initiatives ultimately were successful.

Not saying that this will turn in to a success, but he has been the chief navigator of OTB pretty much since its inception and I don't think it makes sense to ignore that.

I wonder though if they are being pushed in a particular direction from higher up. The pushing of the Go Loud app a couple of years was something that never struck me as being something the presenters were overly keen on. Not saying that was definitely the case, or is the same here, just I had those thoughts at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I listen to OTB the odd time but I’m baffled as to what they’re asking €10 a month for.

They’re not investigative journalists, nor do they offer particularly ground-breaking punditry. It’s literally a few lads sitting at a table gabbing about sport or what other, more dynamic, journalists have uncovered themselves. What are people supposed to be paying such a premium for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Entertainment. The show is popular, has been for a long time, whoever thought of pushing this is banking on that popularity being something that people would pay for.

It does put the complaining about the TV license that a lot of people spend their time doing into perspective though. If OTB is worth 10/month to people, hard to argue with 13.33/month per household for what's available there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

That’s an absurd amount of money for a single podcast with three lads yakking away about sport, and nothing else. I’d say two euros a month is more like it.

I might have paid a fiver a month, if it had been communicated by somebody other than an arrogant p***k saying "Its only a tenner a month".

I have the tenner, I'm just not giving it to you Ger. Because, basically, I don't like you..