Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,733 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Does anybody know if theirs going to be a new season?

Dermot seems to be gone quiet on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,240 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It wasn't mentioned in the recent RTÉ new season announcement. Looks to be returning for 4 shows in 2024 according to this in VIP...

https://vipmagazine.ie/when-is-room-to-improve-set-to-return/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

The last few seasons have been very short. I know covid played some part but that shouldn't be the case now.

Hard to know.

Grand design new season is on C4....be interesting to see how many episodes there are for this season as during covid they also had very few episodes per season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

He's taking on much bigger projects, so they've less programmes left over. He used to do a few 'large extensions'. Now he's effectively demolishing whole houses and doing a new build. That takes a lot more time.

He should consider going back to the extensions, or RTE or the production company need to find someone who will do this if they want more programmes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭houseyhouse

The problem is the building regs. If you add a decent sized extension these days, you’re required to retrofit the entire house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Yeah, but he's going over the top. He did a house out in Howth and effectively just left the front wall of the house on it. It was a full rebuild.

Nothing wrong with that, it just leaves him a lot less time for more projects for the TV. it probably suits his business a lot better to have fewer projects, but viewers are left with 4 rather than 8 or 10 programmes.

As I said, probably space there for someone else to do a new programme for RTE. Maybe one where they focus a lot more on retro fitting and energy security.

Well Home Rescue is in there too. They usually just concentrate on one or two rooms, build done in a week.

A realistic budget , none of the "I'll pull another 100k out of my arse" lark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,548 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd recommend The Great House Giveaway for those who prefer realistic budgets. The format's a little different: the show funds the purchase of a property, the contestants get to renovate it on a tight budget, it gets flipped and the contestant keeps any profit:

https://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-great-house-giveaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If it comes back it would be better if it want back to showing the work being done rather than half the episode telling the couples life story.

Yeah the only time the couple's lifestory is interesting is when they are 25 working in the (civil service, hairdresser, barber, etc) but have a million euro budget!

GDY151

Returns Sunday 7th January RTÉ1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Back tonight at 9:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

Can’t wait!

this would make you feel ill 😝

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dermot-bannon-shame-of-tv-property-porn-could-be-partly-my-fault/a862002614.html

Dermot Bannon: Shame of TV ‘property porn’ could be partly my fault

GDY151

Doing things arseways to start with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭CH3OH

This one could be a money pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Severe Lack Of Dog (SLOG)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Did Dermot say they could use the help to buy scheme? I thought that was strictly new builds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭lmk123

Do any of them realise you have to do the work and spend the money long before you get the grant money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭touts

€50k of the planned spend relies on the Minister for Finance announcing changes to the grants in the national budget.

Next week Dermot tells a couple that Euromillions is the best way of funding the plans he drew up for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

The budget seems way off here. I can’t believe they would get what they want to do for under 400k (not including grants).

Dermot told to draw up a plan for €200k. Final budget €340k funded by every grant known to man and then remortgaging to get an additional 50k.

And then Dermot says "They are really panicking about money and I don't know why!"

You Dermot. The "why" is you 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,163 ✭✭✭Glebee

Lol, Dermot the architect asking for we really need roof ventilation

Is there any point in even telling him what your budget is, this is disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

In fairness to Dermot it was with regard to the cladding on the roof. Also such a pity he got his nice Gant down jacket dirty, lol.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Dermot overshoots the budget by €140k and then runs in a panic to the kitchen showroom when he hears they might be trying to save money there. Then he can't understand why people would repaint a kitchen in the future rather than just replacing it completely. Holy hell but this series is going to see some poor couple sent to the bankruptcy courts. 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Can they not give some other architect a go or even focus on the more technical side. The contrived arguments over the design and budget is overdone.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Imagine tellin him there’s no budget. What it would end up at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Its worth going back on the player to watch series 1. The jobs featured back then were attainable for so many people with modest budgets. Somewhere along the way this programme morphed into grand designs.