Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭TRC10

If we don't play well on Saturday the worry will be that we have peaked too early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,007 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

I think you'll be a little disappointed. We will probably see a relatively strong Irish team but we won't start showing a whole load of variation in attack this early. It will be the same pods used consistently I think. I doubt you are going to see us slice them open at will.

I was really happy with how we looked physically against Italy so I'm just hoping for a continuation of that. It's all about minutes into the legs at this point and getting a decent hit out.

Post edited by All_in_Flynn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

But I thought the narrative was we peaked in NZL, or was that France in the 6N?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

No they won’t be disappointed, they will absolutely revel in it. They hate Ireland, in fact I’m pretty sure they hate rugby. So if we do beat England but not by more than 15 points, they will have the inbuilt excuse they are developing to moan about it.

About a 30 point margin. If we play at our best I think that's very achievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

We’ll be far from our best but we should still win.

I expect more of what we saw against Italy, trying new combinations and putting lads outside their comfort zones.

Don’t think we’ll see many pods or moves outside some basic stuff but I think we’ll take them on in the forwards and try out muscle them.

These matches are unexciting and sour affairs , anyone thinking we’ll see full flowing rugby will be sadly disappointed.

Just want to come through without injuries.

So just equalling our biggest ever win. And anything less and we won’t be serious World Cup contenders?

Not for me, Clive.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,353 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

The result of the game will be completely meaningless.

Once we get out of it with no serious injuries or red cards, and fine tune some things, that's all that matters

Post edited by sydthebeat on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭flatface

I think you have peaked too early. I would recommend you do some mid week expectation training sessions, build up your positivity muscles, and aim for peak stomach churning, nail biting enthusiasm for the knockout rounds.

Why?

France put 50 on them in the 6N. NZ put 50 on Argentina (a better side than England) a few weeks ago. They put 50 on us in the lead up to the last World Cup. How is it realistic for them to do it to us, but unrealistic for us to do it to them?

If we're going to win a World Cup we should be annihilating this England side. They're awful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The difference between a 20 point win and a 40 point win is often just happenstance and whether heads drop or things start compounding about going awry. A 20 point win is still a hammering on the international stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

We are a number of weeks before the big game. Going out looking for a huge score and risking injuries is pointless.

Go out, play our game, hope for no injuries and see if you win at end of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

We beat Wales twice in the warm up games and Wales were three points from the 2019 final. The warm up games are largely meaningless, and the narrative around the England loss in 2019 is completely blown out of proportion. Ireland were goosed long before that. We should beat England on Saturday, but this notion of demanding a hammering and nothing less than that being acceptable is silly. We'll give very little away but look for cohesion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭redmca2

Interesting that both teams will be missing their respective Captains / Number 10s

It’s not unrealistic. It’s entirely possible.

But it doesn’t then follow that if we don’t, we’re suddenly not serious RWC contenders.

That’s simply overstating things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,895 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Not a hope in hell Sexton would have been playing this game regardless of any bans.

Any of the other 3 "contenders" would comprehensively dispatch this England team. We should be doing the same. If we labour to a victory like we did in the 6N, questions will be asked as to whether we're really one of the big dogs or whether we peaked too early while other teams were preparing for the WC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,568 ✭✭✭✭phog

What's the point in anyone "asking questions" before the tournament kicks off.

Let's wait and see how we get on in the real games. If we fail to land a punch there, then we can ask the questions.

Hammering England in a pre-tournament match is absolutely useless in the overall scheme of things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

We'd thought the French would dispatch Scotland! Hmmm

Any of the other 3 "contenders" would comprehensively dispatch this England team.

You can claim this. But you can’t know that with any certainty.

But imo, you’re putting too much emphasis on what is a solitary warm-up game.

A 15-20 point win won’t rule us out as being serious contenders any more than a 30 point win means we’re champions elect.

After the 1st Test in NZ, you were saying this team was mentally weak. They responded.

In the 6N, you were saying anything but a Grand Slam was a failure. They delivered. (And even now, it doesn’t seem good enough for you, as they only “laboured to a win” vs England).

Why would you not back them to respond this time?

In any case, dismissing the body of work this team has put together because of a, what, 15 point win in a warm-up game? It’s hugely overstating things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,370 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

England were very poor, but they did show a lot of heart to mount a comeback and actually win despite being down to 12 men at one stage.

Thought they had a promising attacking shape that was let down by handling errors. They look like a team with zero confidence moreso than one with bad players.

Ireland at their best are better by a decent margin. But we're going to be starting a lot of players for the first time this season. England will be on their third game and I imagine Borthwick will go strong too. They'll raise their game against us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I thought the English pack were pretty good. It has to be viewed in the context of the opposition but normally the Welsh pack can give them problems. Aside from the scrum, they physically dominated them and surely would have won by a comfortable distance if they didn't encounter so many disciplinary issues. It's incredible to think that a team that played almost 6 minutes of the second half with 12 men, still managed to have 73% territory in that half.

Farrell being out may be a blessing in disguise for them. He has had a poor year overall by his standards and Ford looked by far the most competent outhalf of the three options when he came on. He played sensible stuff and worked well with his pack. England will be one dimensional with their pack and Ford at 10 but that would be enough for them to get their sh*t together and be a functioning team in the RWC.

Discipline is a massive issue though. You can't have three yellow cards and a red card in a game and expect to win unless you're facing an incompetent opposition team. On another day, Adams' head collides with the ground and Steward is given a red card too. That was every bit as stupid as Farrell's hit. He looked up and clearly saw Adams jumping into the air and didn't attempt to pull out whatsoever.

It will be interesting to see what team they put out against Ireland. A few tweaks to the pack but I think it will largely remain the same. Ford and Youngs potentially to start at halfback and look to double down on their forward geared game.

Whilst it would be ideally a game plan for Keenan in a tournament fixture, it would probably be more beneficial to see someone else at full back for this game if Ford is the one looking to pepper the backfield.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Why would we "play our best" and provide all our opponents with lots of video analysis of our attacking shape and updated strike plays in a meaningless warm-up game 3 weeks before the tournament starts?

We'll play well , we'll win, but I doubt we'll see anything "new" at all.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

In other news - Looks like N'Tamack is out of the World Cup.

Reports saying he's done his ACL and will be out for a good while.

Huge loss for France if confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭typhoony

I'd say this game was always intended as the main prep for WC with a full starting team although I'd like to see Doris rested fully for the next games. I think Englanf will mix and match and if we get through without any injuries and play well I would hope that we give the wider squad gametime against Samoa. The south sea islanders can be reckless in tackles and we don't want any unnecessary injuries

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,574 ✭✭✭fitz

This is always the worry with warm up games. All I really want out of ours is to come through without any injuries or suspensions.

Feel bad for N'Tamack. Not as big a loss for France as Dupont would be, but it's still a serious one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,370 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Cyril Baille is out for 5-6 weeks now as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,060 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The England game is shaping up to be a lose lose for anyone trying to make a case for a last minute inclusion.

If they play and we hammer England, it'll just be because England are in a crisis and we should have been beating them anyway.

If they play poorly against England, they'll have 'blown their opportunity'

I hope Coombes gets a chance to start on Saturday. I hope he plays out of skin, but I fear that even if he has the game of his career, there's nothing he can possibly do to get himself on the plane of Conan's leg recovers enough to get him on the plane.

On the other side of the coin. Players who are already pretty much nailed on for the 33 man squad could play really poorly on Saturday and as long as we win by the smallest margin or they don't make some really glaring errors, the logic will be that their job is just to avoid suspension or injury and mind themselves physically

Ban billionaires