Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dispatches channel 4 expose **Read Opening Post before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭purifol0

Having difficulty doing that on mobile I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Brand is a bit like Joe Rogan, he is politically left wing but mostly hosts right wing guests and gives them an easy time. For example Brand hosted De Santis, the Critical Drinker, and Tucker Carlson in a row on his Rumble show, and pushed back very little on them.

I would say Brand may not remember some of his accusers if he slept with so many women but it would probably be unwise to release more on his side of the story. He probably wants the story to disappear from the newspapers as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,342 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Lad is innocent until proven otherwise. It would be interesting to know if the police have enough evidence or any evidence at all with which to press charges. Some of these accusations are very historic, dating back over seventeen years. Why have none of these women chosen to reveal their identity ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭thegame983

Innocent until proven guilty only applies to people I agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

He really should have pushed back harder against the Critical Drinker, I mean that guys is a real threat to society with his views that most of what Hollywood pumps out these days is crap, really dangerous to be giving him a platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭anewme

He was a controlling bully.

he used his position to harass and bully women at work.

He sexually harassed the weather lady, and abused her on air.

His comments about his own PA to Jimmy Saville were shocking,

they were afraid to leave women in the set with him.

Di you think people would be hurt emotionally, having been harassed and bullied in their place of work?

He bullied and embarrassed an elderly gentleman, Andrew Sachs, for his own gain. Andrew Sachs was very upset and embarrassed and did not speak to his grand daughter for 8 years.

A horrible narcissistic bully, that’s all he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

If those women had revealed their identites on the show last night how do you think the last 24 hours of the lifes and their families lifes would have gone with Russell Brand's lunatic fringe supporter base and those online edge lords who like to victim blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,370 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Legally / criminally but not reputationally. Credible claims have been aired. If Brand wants to vindicate his reputation he has the resources to do that in a civil court where the odds are weighted in his favour wrt to his innocence.

Can you think of some valid reasons why a victim of sexual assault opts to remains anonymous?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,520 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

He’s also a clown and an intellectual pygmy.

Is he peddling the conspiracy line that "we always said they'd ("The Establishment TM") come for me" or not?

Why do you think he chose this as his primary line of defence?

And if you faced the same allegations, would you choose this as your way out? It seems a bizarre choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Yes, you're right I actually forgot about the assault that she said he committed on her. That was another another actual criminal allegation against.

I hope he faces justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,342 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Alright, but the smell of money will always attract the morally bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I'm talking in general, Russel Brand is a sexual predator, and even to this day there are a long list of women throwing themselves at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭sliabh 1956

No I don't think Russell is Brand right wing but he is an out and out grifter i watched some of his videos, he never comes out directly but his so called dialogues are very much geared to those of the antivax ,globalists conspiracy theories. His incorrect views on the Dutch government forcefully taking land off farmers is a classic example of appealing to the Far Right who hold him in high regard . He is a shrewd business man who will do or say anything to make money . I listened back to the time himself and Jonathon Ross phoned up Andrew Sachs as a joke to mock his granddaughter how they ever got back on mainstream media says a lot about the British acceptance of scumbags under the guise of media talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭purifol0

Have to back up allegations with proof, or at the very least go to the police.

False allegations against rich celebs are a dime a dozen. Or are you one of those "believe women" types?

Last nights program lacked credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,370 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Oh so you are familiar with Brand and his social media 'influencer' defenders.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

How did it lack credibility?

Do you not believe Daniel Sloss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Russel Brand will take Channel 4 and The Sunday Times to court and allow all the facts to be laid bare , he will then be awards millions of pounds in damages if he's innocent. If he's guilty he'll start arranging millions of pounds in payoffs to victims and do everything in his power to avoid court, lets see what path he'll take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,556 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

There's plenty of contemporary evidence (therapy records, rape crisis clinic, friends they told at the time) and he's always free to go after both media outlets if they're untrue. However I'd suspect if nobody pursues charges, he'll just claim a conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I think his video showed what path he’s going to take.

The conspiracy one.

The fact this was published indicates tto me he’s not going ti take them on in Court, he will appeal to the tin foil hat brigade fir support.

I also think the floodgates are going to open on this one. This is not going to end with 4 or 5 people being impacted by his behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,547 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

How many people are actually defending him here?

Glazers Out!

Brand won't go to court as it will come out that he is guilty. If he is innocent would have shown the evidence he said he would. Evidence he claimed backs his innocence.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Clearly you haven’t paid any attention to Russell Brand over the last number of years.

Or they are defending Brand at all costs like a typical Brand supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

By your rationale all investigative journalism is "trial by media". Just be honest and say you don't like the idea of journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

He was given 8 days to prepare a response. That's plenty of time. He refused.

Imo the political spectrum is a circle. The further left and further right people go, they ultimately meet. Summed up by the closing lines of Animal Farm.

Brand was an agent provocateur as a YouTuber early on. I remember one time he went on a dreadful rant about a black dude being "self loathing" for not agreeing with everything he was "supposed to agree with" as a black man. He was toxic.

Then he got clean, embraced Eastern spiritualism, natural as much as possible instead of the man-made. Fecking fair play - I rate all that. But he seems to be someone who feels the need to embrace "rebellious", controversial ideas, even if they come from an initially innocuous place. I don't think he chose his next path for any strategic, pragmatic reasons - I think he definitely believes it. And I think concerns about what we're eating and drinking can be valid (for example I've given up bread, and the benefits have been amazing) but he notches it up to 11, and this appeals to a crowd that tends to be to the right politically, but not always... however there comes a point where it's hard to differentiate between the two.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Reading he played a show in Dublin back that time and said he wanted to shag many women that night and was going to select 12 women out of the crowd to come backstage with him after the gig for that purpose.

after the gig he picked out 12 women and 10 of them agreed to go backstage with him ??

Didnt think Irish women would be that keen to shag a celebrity??