Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dispatches channel 4 expose **Read Opening Post before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,556 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Multiple posters have claimed it's a political hit job against him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The agency has now dropped him as well, not a good sign:

"Contacted on Saturday by the Guardian, Tavistock Wood said: “Russell Brand categorically and vehemently denied the allegation made in 2020, but we now believe we were horribly misled by him. TW has terminated all professional ties to Brand.”

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,371 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And cast aspersions as to the motives of C4 / The Times and the women involved.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,531 ✭✭✭Gusser09

In Ireland the legal age of consent is 17. So by our standards and laws he is a nonce. He would be considered a child abuser in ireland. Not the uk though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Plenty of those allegations turned out to be true. Weinstein, Cosby, Savillle to name a few.

The programme was very credible. The women making the serious allegations have nothing to gain from this. If they were just after a payday this would have come out years ago.

These crimes are hard to prove but the allegations are credible since they're coming from multiple unrelated sources.

Probably won't hurt Brand too much among his current followers though. Not the smartest types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,548 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Who exactly? I got asked a similar question earlier and answered it.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

Brand's agents must be in on the conspiracy too.

Alex Jones has now said it's a conspiracy against Brand. Then again he denied Sandy Hook happened. That seems to be the level of his defenders. Far right liars and frauds, genuinely evil ones at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,028 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

One rape and one 30 year old taking the virginity of a 16 yo should be enough for anybody to form a decent character assessment of brand

Does it apply to Jimmy Savile in your view? Savile was never convicted of anything, remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,232 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I made up my mind back in 2008 with the Andrew Sachs phone call

Quote from thread:

"It's strange that this hit piece is coming out now when the popularity of his political views is high, rather than several years ago during the metoo movement."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,640 ✭✭✭Xander10

Speaking about his prior sex addiction, he told Big Issue magazine: "I was having sex with different women three, four, five times a day. It was bacchanalian . In Ireland, nine in one evening."

At least one had the morals to say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I've never been a fan of Russel Brand. I originally found him to be loud and obnoxious and then he shifted to being some man-of-the-people intellectual who was challenging the mainstream using lots of big words and talking excitedly but never really saying anything ground-breaking. I haven't read any of his books or watched his material but what descriptions I've seen of it suggest its all style and no substance.

What is out in the open about his relationship with Katy Perry gives food for thought. He uploaded a picture of her without makeup without her permission. It might not sound like a big deal but it did upset her. That was the selfish way he'd behave with his wife. According to Wikipedia, the last time he spoke to her was a message to say he was getting a divorce. Sure, divorces aren't fun but it doesn't paint him in a great light.

There was all his revolution talk while he was living the life of riley, too. To me, he's always come across as insincere and thinks people will go along with him because he's a 'cheeky chappy'.

I read that article in the Times. If true, it's very bad for him. You can say the 16-year-old got into the relationship consensually but she was certainly upset about him shoving it into her mouth. Consent for one thing doesn't mean consent for everything, as seems to be the case with the one he allegedly raped. If that text exchange is true, its damning.

The video he posted just shows how he'll defend himself and there'll be plenty of lemmings who lap it up. They won't believe it if he's found guilty and a report on the BBC from his show last night suggests the crowd were engaging in mainstream media bashing.

His agency dropping him is bad news but they're also fucked if they've been sitting on this info for three years and are only acting now because this is coming out in the open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Disingenuous comment and not comparable, it's clear as day that Savile would have been convicted if still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

In fairness Andrew Sachs not speaking to his grand daughter for 8 years due to that incident is his own fault that he let upset and embarassment sop him from speaking to his grandchild.

Lets also remember the media which is now deciding to destroy Brand (and he fully deserves it if the accusations are true) were all for him and promoting him as this lovable rogue when he was making money for them.They were fine to indulge his behavior when he was popular in mainstream media , now that he isn't suddenly his behavior is a problem (when it should always have been seen as a problem) .

The reason there is going to be so much going to town on him now as that so many of the media fell for his cheeky chappy, lovable rogue act and liked him for it and in order to assuage their own guilt they have to go to town on him now.He was almost certainly particularly popular with the female demographic (based on the type of shows and movies he appeared in) but of course you won't hear that being admitted from now on.To anyone sensible gave all the indications of being a slimebag from day 1 and yet people decided to ignore this.

Post edited by Jack Daw on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭nachouser

And now the mirror uk, that well known lefty publication are coming down on the side that maybe he's a bit dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Andrew Sachs embarrassment and upset is a direct result of Russell Btand (and Johnathan Ross’s) actions.

I do agree that certain aspects of the media are going full circle on him.

I dint like the fact that RB threatened a woman that he’d get his kegal s onto her. Pure balance of power stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭purifol0

Ah now "These crimes are hard to prove but the allegations are credible since they're coming from multiple unrelated sources."

This is the big lie. Whenever this happens with a big name, police are always "encouraging other victims to come forward"

The problem is that they are saying instead of investigating whether or not an allegation is true, they have already decided it is, and so the woman will not have to answer any awkward questions. And then the claims come think and fast from all and sundry and since they were from decades ago, no one can defend against them.

