Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I don't have any problem with it, others do and I'm guessing because people who desire attention in media normally have to forgo a level of privacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,795 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...so famous people automatically forego their right of privacy for simply being?

Outspoken people in public life are expected to forgo a level of privacy. Indeed he was seeking fame and attention at the start of his career for a long time. It's just the way it is.

who exactly expects this? i certainly dont, all humans deserve the right of privacy, no matter who or what you are.....

In the minds of many, of course! Gossip magazines and columns aren't big business because people like their hidden shames to be public, it's because if you desire attention in a public sphere professionally, don't be surprised if you get more than you bargained for.

Millions upon millions, possibly billions, of people who aren't you.

jesus theres some serious mindboggling stuff going on here! yes, sh1t sells, that doesnt mean we should simply buy into it, all humans deserve the respect of privacy

So what's mind boggling exactly? I never said he didn't deserve privacy, the mask and voice don't bother me at all. However as other posters have mentioned, I can see their point of view when he is trying to speak about a serious topic. I also understand we don't live in a perfect world and most people "buy into it", so be expected to have your anonymity scrutinised.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,528 ✭✭✭✭briany

Happily for Blindboy, the audience he has cultivated lies mostly outside the cohort who read OK! Magazine or watch TMZ. He flirted with that level of fame during the Horse Outside days, but decided that he didn't want that audience. He's gotten on fine since then in terms of being both publicly-known but not having his life pried into. Also doesn't hurt that, from I gather listening to the podcast, his everyday life is very routine.

do they really, are we talking facts here or alternative facts?

yea his approach is certainly unusual, but shur hes autistic, and most arent, so of course its going to be, but theres actually nothing wrong with being different, the world needs different, but again, privacy should be protected for all, equally, none of us have the right to disrespect this right for all

...and routine is key to maintaining comfortable levels of anxiety.....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,336 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Interesting. I can not get my head into that head space but interesting none the less. It seems to be a personal issue you have with fake voices.

For me I can not see the difference. I can not see why I would have an issue with one thing and not the other. Why a mask would be no issue, but a false voice would.

To put it another way, which might better explain why I do not have the same issue...... for me a fake voice is just a "mask" on the voice. So why would I have no issue with a physical mask on a face, but have an issue with a mask on a voice? It is all still a mask.

In a way most, if not every single, media personality is wearing a "mask". Some more visible than others. But a stage personal or public persona is still a "mask" of sorts. It is a necessary divide between their public self and their true private self. In fact some might argue that we all wear a mask of sorts in life even when we are down the pub with our mates. Who really sees the true us ever, without passing through some kind of mask or filter?

So conceptually to me a mask is a mask is a mask. So if I had an issue with one kind of mask.... like a mask on a voice.... and no others.... I would be introspecting that intellectual inconsistency in myself rather than the person donning the mask.

That said though, unless his stories are complete lies.... I find it interesting that he mentioned once that he was identified in public by his voice. If this is true (who knows if it is, but I have been granting a lot of things as true on this thread to people who have refused to cite their sources so why stop now :-P) then I wonder just how different his real voice and stage voice actually are.

I quickly googled the mask issue as I still know much less about the guy than many people here seem to. But I read that he does get a good "return" on plastic masks he rescued from land fill. But actually in fact more recently he had 2 or 3 linen masks made by a fan and uses them most often. They look the same as the original masks but are in fact probably a lot more comfortable to wear :) and they likely make less noise for when he is doing more sound driven things like his weekly live music on twitch (which I have yet to watch).

It is interesting you view it as a "choice". I guess pedantically it is, you are right. But a lot of artists discuss how it really is not a choice for them. It is their very identity and who they are. Van Morrison for example has spoken many times about his feeling that (paraphrased) "A writer has to write, a singer has to sing, a performer has to perform".

He is also an intensely shy and private man, but he has an innate need to get up on stage and perform his craft. And his self identity tanks, and his depression soars, when he can not perform. And I have seen many artists of many genres express similar over the years.

Plus one thing about being autistic is that it can deepen singular focus on things. So if he has a drive to perform, then his autism might deepen that drive.

So I can well understand that conflict inside a person who on one side is intensely private, awkward and shy..... but on the other side is driven to perform and express themselves through one or more art forms. And if a "mask" allows someone to do the latter and reduce the former..... then more power to them. I do not see the issue. And as I said to emmet earlier.... I somewhat suspect there is not an issue and it is manufactured by those who have it.

