Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ire versus England - RTÉ 2 Saturday Aug 19th 17.30pm

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He did great, but I hope he doesn't see the pitch in any serious match. JOB should certainly be ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭sxt

Very average performance. Not a good sign. NZ would have scored 40- 50 points on a rudderless England team with a man down for 30 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭phog

NZ wouldn't have been a team of players playing their first match of the season so it is a bit irrelevant.

It's a comfortable win, I'm perfectly happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭TRC10

Joe McCarthy making a few people look a bit silly for the 2nd game in a row

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

Connacht guys all good. Earls centurion rewarded!

Murray is the only one today who doesn't deserve his likely spot

• Registered Users Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭letowski

Its going to be interesting now, he has made a good impression. If McCarthy goes on the plane, it would probably mean we bring either just 3 centres or 4 back-3 players (assuming we bring 9 front row forwards and 6 half backs). Because I think Ryan, Beirne, Hendo, Baird, POM, VDF, Doris, Conan, Prendergast will all travel. Unless McCarthy makes the plane over one of Hendo/Baird/Prendergast but I think Farrell will want to bring those three.

Ferris and Flannery keeping themselves in great shape.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I was trying to work out who has the bigger arms. Probably Flannery is just shading it?

Watching the Earls try replay. Super finish. Would you back Stockdale to get in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Enter thread....

Reads this comment...

Exit thread....never to return....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Agree. But Ferris bench the most! Remember him and Genia 2011.

Without being accused of being Mrs. Farrell, Andy is a horse at 48.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,878 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

View from the game at the final whistle.

Delighted the man got his deserved send off, topped off with a try. Whether he makes the squad is debatable, there are better players ahead of him, but no better people

Ross Byrne was commander in chief, orcastrating those line breaks early on, and a nice little reminder at the start of the game that he can make a line break at this level as well. I'd give him another, constant, 7/10.

Pendergast was very good. Absolutely not out off place say this level. Will be disappointed with the first strip, but by God did me make up for almost immediately with a strong turn over, and then was impactful in his carries from there on. He had to impress, and he did.

Aki showed again how competitive that midfield spot is, and Henshaw is absolutely not a shoe in at 12.

Sheahans darts let him down today, even in the warm up. Lots to work on. Hopefully he's injury is precautionary

I really wish we were as cunty in maul defence as England, we're a bit naive in attack after being called yet against for crossing, and in defence we hardly ever throw that "itoje" in onto the receiver. I really hope we work on that

As an overall, we really didn't show too much more beyond what we already have.

England are actually dog shite, and the idea of that team making a RWC QF is embarrassing

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭MaddChris

Expected nothing more, nothing less from a pre-tournament game.

Plenty of rust but good flashes of stuff. Few penalties but all silly stuff, nothing cynical (the scrum was a joke, that ref is too slow) The lineout is really the only concern I would have, it was poor today.

Ryan nearly always plays much better when he's not captain, that first half case in point, almost like there's less weighing on him. Byrne's place kicking and in-field kicking was terrible, okay defensively and in attack but felt like you could replace him with any out-half, offered zero attacking threat himself. He's passing for the most part was on the mark apart from that throw to no one.

Bundee and Hansen had great games I thought, Keenan too in the little ball he saw. JGP had a quiet game but solid. As others have said, Prendegast had a very shaky first 20 minutes but improved the rest of the game.

You can definatley see we're holding back in the types of moves run off the lineout and scrum, keeping lots of stuff in the pocket for the games that matter.

England can't be happy with that performance.

Ferris is damn right, how the feck are professional players STILL tackling high?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,260 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Prendergast would have been Motm, but for Mack Hansen.

I think McCarthy and he are quite similar in that there's a looseness in their game and they'll make the odd error. But it'll be made up for with a huge play soon after. Both young forwards made some massive hits today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Decent performance. We didn't show our hand, no tricks we might have up our sleeve and gave pretty much the first 15 a run out. It can only get better. No injuries worth talking about, hopefully Sheehan is OK but didn't look too bad and he running off.

Delighted for Earls. The guy is a warrior and gives it his all. He's as honest as they come. Hopefully he makes the plane. I'd still back him to finish off a half-chance.

Prendergast was excellent after a poor start. Which makes it even better.

Still don't really think he's much of an 8 at this level, but he's shown he is the right call as the last backrow to cover across it I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Agreed. I'd be quiet happy with him wearing the 20 shirt if needed.

