Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Presume op meant go down the conspiracy theory road like Brand did.

They seemed to be pretty tight at one point, but I can't find anything with them together past 2019 so maybe BB was put off by Brands new direction. If he was hes never commented on it as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

^ As it happens he mentioned exactly that in his latest podcast released today. I sorta felt he would make a passing comment on the Russel Brand thing so I listened to today's release to check.

Sure enough he pointed out that Brand pushed his work in the past - especially the Rubber Bandits stuff - But around 2018 when Brand started releasing stuff that seemed to be aimed at the Alex Jones style American conspiracy audience he was just creeped out by it. He says many people have asked him to try to get Brand onto the podcast - but due to this creepiness he never tried.

At what point does he mention it? I listened to five minutes of him shiteing on about pumpkin spice latte and couldn't take anymore. Curious to hear his take on the RR thing but I was reminded of why I've never been able to get into his podcasts.

It kicks in around 32:30 and only lasts about a minute or two.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

If you don’t like his podcasts why bother listening? Just take the posters word for it

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Because I wanted to hear it in his own words, why do you find that so strange?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I listened to a short clip of Blindboy talking about it. I’m relieved to hear him comment about the Brand story but I found it distasteful that he commented in his affected Limerick skanger accent.

I supposed he didn’t have much of a choice but it left a bad taste in my mouth. Imagine the guy who played Dustin the Turkey denying prior knowledge of sexual assault allegations in his “hweh hweh hweh” voice.

I think it’s strange that you won’t just take someone’s word for it, when you don’t want to listen in the first place. Save yourself some time.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

I’ve no interest in what he has to say, so I don’t listen to his podcast.

But I genuinely can’t understand criticism like this. People are turning themselves inside out to criticise the lad. If you don’t like him, his music, his podcast or his books then he’s east enough to avoid.

I happen to like his music and books. I’ve zero interest in any podcasts. I’m happy to hear he doesn’t support Brand. But why the **** does his accent matter. It would be weird for him to drop it for any reason. Blindboy is a character he uses to interface with the world, leave him at it.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Blindboy is a character he uses to interface with the world, leave him at it.

No I don’t think I will.

My criticism isn’t personal, and it’s fair. He puts on a silly voice for his public persona and he chooses to use that same silly voice for making his statement about the allegations of sexual assault towards Russell Brand, and his own relationship with Brand.

Imagine if it was the 1940s and Walt Disney had to go on the radio to explain how he isn’t an anti-Semite in his Mickey Mouse voice; going “haw-haw” all the while. It would be exactly as ludicrous as Blindboy doing his own silly voice to discuss such an incredibly serious topic.

^ Not a fair comparison I feel. Walt Disney did not interact with the public in that persona or voice. So to go on tha radio and deal with a serious topic - while putting on such a character/voice - would indeed have been out of line and literally taking the piss. He may have voiced the Mouse character for some time but it was not the persona or method by which he interacted with the public on serious topics or pretty much any topics.

Other people however have a persona they interact with the public on. Every time. Including when discussing serious and important topics. Blindboy has for example discussed many mental health issues and depression and autism and homelessness and sexuality and much more. All through the masked persona. So there is absolutely no reason to drop that persona to deal with this topic/subject. If they put Mrs Merton back on the television and asked that character to comment on Brand too - I would not expect that persona to drop the silly shrill old lady voice either.

Your earlier example kinds makes my point for me here. If "the guy" doing Dustin the Turkey released a statement in Dustin's voice then it could be seen as taking the piss. If however he was issuing his statement _speifically as Dustin the Turkey_ then I do not think it should be. Blindboy was making his statement as Blindboy.

On top of that - while you call it a "silly" voice - the purpose of the voice is not just to be silly. As the Nozzferrahhtoo pointed out quite well a few posts back - there are reasons Blindboy has chosen to wear a mask - and his voice is every bit as much a mask as the bag he wears. His vocal masking is every bit as valid as his physical masking. And there is no credible reason to be upset at one mask and not the other.

The reasons he wears those masks are not negated by him discussing a serious sexual topic. Commenting on Brand puts zero onus on him to drop either of his masks. Be it his voice while commenting on Brand on a podcast - or his bag were he to comment on Brand on the Tele - there is no reason to expect him to drop either mask.