And as I said before in the thread.... on a few of the interviews he has done other celebrities have also expressed a jealousy of the super power of anonymity the mask gives him. They kinda wish they had the same thing too.

Interesting for me is the people who not only have an issue with the masking.... but feel the need to unmask. Someone earlier in the thread posted, for no reason that I can see, a picture of the guy without the mask. A move that seems to say nothing about anything except the kind of person the poster themselves are. It certainly added nothing at all to the thread, nor was it a response to anything actually said on the thread.

I find myself wondering what kind of person does that, what their motivations are, and what doing it actually made them feel. An interesting psychology.

Also interesting to me that you can not have an opinion on the guy without being accused of being EITHER some kind of acolyte or... more comically.... of being the guy himself :) The latter always gives me a laugh in it's stupidity but also in it's inevitability. SEems to happen at least once on every discussion about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If I want to listen to somebody talk and advise about cancer I’ll listen to an oncologist.

if I want to listen to someone talk about orthopaedic issues, I’ll listen to a physiotherapist or orthopaedic doctor.

if I want to listen to someone talk about mental health, I’ll only listen to a psychologist or equivalently & suitably qualified person.

I won’t be listening to a talentless, snarky, entitled, condescending individual with a bag over his head and a few tears, who has hijacked a few hashtags and now by virtue of that fact thinks he’s Sigmund Freud.

Be like getting taught how to play darts by a fella with no arms.. crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

• Registered Users Posts: 10,526 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Was that when that weasel Paddy Cosgrave was offering rewards to any of his pirate flag “brigade” who could give him the details of users behind certain, pro-government, Twitter accounts?

One of them was accosted by a mica campaigner, at his place of work, about what he’d said online.

Cosgrave also “attacked” another account but that guy wasn’t having it. He went back at him with gusto. So it wasn’t all wins for the loons.

The tide is turning…

funnily enough, some academically based professionals are also full of sh1t and have been found to be completely wrong in their opinions eventually, its sometimes good to listen to as many opinions as possible on subject matters, to get a broader view, and to be wary of all of these opinions, respected opinions can truly be very very wrong

youtube expertise is not to be lauded on serious topics- be that mental health macroeconomics

we must accept that respected sources such as academia has major blind spots at times, it of course has provided major findings in most areas, including psychology, but it hasnt been the solution to everything, ive even had mental health professionals agree with me on this. field workers as such, can be far more knowledgeable, but we have placed academia on a pedestal, which is not good for any of us, it must be questioned, and other sources included in this questioning. media outlets such as youtube is just that, a platform to question, theres clearly a lot of sh1t on it, but there actually is very good sources on it for many different subject matters, including sound psychological information...

blindboy isnt an expert, what does that even mean! hes just simply a person who suffers from psychological issues, and is sharing his views and experiences on the subject matter, along side many others that also struggle with such issues...

anecdotes arent studies and they arent evidence and you mainly see them used on the internet by people who found a few things they agreed with anyway to kind of hint at in a fairly rambling answer that tends to not have much substance besides.

very often by the kind of poster that counsels ignoring experts to argue for fuzzy ideals

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

When you consider up to 50% of paediatric diagnosis in ireland is wrong, I’d be dubious following this absolute logic and faith in healthcare professionals. You presume that a person listening to Blindboy will basically just take everything he says as gospel and won’t do anymore research of their own.

That’s a pretty narrow minded view to take. I would of agreed with it when I was younger but decades of therapy, doctors, hospitals and support groups have given me the experience to spot the major flaw in this thinking. Maybe Blindboy will communicate good information to a particular audience who would otherwise not hear it?

A person who is struggling with an issue or working them out , even in public, can be just as helpful (or more) as a professional in the field. I’ve gotten as much poor/good, unhelpful or misguided advice from professionals as I have from support groups over the years. Blind boy can’t put people on medication that can nearly kill them or make them worse.

Ive had many doctors , many therapists/specialist and they all had good and bad elements along the way. The greatest “improvements” I’ve made to my mental health was actually a support group of normal people (non professionals) just talking about their experiences , struggles and what helped them improve their lives.

A person sharing their struggles can help others identify things about themselves that they either might not know or might not realise and most importantly you feel less alone. A non professional person discussing different topics, particularly with professionals as guests, can be a good way to communicate complicated topics.