Really poor RTE sports journalism for Andy Farrell's post match interview

Andy started by paying tribute to Keith Earls and how delighted he was for him to score

And then is asked

" He's making sure you can't leave him off the plane , isn't he? "

Absolutely clueless. I felt embarrassed for Andy Farrell having to answer such a question

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

I think he fits the Jordi Murphy type player. He fills a void but doesn't lift trees

Jennifer Malone getting into Earl's interview and Ferris's punditry.

Lovely stuff.

Between that and asking him about the Vunipola red card (given the context with his son) it wasn’t an easy watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Apart from sheehan and conan neither of which seem overly serious we have come through todays preperations with a clean bill of health.

Ultimately thats whats most important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

That was a great result for Ireland today. Beating England was always in the mind of this Irish team. The performance though was not at the best with all of the errors that happened throughout the game.

We did have a lot of good stuff to see in it.

Lowe, Hansen and Keenan were on fire for the vast majority of the game which was great to see. Earl's try for his 100th cap was wonderful stuff.

The Irish lineout is something that needs to be sorted out very quickly though. They are a key asset to our gameplay being in a much better state than functional.

It cannot be stated enough though that Ireland's injuries are few and far between after we played England. Although Sheehan is out for a little while with a precautionary check on his foot. It does show us really good signs that our lads in green have a really solid line-up as they head over to France in September.

England though were absolutely awful.

Their performance in the whole team was embarrassing. They didn't have any focus in the team at all. Borthwick's legacy in England so far has not the legs to match Eddie Jones era with the England team. It shows from Borthwick's pov how they have been performing so far. England have been rubbish throughout their warm up campaign as they look ahead to France in September. With a poor campaign in the 6N from a few months back; they are not at the races at all. They really are falling behind in their performance as a team in these warm up games.

Vunipola's red card with his tackle against Andrew Porter really sealed his fate and the fate of the England teams chances in the WC this year. The decision from World Rugby about handing over the red card to him did not need to take that much time in being made final. When you look at the replays of the tackle against Porter. There is no question there that it is a straight red. Why did it take so long in making a decision at this point in the game while the replays on the tackle gave them the most easiest answers from the naked eye?

Referees in the past would not have had any issue when deciding about whether red cards should be put out for players or not if the players had made a huge error of judgment against the opposing side in the game. It's a big reason why these bunker decisions from World Rugby show a lot of weaknesses and vulnerability in their intent in how they ultimately make a good decision for the big international rugby games in future. The Rugby WC in France is going to be a big test for them to see if they succeed or become a big failure.

And if it does become a failure in that tournament? Where do these bunker reviews go from here? It would be a hugely stupid move if they were still in place without any changes made for the 6N next year.

The on-field decision on Vunipola was ridiculously quick, and then the right decision was made in the bunker while the game kept going. I fail to see the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Yes. Stockdale would have scored that too. I don't think any of Ireland's backs would have failed to score in that situation.

Delighted to see Earls score on his 100th cap. I remember Sexton doing the same. It is the stuff of dreams for them, no doubt!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,451 ✭✭✭Wegians89

I really think you could see him at 6 post World Cup, lots of similarities to POM

I feel a bit for Steve Borthwick. He probably isn't up to it at test level, but the issues in this England team goes far beyond him.

What Eddie Jones presided over since 2021 has been disastrous for English rugby. They finished 5th and 3rd in 21 and 22, but performances were getting worse all the time.

Jones claimed he wanted his entire 15 to look comfortable on the ball and be able to play from anywhere. But all that led to was players looking confused as to what their role in the side was. Attack became stilted and discipline slipped.

That rubbish about holding stuff back for the World Cup was exposed for the guff it clearly is.

I'd agree with this. South Africa scored 50 points against Wales, a team that beat England comfortably the week before

Ireland will never have a squad as deep as NZ /SA/France/England needed to win a World cup

Southern hemisphere teams mojo is to peak for World cups. Ireland's remit is to peak every year and win

The english problems stem from the malaise in their league and the systems in place that are supposed to produce players.

The players are just not coming through for them, their squad has barely anyone world class and in reality itoje is the closest to it where he doesnt even look like his former self, and there isnt anyone that has come through in the last 4 years the way that keenan, dorris, porter, jgp, hansen, beirne and a few other have come into the side.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭Shehal

You do realise no-one is listening to you or taking you seriously? Guff like this is why.