A statute of limitations is notable by its absence.

But he wasn't convicted. Brand's defenders are using the "innocent until proven guilty" mantra to try and defend him. "Innocent until proven guilty" is a strictly legal term. And it's a very strict term, so if one is to apply it to Brand, it has to apply to Savile too.

Brand is only "innocent until proven guilty" in a strictly legal sense, for the moment.

But this term doesn't and shouldn't apply to what people think. People are entitled to draw their own conclusions about a person, and any person with any shred of morals or decency will have firmly drawn their own conclusions about Brand after last night's programme. As they would have many years ago about Savile when the allegations about him came into the public eye.

It would have been 16 here too if Shatter hadn't been ousted.

Yes, people can be selective based on politics, which is why you can be sure Laurence Fox wouldn't be yelling "he's innocent" if we were talking about Gary Lineker. It's stupid and vapid.

Brand was sexually inappropriate on BBC radio, it's on record - you can't expect people not to bring it into this discussion.

I love what John Peel did for music but I have to face up to the allegations. I love Roman Polanski's films, but it's likely he drugged and raped a minor, potentially making him a scumbag - so no, it's not always a matter of whether liking the accused or not.

The big lie would be denying there are huge numbers of actual victims of sexual assault out there who did not go to the police.

The big lie would be equating the number of successful prosecutions with the number that in fact occurred.

The number of victims who go to the police is a small percentage of overall actual victims, and the number of successful prosecutions even less.

The crimes are hard to prove because very often it comes down to one persons word against another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Examples of this always happening?

The first 10 mins of the documentary, in particular, are extremely damaging to Brand. The allegation is unambiguous, she went to rape treatment facility, text messages from Brand apologising. Enough evidence there for serious questions to be asked. Definitely credible in my opinion.

There is a massive difference between his sexist bullying behavior which was tolerated but maybe never became an actual crime and these allegations.

Weinstein was carrying out assaults for years so was Savillle. Their power kept them safe. Brand could bep in serious trouble.

Is it?

The allegations were ignored again and again until championed by the media.

"North Yorkshire Police has previously admitted that they missed opportunities to look into allegations against both Savile and Jaconelli while they were alive."

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-york-north-yorkshire-33428170.amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Do people really believe that Channel 4, and The Sunday Times want to give Brand millions in damages, through making up stories about him. There's a lot of simply minds out there if they believe that.

The credibility issue is twofold, painting him as a comically bad guy - use of scary music, screens of text fading in and out. A lack of evidence being classed as proof of wrongdoing ("we asked the bbc and channel 4 to send us heaps of smoking gun evidence - they didnt. This is proof!!!").

The Simpsons parodied this in the 90's FFS. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-vuVjiF8Jk

Again all accusers were anonymous, played by actors, none went to the police and there is no disclaimer that no money was exchanged for their testimony.

Frankly thats not good enough, but it doesnt have to be; the damage is already done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭nachouser

I'm sure you'd all be happy enough if your 16 year old daughter was picked up from school in a taxi and delivered to a 31 year old man. Which is literally what happened. Defend that.

Post edited by nachouser on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,273 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Yes, people (his numerous defenders) are too focussed in on the strictly legalese aspect. The accusation is as much that he is just as much a creep, emotional abuser, bully, manipulator, sexual predator etc as a sex offender in the purely legal sense. Channel 4 and the Times can certainly argue the case that it is in the public interest for this to be made known about him.

You haven't refuted anything I've said.

In fact you've made your bias clear for all to see. You've equated successful prosecutions with an automatic guilt of the defendent, when the reality is that the person could well be innocent and in fact the charges themselves are false.

India is the false accusation capital of the world, 80% of cases there are proven to be false. However when that happens over here we have feminist groups doing what you just did. Claiming that if a prosecution is unsuccesful the defendant is still guilty. This is true even where the accuser is proven to have lied.

"The crimes are hard to prove"

Well yes, but mud is easy to sling. When Conor McGregor was falsely accused of rape literally everyone on social media declared him guilty with alacrity, as soon as the CCTV was available she suddenly changed her tune. Not one of those people apologised and as for his accuser...

Brand and practically no one can defend against anonymous allegations from a decade or more ago. These days our courts are so stacked against men you can have CCTV evidence exonerate you and the state will still press charges

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/i-m-not-the-same-sil-fox-comedian-seeks-damages-after-sex-assault-case-is-dismissed-1.4488854

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

He also showed classic grooming behaviour.

The account near the end in LA with 3 witnesses outside the house hearing her screams was pretty damning.

3 guys outside the house who knew something was wrong, did nothing. One of the guys apologising a couple of years later was a bit late.

Still, if 3 male witnesses kept slilent because of who Brand was, you can see why the victim kept quiet.

Love the "our systems are much better these days" responses from the corporates. "We've no record of any complaints from 15 years ago". Hmmm, that's because your systems were shite 15 years ago, and they had to be improved. If all the checks and balances were in place then, why the need to introduce better ones?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.