Anybody who simply listens to blind boy and follows everything he says is vulnerable and in trouble with or without him. Nobody should rely on one source or even one professional , particularly if it’s not working. I prefer a network of professionals , support groups and some family/friends.

Granted I don’t listen to Blindboy but what exactly is he doing that’s seems to be so offensive to people?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I didn’t read that as the poster saying to ignore experts, I read it that there is more then one way to find help and experts aren’t the only source.

I work in financial advice and in one life assurance company they offer a “best doctors” benefit. Basically it’s a second opinion service for people who have been diagnosed (or misdiagnosed) and want professional second opinion. None of the “best doctors” that give this second opinion are based in ireland.

Some of the stories and statistics that this life office provide would have you doubting any diagnosis you receive! I myself have been misdiagnosed multiple times by doctors and in hospitals, but it’s not recorded anywhere because like most Irish I didn’t complain.

This idea that “professionals are king” is so naive , it probably kills many and ruins lives. They are most definitely an integral part of a persons journey to get well, but to put absolute faith in a piece of paper somebody studied is stupid. Life experience of others can be as powerful/helpful.

You can call it anecdotal evidence, I call it life experience professionally (I discuss certain elements with medical underwriters) and personally.

Ireland is so bad for mental health it’s not funny. Blindboy is actually helping fill a void that exists. If somebody gets nothing but Blindboy advice , while it’s sad on one level, it’s a reflection of how poor our society is with supporting people with mental health issues.

I could pretend that I don’t get the Blindboy criticism but I actually do get it. When I heard he was giving out advice like this I rolled my eyes and thought he should just stay in his lane and stop preaching. But the more I think of it, that’s just an ignorant ego thing because it’s nothing to do with what he is saying. It’s presuming he hasn’t got something to offer people because “he’s a comedian with a silly pseudo personality”.

Boards has an awful lot of self righteous know alls who focus on a person rather then what they say. I am as guilty at doing this as anybody else, but I guess maybe I’m just better at acknowledging it. I agree with wanderer poster, an awful lot of People do not enjoy hearing the unfiltered thoughts or truths of others and instead attack the individual rather then reflect on what is being said and why it affects them.

the vast vast majority are not. as they are qualified, experienced, regularly examined and audited.

i don’t think any healthcare professionals would advise people listening to as many people as possible regarding a problem you are having. Physical or mental health.

i just had a look at his Twitter, it’s nutsville. The guy has a thought in his head he can’t not tweet it, ramblings would be a kind description.

I’ll back professionals and experts every time.

flying to Spain later ? I want two suitably experienced and qualified pilots.

want my car fixed ? I want a suitably qualified mechanic

not a fella who.. ‘ says things on Twitter with a made up air of authority about those subjects ‘

...again, many qualified professionals have turned out to be wrong, including in the world of aviation in fact, but baring in mind, science and engineering has far more rigorous safety measures in place, in order to try prevent such disasters. the workings of our mind is extremely complex, we may never truly understand its workings in full, but we certainly are learning fast, but unfortunately, our health care systems have become physical health care biased, probably largely due to these complexities, and widescale ignoring of them, this now can be clearly seen. this approach is now leading to alternative voices to appear, some helpful, some seriously not, but i would call blindboy more helpful than not, even though i rarely listen to him

as someone who suffers from mental issues, i would highly recommend checking out many different avenues for a better understanding, including those that also suffer, and particular those that have the same or similar disorders, in which play a vital role in such outcomes

would you back professionals and experts, even when theres overwhelming evidence to support their ideas, beliefs, opinions etc etc are known to be wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

How long before he does a Russel Brand?

You are welcome to that opinion.

however my own quest for physical health was met and solved by healthcare professionals with tangible qualifications… degrees, licences and registrations to practice here and therefore auditable standards to meet. Doctors, physiotherapists et al…I never once googled, YouTube’d or listened to a podcast to sort it.

then there is… Blindboy.

not a psychologist, not a psychotherapist but actively engaging in offering direct advice on mental health.

says he would never position himself as an expert on the subject but it’s basically his career, he is contributing to, has contributed to various events, talks and podcasts, advising people. If he isn’t an expert why is he doing it ? More to do with his own ego, wellbeing and mental health I suspect.

ive been around people who listen to him and the influence that can bare, not positive, for anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,588 ✭✭✭Xander10