I'd back almost any international wing to score from there. His theatrics were not actually necessary (though he deserves to do whatever he wants).

Half convinced that Sxt and Noc are the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭ersatz

Decent performance with a few caveats. I would worry a little about RB considering SAs defensive linespeed against Wales today. I imagine SA will be even more accurate when it comes to us in the WC and they are capable of strangling moves at birth with their speed. RB looked a bit ponderous and very predictable today. As ever you'd worry about his game being primed for a dominant pack and time on the ball. His kicking off the tee wasn't up to the mark either. The skills and vision of our back three made our backs look really good today and saved a lot of half back blushes. Maybe blowing off cobwebs but seeing the scores put on England and Wales by other top teams begs the question. That said Ireland's game is premised on being hard to score against and England had very little joy in that department today.

Which part is guff? That Ireland won't have the resources as NZ, SA, FR, EN to win a world cup?

All of it ;)

Btw I'm very sorry if I have you the impression that this was some sort of discussion, it's not/

You obviously didn't watch that Wales game then, it was no more a Welsh them then if it was Ospreys v South Africa, barely a starting Welsh XV to be seen verses a stacked SA side.

Also maybe don't quote someone trying the make a point about the Ireland team as a whole based on them watching 40 minutes of rugby where most of the the lads haven't played for 89 days 😉

I agree that the problems at club level are affecting the test side. The Premiership isn't a top quality league at the minute. And the financial issues are a a concern for every player in the league.

But they should still be able to cobble together a decent 23. Going back to Vunipola and Sinkler is a huge concern.

A better outcome than I anticipated. Lineout a concern but we've turned that around quickly enough before.

Pack a solid 7 / 10.

Positioning between back 5 in the final 30 was interesting with Beirne and Prendergasts versatility playing a part. Big Joe had a lovely cameo - doing a lot of the good stuff he has been doing, without the discipline issues.

JGP / Byrne worked nicely from the off but you'd expect halves who have trained and played as extensively should be settled from the outset. Saw a lot of criticism of Byrne in particular and frankly I'd say he furthered his case as backup. Nothing special, but we gave England absolutely no platform and kept them pinned and under pressure. England had 3 points when Ross Byrne went off with his two try assists.

Centres went fine in a pretty one dimension attacking platform. All the talk will be Earl's try but that was some pass from Aki (possibly a hint forward).

Back 3 look excellent and it's rare for Ireland but we have one of the best back three units going into the tournament.

Bench added impact, would have been nice if we were a bit more ruthless but not at the cost of injuries and hopefully none of the knocks today are consequential.

England are in real trouble. They didn't threaten Ireland at all and it was an unforced error that gifted them their score. They've very little urgency, don't really threaten ball in hand and if they're going to kick that much they really need to work on their chase and regather.

The farce of the World Cup draw is deepening every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Rugbymad2020

Stacked SA side,u talking out ur arse.no Am,eben,look,pollard,faf,

At full time literally my first thought was that England have plenty of test level talent but just not a test level coach.

It's not controversial to say that NZ, SA, FR, EN have better resources to win a world cup. Because it's a fact. They've all won world cups..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

le Roux, Kriel, de Alende, Kolbe, Steph du Toit, Kolisi, Snyman, Marx, Kitshoff

Bench:Mostert,Vermeulen,Willemse

You're right, all mediocre back-benchers

My bad. France were literally robbed of a world cup. Some of the most embarrassing officiating in world cup history. Do you agree?

Its worse than billy and sinkler.

Dan coles is still there. Care and youngs are whats left for playing 9 and you wouldnt say vanporterfelt is a massive loss.

There are to many members of that english side that have way way way too much milage on the clock. The likes of courtney lawes, jamie george, tuilagi are elderly veterans and they are supposed to be carrying this side.

The currys are underhill are long term injury problems and probably being missed a massive amount, sam simmonds never really got a look in and didnt do much when he did, the likes of him and dombrandt were big fish in a small pond.

Dombrandt will probably have to come in once billy gets suspended and its possibly now that borthwick will have to go cap in hand to zack mercer who hasnt been part of their training recently.

Marcus smidth is the most exciting player to come through for them and hes not anywhere near established.

Steward at 15 is very average but nobody is putting him under pressure for his place.

If i was an english fan i would be seriously tempering my ambitions for the next few seasons because a rebuild is needed and the resources dont look to be there.