Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

Haha my bad so. It also sounds like I didn't miss much of a game.

Still a very strange set up not to be able to watch abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭jmcc

The rights were probably sold to a UK broadcaster and it may have been on one of the UK channels. As for the RTE Player, that's a disaster story in itself.

Regards...jmcc

It was on RTE 2 also, I think, not that I watched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,697 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

I can't remember the last time they didn't publish one. It certainly must be well over 100 days ago?

Whats worse is that very few of them said anything interesting and even fewer criticise him. They're mostly puff pieces. Have they no shame?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

and none of them asking about the 150k any more, like it never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,213 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

And usually just the fluff piece takes a paragraph or two then 20 paragraphs reciting everything that has happened - copy paste every article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,772 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

You need a VPN player that works with TV players like RTÉ & Virgin Media…

HolaVPN was the one that worked for me..

I was able to watch the All Ireland Final back in July on my phone through the VPN while in Lithuania… I was then able to cast it from the phone onto a 55” TV and the picture was excellent…

IMG_3216.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Karppi

You're busted! That's Meghan's panama hat hanging in the lobby, isn't it?!😁😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,772 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,703 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Good interview with Patrick Kielty in Sunday Business Post today- some great responses to questions - I’m really looking forward to him making a success of TLLS- I think he’ll be a breath of fresh air tbh

Interesting times - it won’t impact TLLS in quite the same way as you could count the number of A listers over a season on one hand but still- it might encourage creativity and innovation as a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭KevRossi

If Norton wants A-listers then surely our very own Ryan Tubridy is available.

I mean if he can fit the time in, in between his podcasts, writing a comic and going to London to meet the insatiable demands of his UK fanbase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Woodie40

A breath of fresh air? It’s on RTE so all the usual goons will be lined up to continue the propaganda.

Let that shower of cronies survive on advertising and cancel the licence fee.

Having two bites of the cherry for too long has led to this debacle and of course, jobs for the boys, family, freebies. Why should we pay for their lavish lifestyle. Enough.

Kielty was interviewed by Meeeriam this morning, comes across as a guy without notions about himself. I particularly liked that he said things could go wrong, but he’d try and keep humour in the show. He seems to have a grip on what can be best about the LLS, and I feel he will make it appear more spontaneous, maybe a bit more like back in Gaybo’s time. I liked when he quoted his mother up in County Down, when it might be suggested she’s proud of her son, her response would be “which of my 3 sons are you talking about?” He’s making sure to let us know ego and vanity are little part of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

I have high hopes for Kielty. If he's allowed creative input, he'll make the LLS at very least worth the odd watch. Even with poor guest lineups, he'll make a fist of it I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Heard him interviewed earlier. Thought be was bigging the show up a deal more that it is in reality now - the best live chat show in the world etc.

The LLS is increasingly irrelevant to anyone under 50. It's in the death throes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

No loafing Oaf no ideas who this McSavage guy was until I READ the article.

I honestly can’t disagree with a word that you’ve written - I’ll still give him a decent chance though to make a go of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,102 ✭✭✭yagan

I don't think Kielty will be a seat filler like Kenny and Tubridy were.

He made his name on the comedy circuit so knows the show is the thing, not him. He'll be conscious of numb bums on seats and at home, and I reckon the shortened 90 min length is his idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Had to read that a couple of times to realise PK is Patrick Kielty and not Pa Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,090 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The LL is a dying format, the scheduled tv talk show, moreso when it's the merry go round of RTE canteen regulars and nobodies outside of this island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,081 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Ads on the radio for the Willy Wonka musical coming in a few months.

Noel Kelly needs to work fast and block book Croke park as direct competition - “Toyman - the musical” starring none other than the “beloved by all” Ryan Tubridy.

I keep seeing it as Pat Kenny too, so I refer to him as Kielty for clarity. Don’t think Pat Kenny would be too keen to return to RTE to present LLS 🤣

That’s how he could make a comeback, starring as himself in his own musical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I doubt that too.

You didn't even reply to Loafing Oaf. That's the give away.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭madeiracake

In today's indo puff piece he has the vespa out of storage in the UK (how did it end up there?) and there is "strong speculation" he is going to the UK after his interview with Chris Evans.

It all looks very desperate.

Yeah, I'm not convinced, even of his total sincerity compared to any other presenters. Yesterday: "Kielty said yesterday in an interview with Miriam O'Callaghan that The Late Late was the show he had dreamed of presenting as a boy" - Nah, not buying that at ALL. 

In relation to the senior execs getting a 10% pay rise last year despite the financial troubles, per the Irish Independent: "Leo Varadkar has disagreed with this, saying: "I don't think they should, I don't believe so.” He argued that RTÉ, as a semi-State company, was entitled to set its own salaries.It came as the Taoiseach said he didn't think it was right for Government ministers to be trying to set pay levels in State-owned enterprises like RTÉ, saying: "We have said that before.”

RTÉ will require additional funding this year, but the Government will need to see "a reform plan or a new strategy from the board or from the DG”, he said."Any additional funding will be conditional on that. But it runs its own affairs,” Mr Varadkar added.

Now, I do agree that it would probably be wrong for Govt. to try to reverse the salaries directly. But if additional funding is conditional on a reform plan, I don't see why pressure can't be brought to bear on those highly paid execs to do the right thing and reverse their own pay increase voluntarily.

In fact, to be honest, they have quite the brass neck for not doing so without any prodding at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭jmcc

The sad thing about the Indo is that someone there thought that it was "news". It will obviously cheer up his fans if they read it.

Regards...jmcc

Fionnán Sheahan today saying, in relation to any chance that Patrick Kielty would be delighted to have RT on the LLS show,

"What a coup that would be. Tubridy is the most talked about public figure of the summer, with a personal and professional tale full of rollercoaster emotions of the journey from triumph to tribulation"

WTF.

Re the Late Late it needs to start later, a more intimate set, mix it up a bit more with the musicians, less PR lead, the kind of program someone who has gone out for a few drinks after work might turn on when they get home. The RT thing has got painful at this stage he needs less PR and fewer, photos with the likes of Piers Morgan an absolute idiot. NK comes across as intelligent, but if he is the one advising him at the moment, he is doing a poor job.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on