This one could be a money pit
Doing things arseways to start with.
Can’t wait!
this would make you feel ill 😝
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dermot-bannon-shame-of-tv-property-porn-could-be-partly-my-fault/a862002614.html
Dermot Bannon: Shame of TV ‘property porn’ could be partly my fault
Back tonight at 9:30
Returns Sunday 7th January RTÉ1.
Yeah the only time the couple's lifestory is interesting is when they are 25 working in the (civil service, hairdresser, barber, etc) but have a million euro budget!
If it comes back it would be better if it want back to showing the work being done rather than half the episode telling the couples life story.
I'd recommend The Great House Giveaway for those who prefer realistic budgets. The format's a little different: the show funds the purchase of a property, the contestants get to renovate it on a tight budget, it gets flipped and the contestant keeps any profit:
https://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-great-house-giveaway
Well Home Rescue is in there too. They usually just concentrate on one or two rooms, build done in a week.
A realistic budget , none of the "I'll pull another 100k out of my arse" lark.
Yeah, but he's going over the top. He did a house out in Howth and effectively just left the front wall of the house on it. It was a full rebuild.
Nothing wrong with that, it just leaves him a lot less time for more projects for the TV. it probably suits his business a lot better to have fewer projects, but viewers are left with 4 rather than 8 or 10 programmes.
As I said, probably space there for someone else to do a new programme for RTE. Maybe one where they focus a lot more on retro fitting and energy security.
The problem is the building regs. If you add a decent sized extension these days, you’re required to retrofit the entire house.
He's taking on much bigger projects, so they've less programmes left over. He used to do a few 'large extensions'. Now he's effectively demolishing whole houses and doing a new build. That takes a lot more time.
He should consider going back to the extensions, or RTE or the production company need to find someone who will do this if they want more programmes.
The last few seasons have been very short. I know covid played some part but that shouldn't be the case now.
Hard to know.
Grand design new season is on C4....be interesting to see how many episodes there are for this season as during covid they also had very few episodes per season.
It wasn't mentioned in the recent RTÉ new season announcement. Looks to be returning for 4 shows in 2024 according to this in VIP...
https://vipmagazine.ie/when-is-room-to-improve-set-to-return/
Does anybody know if theirs going to be a new season?
Dermot seems to be gone quiet on social media.
Was the wife from abroad in that one?
Strange they'd go through so much getting it built and then selling up so quickly
Was it their forever home ? 😄
Looks like the people in Tramore sold up.
Yeah, Harrison is a very knowledgable bloke, and really nice.
thanks a million , yeah that was them. Believe it or not its only the 2nd time I've watched it myself. Better this time, as the first time I watched it we were a bit too buzzed up and laughing at everyone , tonight when I was sitting in their room watching it I couldn't believe the level of sheer hard work, day after day, and the amount of time and setbacks it took. So glad its over for them and they now have a lovely home of their own!
Is this tonight's episode? If so well done to them!!!
This tonight's episode? If so, well done to them!!
HE is the entertainer, but I dont find him entertaining.
I dont think any show needs to be super low level detail as thats a niche market, but we dont even get basics like area added or BER ratings.
Its basically a kitchen design show, where there is only 1 kitchen on offer. REminds me of those renovation shows in the US where all they ever do is knock a wall to make downstairs open plan. Yawn.
Well no market in giving info like that one focussing on retrofit costs or choices.
Eco eye has just been cancelled after 21 years . Rte never funded it and the sponsor the EPA pulled their funding in 2020.
Expect new shows with 'personality' putting the craic back into climate reporting
Is he that entertaining though? He's a bog standard architect, passed his prime, with nothing that interesting to offer to clients.
I think that's already a show in the UK. Angela Scanlon presents it and it's called "Your home made perfect"
I’d better copyright the idea!
I think your better off giving it a miss. Room to Improve is basically reality TV about building a house/extension.
Your looking for a different format/style of program going by what you described.
I think the show needs total overhaul
What does it want to be? 75% of it now is DB entertaining us, its certainly not an informative show (compared to any of its English Counterparts)
Its very thin on content, to the point of being pointless IMO. No rea figures given, we dont get details on whats being added or low level details on what they actually spent and on what.
Think I'm going to just give it a miss as it annoys me more than anything else.
I dont agree with you on much Andrew but that would be a great idea and would be great to see how can get in at the cheapest price while getting the spec the customer wants.