So all in all I can not see much basis for giving your critisism much credence here. Not that I can not see why it might irk you. Your position makes sense to me as to why it annoys you even if I do not share that position one iota. Because the issue is with you and not Blindboy. If his discussion of this topic in that voice annoys you that is all you and nothing to do with him. He has done nothing at all wrong. And there is no reason to think he takes this topic any less seriously than any other topic he has discussed in that same voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,169 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

What do you want to do with his identity? I don't know him and I appreciate his preference for keeping his identity somewhat low key. Presumably loads of people recognise him but I wouldn't know him if I tripped over him. Surely one of the worst parts of being famous is the lack of privacy and people hassling you when you just want to be left alone.

Why wouldn't you just appreciate the reasons he's given for wanting to maintain some privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I couldn't give a shite his identity.

Why go on about it then? Why expect him to give up his privacy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,114 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

He’s probably at home enjoying with delirium a 77 page thread on boards dedicated to himself…. Another one whose currency is attention,

I have never fully understood the comment that "<Insert some celebrity/author/actor/personality here> is only after attention".

Well yes. They all are. It's their career. If you are an actor or an author or a political commentator or a podcaster or a radio DJ or a comedian or a politician or a musician you require attention. If you got absolutely no attention you would simply have no career. Simple as that.

Pick your favorite artist - their currency is attention. Pick your favorite author or journalist - their currency is attention. Pick your favorite comedian - their currency is attention.

So this "attention" thing is only something that gets mentioned when one does not like a person or personality. It is entirely ignored and given a free pass when one does like someone. Which suggests to me that seeking attention is not a bad thing - but something one pretends is a bad thing when one needs to diss someone one has already decided they do not like.

But it becomes even more nonsensical when it is levelled against someone who has taken steps to do everything they can to get absolutely no attention outside their career. Wearing a mask and masking their voice in order to not be recognised anywhere outside their job. Sure they might be after just as much attention in terms of their career as anyone else who has a public career. But outside that it is clear they want absolutely none of it. As opposed to the Reality TV stars, tik tokkers and you tubers who are after fame for fames sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,333 ✭✭✭✭briany

He's made a couple of appearances on TV and radio talking about mental health and we've still not heard the end of the moaning about it.

Nobody actually has to take him seriously. He is, as he often points out, a lad with a bag on his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,142 ✭✭✭✭listermint

6 years of bile in 1 thread. And people who admitting to despising the guy and or his work aslo admitting to listening to it so they can specifically tear it apart.

Why would anyone bother...

If you don't like something why would you bother putting yourself through it so you can get attention tearing it apart.

The amusing part of those that criticism someone that doesn't really court public attention , you're hear craving public attention about all the ways this guy is crap with up to date information from his podcast as to why he's crap.

The thread is hilarious for the level of self awareness some people plainly don't possess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Explain? That doesn't make sense.

I listen to his podcast as I find the ramblings interesting.

My post explained people listen to them that hate them only to come here so they can tell you how much they hate them. They keep coming back over 6 years to tell us of the pain they are putting themselves through for what purpose..

So again, Explain your response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Go on about what? What did I say that isn't true or reality? He can do what he likes but the nature of people seeking fame is that they will be put under public scrutiny more than general members of the public. I personally have no interest in his real name of any of his recent work.

I think it's totally fair to point out that a person who only presents themselves in a silly costume and putting on an exaggerated accent sounds stupid when they're commenting about incredibly serious topics in that persona. Particularly so when the man embroiled in that crime has history with the person making the statement.

Intriguing, do you have a newsletter or podcast that I can listen to.

Containing thoughtful topics like, my quest for outrage. And putting myself in the dragons lair of things I hate to give me material to feed my outrage.

Its friday, relax.

Additionally your hashtag is ironic.

I think you need to chill out, my comments couldn’t be any milder or fairer.

Ha lol,

I've read them. You seem unnecessarily angry.

It's sunny too. Maybe a walk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,333 ✭✭✭✭briany

That's the stupid tired retort Internet snipes always use. They write pages of bile and then play they victim when someone mentions they're being a c-u-n-t.

That means they're behaving in the same way as those whom they're criticising. How so?

I think its a silly argument. It's a matter of whether you can consider what a person is saying on its own merit, or you take in the extraneous information, like accent, class etc, to judge what they're saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Would be hard to take Brendan O’Carroll seriously if he came out to talk about child abuse in Ireland while dressed, and talking, like Mrs Brown.

Blind Boy keeping the mask on is fine but, when it comes to something serious like his association with Brand, and why he disassociated with him, he should use his own voice.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis