The emergence of "Zombie" by The Cranberries as an Irish sporting anthem

FFS, What a load of crap! Of corse Northern Irish exists as identity. 376,444 people identified as this in 2021 census.

I did not think this thread could get any worse but you just took it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I had to google them, as far as I can see the Cairns lad is a nobody.

You are 100% right about the song.

They celebrate them when they are alive too, this is a man who was questioned by Gardai about the murder of an Irish prison officer.

So how could anybody be against the singing of this song?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Hey, I'm happy for people to sing the song as a singalong, not my cup of tea for a sports song, but that's really neither here not there.

I'm just trying to keep these politics out of sports, and I see what's being used to try to drag them in is this nonsense that 'whoever objects to this supports terrorism', making it an us and them thing. Serving then as an excuse to keep talking about these politics, instead of housing, health, neutrality etc.

Therapy weren't quite as commercially successfully as the Cranberries, but there's was a much harder rock sound. They were still very successful critically and I'm sure made quite a penny.

But why do you talk about people in NI and 'their communities'? As far as I can see this guy distanced himself from any kind of sectarianism and just didn't like the song because he thought it fed into the same kind of condescending view that you're sharing here? That nothing existing in NI other than two communities of extremists hating each other. I mean by your own admission you know nothing about the guy and you're assuming he's representing a community of bigots!

I don't want to speak for the guy, but maybe he was just taking a defiant stand against the type of BS you're pushing?

Politics is deeply intertwined with sports, any international sport is based on politics, as nations and countries are based on politics. If you want to keep politics out of sport, get rid of all international sport, and while you're at it, tell UEFA in the meantime to readmit Russia to all international sport. Look who you are aligning yourself with to take politics out of sport.

Wait a minute who am I aligning myself with? Russia? That's hilarious!

Oh please explain to me how you got to that?

You want politics out of sport, don't you, that means ending the banning of Russia from international sport.

Oh wait, I see, you just want politics you don't like out of sport. That explains it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,079 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I suppose a big difference between a terrorist and a member of an 'official' army is that the terrorist has free will and is doing what they do because they totally believe in the cause (which is what she meant by asking 'what's in your head?').

No that's still quite a stretch!

The FAI have made a decision to undertake political action against Russia, with a purpose in mind.

What's the goal here for the IRFU? Education people about the North? And who's made the decision to set their political agenda? Them? Or the likes or yourself, claiming 'anyone who doesn't agree with me is a child murderer'?

I very much doubt the IRFU want to be involved in these politics.

I think an 'unofficial' source has come out saying the song is a homage to Delores and no further comment.

Do you accept politics in sport? Yes or No?

One minute you say you are campaigning to take politics out of sport, the next you have no trouble with FAI getting involved in politics.

So which is it?

My family members weren't conscripted to fight in Iraq or Afghanistan, they made that decision.

I wouldn't agree with it, but I wouldn't call them 'Zombies'

And she did say it was about war, not just terrorism.

Again, have the singalong, but stop trying to turn that into getting your agenda into sport.

I'm alright with a sporting organization taking political actions, if it's what they want, and the fans want.

In this case it looks to me like the fans just want a singalong, but you and a few others want to turn it into a political campaign of some sort?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,079 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I still wouldn't quite compare a terrorist to a soldier. A terrorist makes a personal political decision to plant bombs and because they 100% believe in the cause : a soldier is doing it primarily as a career and is paid a salary. A soldier who makes a deliberate decision to kill civilians though would be much closer in outlook to a terrorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

bollox , your trying to twist my words ,

there is no perspective on events that actually happeneds, there s what happened and what didnt ,

i think ye got in over you head in this topic and are trying to slink away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,745 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Unfortunately politics and sport will always be linked. For rugby alone I can think of the Springbok tour to NZ in 1981. Or the Cavaliers tour to SA in 1986. Wales and Scotland refusing to play in Dublin in the early 70s because of terrorism fears.

