Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Correct. Besides Melvin aint wasting his time on someone like R anymore. It'll be Ed Sheeran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,666 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

All valid suggestions but would muse be on that list for them? Are there any female performers they’d do it for? Pink is always a massive live draw, she touring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭riddles

the obvious reason for the move is to avoid clashing with Coldplay - heck of a job now to find an act to validate his statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Can't wait to read reviews from weekend - I had expected it to be a good one but weather yesterday really brought out my jealous streak.

If anyone stayed in Silver Campsite, I'd be keen to hear experiences.

Was booked space decent and handy to get, or free for all like Eco. What was crowd like, amenities, noise etc. It will be there or Pink Moon next year for us if we go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Morning all. I hope ye had a great weekend, and the horrors aren't too bad. Get home safe and I await the reviews!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Aquals

Did anyone visit the Providencia area late at night? It was wild! At one point, we came across a wheelie bin on its side, we crawled in, and inside there was a room in which a girl was moving balls around on top of a candleabra. We spent a few bewildered minutes in there staring at the outrageous amount of detail on the walls before we left and made space for other dazed souls to enter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Because they didn't account for the strange post Sky Sports presenter popularity spike. Only a few months ago they barely filled the Olympia @ 1600 capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

It reads that they have moved it to "accommodate the schedule of a specific act", that can be read both ways but it is to accommodate Coldplay, and very doubtful an EP headliner. The amount of Festival Republic, promoter and Ticketmaster staff that will be needed on site for Croker for four nights and EP on same weekend is likely not possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Yeah all the talk of next year and who’s playing would love to see the “R” band and the mode playing. Maybe the Foos are in with a good shout although a mate of mine is hearing that a certain pair of Mancunian brothers could be sorting out their differences to get back together for a show next year ………..😱😱😱😱🤦🏻‍♂️!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭SachaJ

At least we're (hopefully) safe that it's not Coldplay headlining next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Phishwax

Not a hope it’s the Gallaghers anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bArgainAHERN

any loyalty codes for 2024?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,666 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭Hoboo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Muse indeed, their star has waned but can see them being one he’d chase.

All the female stars that immediately spring to mind are slightly beyond EP (Taylor Swift, Beyoncé, Rihanna, Adele, Madonna, etc). Please not Pink, that’d be one hell of a letdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭nc6000

Based on the crowd I've seen at EP over the last couple of years, I doubt much if them would be interested in the "R" band to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Unfortunately I get the feeling Melvin Benn hasn’t a bull’s notion of booking “quality” like Radiohead when he can get away with dross bookings ... so many examples on this year’s line up

Post edited by Beechwoodspark on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭endainoz

Radiohead would be unlikely at this point, I'd say Foos would be a decent shout for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭endainoz

They definitely did take that into account, that was the sole reason they were even booked for EP in the first place. Suprised with the giant crowd all the same, I knew they fill EA easily but didn't anticipate that!

A huge proportion of the crowd this weekend were over-35/40, effectively those who packed out the EA for Johnny Marr.

And don’t diss all the kids, a fair few of those were into the recent headliner sets by the Artic Monkeys, Strokes, Duran Duran, Tame Impala & Massive Attack. It’s a fest where Radiohead can headline alongside Hozier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Lady Gaga, Kanye West is making a new album. Would love that

Snarky Snark Snark

I stayed in silver in the self pitch, mixed thoughts, obvs better than the sites with the great unwashed, showers and loos were fine, they had just one coffee and breakfast type dock, that meant about an hours queue in the morning if you wanted that, not acceptable.

faily clean, handy entrance to main arena for wristband wearers via the back of terminus BUT the noise from the rave at night is **** horrific, I’ve had three of the worst nights sleep in my life in a row and that’s with silicon earplugs.

IMG_8297.jpeg IMG_8298.jpeg

De Danann crew - from left @Seathrun66 @Kepler21 @rubick @rubick @desk tidy and above @bodhrandude

@Reded came along just after this and great to meet her. @CoffeeImpala near the front with some pals of his, another lovely Boardsie.

A joy to have the many interesting chats with all you guys over the weekend. May you recover well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Ouch, that could be a deal breaker for me. Is it worse than noise in Eco campsite?

Pink Moon is so expensive, but there is no value on sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Snarky Snark Snark

Gaga is a good shout, West is an untouchable clown, whatever Seathrun might think of Pink (musically), she had him bang to rights before anyone else would admit it.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Shank Williams

Sad to see the crowd for Wolfe tones- real sign of how far EP has fallen- see they are bumping lm up attendance by another 5K next week- why not when you can sell out with the slop they had this year- I know there are still good bands but the garbage to quality ration is getting worse every year even accounting for fact I’m getting older

Snarky Snark Snark

Maybe not looking hard enough? I thought the line up was poor initially but my dance card wound up full for the weekend.

Wolf Tones was an opportunistic call by them, I think it was unwarranted BUT it put a trad’ish band in a big stage and got the numbers, as a bet it paid off spectacularly for them and could open the door for other less controversial outfits to get a bigger stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,585 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

the crowd weren't really going to 'see' the wolf tones though. i bet 99.999% of that crowd couldnt pick out a member of the WTs in a line up

the crowd were going to partake in a boozy singalong thats reproduced every weekend in pubs across the country. A singalong that is attractive to the generation that are 'hazy' about the history of the Irish struggle and the troubles on the island. One which is romanticised and inspires a sense of nationalism with tunes which are practically national anthems in some parts of the country.

they headlined a 12,000 festival in belfast a few years ago.. they are immensely popular to a certain cohort, and that cohort would be very much represented at EP.

not my kind of music, but i would have been there regardless as im sure it was great craic.

thats what EP has become. its no longer a 'boutique festival'