Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Premier League Thread 2023-24 Mod Note in op 27/6/23 And 21/05/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,025 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

its grand cos there was an apology.

once, fine. this **** has been happening since var came in.

no one cares about token apologies. if you cant get it correct, change the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,425 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Or make a training panel from retired foreign refs and look to hire and train ex foreign players as your new refs. Those players would have no connection to current PL teams and will have experience of playing at a professional level.

You could do something similar with the young lads who leave clubs early because of injury etc. Retrain them and give them a career in football.

There's to much money in the PL for this not to blow up. You can't keep saying you've the best league in the world, with the best players and best managers and then you've the absolute worst officiating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,653 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Given that Mike Dean's recent interview proved that VAR is not always making decisions based purely on the merits of the incident, but rather also take into account the feelings of the ref in the game since they're mates, shows that whoever works on VAR should be completely separate from the pool of refs. Oversight can't be so emotionally involved with the subjects they're overseeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭DAngelo Bailey

IMG-20230930-WA0122.jpg

Oh deary me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,653 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

That's insane... like, grand if that's a little misunderstanding, but once the ref is giving a kick out for the offside, how is the VAR guy not right back in his ear saying "oh sorry, misunderstanding, that was a definite clear goal." How the fck do they just continue on after knowingly making that mistake?!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's like they think of new ways to **** up every week.

They're creative tbf.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Please tell me this is just trolling....

The level of incompetence is astounding...

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

That's hilarious. Were the VAR officials not watching the match? Did they not see the flag go up and Diaz stop celebrating? He must have been playing angry birds or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I remember when Galway got a point in last years AI SF in the first half and hawkeye didn't give it. The GAA just corrected it at half time and retired hawkeye.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭giveitholly

And did the officials not see a free kick given to spurs for offside instead of a kick off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

It's like one of those bugs in software development that you could never anticipate because you could never envisage the end user being that fúcking stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,735 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I don't believe this.

The var team is in communication with the ref, if it was true it would have been easy for the var to say to ref after he awarded the offside, "no it was a good goal".

He didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,073 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Thats one of the reasons I'm laughing at people tryna claim theres a fix/conspiracy going on.

I genuinely dont think they'd actually be competent enough to successfully manipulate a result if they actually tried to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,624 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Tbf people shouldn't be betting on anything and if this has that outcome it should be viewed as a positive.

VAR has been a disaster from it's inception though this thing has been coming a long time.

Hopefully this leads to an overhaul of VAR.

Glazers Out!

At some point you have to wonder though, given the level of incompetence that's seemingly accepted by the PGMOL, how hard would it be for a ref to get away with actual fixing? It'll never be considered I'm sure but some of these decisions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭McBain11

MOTD commentator with an absolutely beauty doing the Spurs Liverpool highlights.

That doesn't look offside to me he says. This will be checked he says.

Oh little did you know kind sir. Little did you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,595 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Are you against drinking and dancing, too, Father? And don't get me started on fornication outside of wedlock!!

There will always be gambling, and gambling for the Premier League drives interest, sponsorship revenue, etc. Events like this chip away at the integrity of the outcome, which is the ultimate motivation for introducing VAR in the first place. And it will be the driving motivation to get it right.

The EPL need to accept that UEFA is doing this better and look to adapt its practices. That's the bottom line here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,595 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Tonight's game was one where you could make a very reasonable base principles-type argument that the VAR team were in on a fix. My guess is the powers that be will see that also!!

The bookies would highlight any irregular betting patterns on markets, that's how these things are found out.

But if you did have the money and the reach to somehow pull off match fixing in the premier league, you could do it for a lot less risk and scrutiny and cost in other leagues or sports, so why would you bother take the risk.

You'd just go do it in horse racing or tennis like everyone else :)

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Sure there is no other reasonable argument, not sure why you restrict it to var, what were the umpire/referees on, serious fix on , seriously would be better watching mock wrestling than that shite , they are not even trying to cover up the fix anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,105 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Var needs to be shelved until they can consistently use the technology for the benefit of the game.

We should not be at the stage where we have a fcuk up for that Liverpool goal, nor should we have Referees greeted at the screen by a heavily weighted still image.

Do they have these type of fcuk ups elsewhere in Europe? If not one solution is easy, hire some competent staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,678 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

People calling for VAR is ridiculous. All it is, is a second opinion given from someone that can use the benefit of technology to get a better look. It's still the same useless refs that are in the field, except there's now a useless one off if it. Still the same human errors. Still the same ineptitude. Refereeing standards in England have been atrocious for several years now. Having the same useless prick in an office instead of on a field doesn't change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭McFly85

Last night was yet another reason why VAR needs to have a microphone and allow everyone to hear the audio of the discussion between the officials.

It’s clear that there is no standard conversation between the referee and VAR. They speak to each other like mates at a pub, it needs to be far more structured.

Of course they’ll absolutely resist the idea because in their minds all it will do is serve to really highlight their mistakes, which should tell you all you need to know about the state of refereeing in the PL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,115 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Howard Webb spoke about this earlier in the season. They want to have live var audio but it’s against FIFA rules apparently

Can technology alone be used for offsides? (for example). Why use a human at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,624 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Gambling and gambling advertising are off the charts these days, particularly in the UK.

I've nothing against gambling (or drinking or dancing, you funny funny man) but it's recognised that gambling has become incredibly problematic over recent years (it has a tangible effect, try getting mortgage approval with an active online gambling account for example).

So yeah, I couldn't give a fvck if VAR impacts the profit margins of Paddy Power or whatever bunch of vultures you care to mention.

Premier League VAR is a joke however, but ultimately it becomes a comfortable excuse for managers when their sides perform poorly and a dodgy VAR call is in the mix, it doesn't even have to be a dodgy call because nobody trusts VAR (See any post match interview with Erik Ten Hag this season after a defeat).

The hope would be that after the fact that it was admitted that a mistake was made in this fashion the whole thing would be rebuilt from the ground up, but I can't see that really happening until next season so this kind of thing will likely continue for some time.

Glazers Out!

Just on the Jones challenge yesterday, I was on Reddit earlier and someone had posted this image from the Spurs Liverpool game last year and the attached statement from VAR.

Screenshot_20231001-084841.png

So there's the inconsistency in decisions again. Now has this been ammended for this season and all such challenges are reds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,073 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

As always about half of them will be red the other half nothing.

You could just toss a coin to get more reliable results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,672 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

That's fine.

But then Bissouma is off for the tackle on Gakpo, as they'd presumably also have to show a still.

Also, send Udogie off for a second booking for waving imaginary cards.

Listen, no Spurs fan should care. I don't think any Liverpool fan expects any Spurs fan to give a toss that they got everything yesterday. Take it and run.

But yesterday's refereeing and VAR performance will have to have ramifications. It was that bad and blatant.