You probably don't realise how Ireland was viewed in the rest of the world in the 80s and 90s. It was basically seen as a warzone because the only time we heard about was when there was a bombing or a shooting. So an Irish band saying not in my name was a good thing and something Irish people can be proud of. If fans then want to belt out that song at sports events, they should do so with pride. The people objecting to it or offended by it are the ones putting the politics into it. YOU are bringing politics into it.

Not at all, I'm just challenging the idea that if you disagree with this song in any way, you support terrorism.

Again I like the song, fine with it as a singalong, but I think that nonsense is what's being used to politicize it and drag an agenda into sport. And it's BS.

A lot of soldier's I'd imagine believe in their country and think they're fighting for a cause.

Targeting civilians is awful. In my view so is recklessly using cluster bombs. The outcome's the same, innocent civilians are killed.

And Delores seemed to say this song was about war, not just terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Im sure you ll agree that it was the terrorists that created the issue then im sure .....

I've a fair idea how Ireland was viewed in the 80's and 90's. We were shielded from a lot of it down in Limerick but I remember we'd get foreign students into school expecting a warzone.

How can you say I'm the one bringing politics into it?

It seems to me like your saying Irish fans are singing the song to send a message about the North?

Is it a singalong or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Dolores wasn't the only Southern Irish person to be appalled by the murders of Jonathan Ball and Tim Parry.

I would say the vast majority here were. How could you not be?

And Zombie is about that particular incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭TokTik

What has a Scottish football club got to do with this? I’m sure there are plenty of Scottish people who can call them out.

So we’ve switched the meaning of the song again. It’s anti-terrorist now. Make up your minds lads. It’s this, it’s that. Whatever suits your argument at the time.

It’s a poignant song, about a historic time in Irish history and doesn’t deserve to be turned into a sporting anthem. It’s better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,745 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

No I'm saying Irish fans are singing a great Irish song. No messages just supporting their team. The politics was brought into it by Shinners and RA supporters because they think the song criticises them. You have continued this by going on about politics in sport. Were you one of the posters saying the IRFU should stop playing it?

I was appalled by it, and still am.

It doesn't mean I don't think anyone could interpret the song differently, maybe feel it over-simplified the politics in the north at the time, as just one example?

I'm fine with the song, I think it's about capturing a raw and honest reaction, but I'd give people the right to have their opinions and not claim that they're 'supporting child murder'

I think it puts them in a very awkward position.

Initially I thought they should just pick another song but I wasn't aware how big this had gotten.

I now think they're in a bit of a 'damned if they do, damned if they don't' situation tbh.

But I mean when you've got the Tanaiste out saying basically that anyone who questions this supports terrorism, in relation to it being questioned by sf supporters who clearly weren't supporting terrorism, that's a mess.

Post edited by MegamanBoo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,019 ✭✭✭Francis McM

It is not a mess, it is quite simple. As someone else said, "Dolores wasn't the only Southern Irish person to be appalled by the murders of Jonathan Ball and Tim Parry.

I would say the vast majority here were. How could you not be?

And Zombie is about that particular incident."

And the rugby authorities play Zombie and their fans are happy with it and only a few republican cranks on Twitter and here complain about it.

You should have said from the start that you were happy with the song being played, and we wouldn't have wasted our time.

Why would they (the IRFU) be in an awkward situation when the likes of Tadhg Hickey threw his toys out of the pram in the first place? Originally we got the “partitionist” angle allied to the predictable “Northern Nationalists were abandoned” line, and last but not least when the SF online army piled in in support we had: “the IRA campaign was justified because…” Such a line of argument has been trotted out so many times before and will in the future I suspect. The upcoming general election campaign in the South could be rather interesting me thinks……

I would guess that it will be sung twice as loud if Ireland beat Scotland.

We have over 1000 posts on this thread, and the leading objectors to the song haven't been able to tell us in a single post why anyone was offended by the song (other than child murderers and their supporters). I don't think it is the IRFU who are in the awkward situation.