Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today FM Megathread Mod warning post #1 / #1401

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Dermot is leaving Today FM! 😲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Dave Moore on Today FM

Big move for Dermot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

Dave is going to keep going solo from August 28th. I wonder how different that will sound? Same features like Dave’s World and his bad jokes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Noooooooo. Dave is grand on his own but the show really misses Dermots comedy. Terrible news.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Will Cathal take more of a feature role in the show now, when Dermot took time off to do his tour I enjoyed the show as Sean and Cathal were featured more and added to the craic. The ensemble feel worked for D&D type show.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Wow even more over excitable Dave about Man Yoo, boy bands, best movies EVER, puppy dog over how much they give away on cash machine.....I can see an off button in the show's future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Yeah Dave is ok, but Dermot was the funny one.

I guess Sean, Cathal and Maria will feature more. They do add a bit of fun. Always liked Maria.

Will miss Say Stuff That Suits The Music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sean Cathal and Maria will all chip in plenty.

I like Maria a lot. Wish Dermot all the best and happy Dave is staying anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,599 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Yeah there's no way they aren't gonna have a drop off in listeners you'd think. Dave is an absolute dose on his own. Dermot just reins it all back in and is the actual funny one.

Sean’s Instagram says he produces Moncrieff on Newstalk now so he must also be gone

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Yeah he was just covering Maria's maternity leave.

The amount of Irish Louise Cantillon speaks is a big turn-off for me. She would be great for Raidio na Gaeltachta

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

It’s so strange to me how people get hung up on someone speaking Irish on an Irish radio station.

It really gives off a ‘moaning for the sake of moaning vibe’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,550 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Nothing wrong with the bit of Irish imo, we should encourage it if anything! Its her hoarse "I was on the lash all day yesterday" voice that grates on me at times.

Shame Dermot is off, but I think it was coming for a while. He took an extended break earlier this year for his "mindful" stuff so I'd say he's been planning this departure for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

This, exactly, on both counts. Imagine complaining about literally a cúpla focal on an Irish radio station... 🙄 And no mention of Cathal Minogue's learning Irish, or Is Linne an Domhan Anocht?

I'm a fan of Dave (well, both of them), but Dave + Maria + Cathal will be just as good, I think. Best of luck to Dermot!

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Dermot will defo pop in regularly as well I'd say. Himself and Dave are actual mates so if Dermot is free I wouldn't be least bit surpised if he rocked up.

Say Stuff That Suits the Music will definitely cameo again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭matrix mick

So the only reason that I might ever have tuned back into d&d is gone.

I'm actually happy because I don't think dave will last in that slot on his own. I would absolutely love if Anton Savage was brought back for the slot he should never have left in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭boogaloop

I agree. While I don't have anything against Dave, I'm not sure he'll last too long without Dermot. Even if Cathal & Maria join in, still a big big ask for Dave to essentially try & carry the show.

Part of me hopes I'm wrong, the other part wants Anton Savage back.

I feel sorry for Dave as I think he'd have been happy trucking away with Dermot forever more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,041 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Dermot will be missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

How will the fake laughing work when theres only one of them in the studio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

And? She adds a little cupla fucal in every so often. bit too much for me but does it really matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

I'd say every second time I check this thread I end up wondering why people even listen to the station.

What the problem with a few words in Irish every now and then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

In the Grand scheme of life, obviously not. In the listening to of radio, then I think people should be allowed to decide whether something is pleasant/annoying/etc. themselves tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Dannyman76

It was an excellent show, would love to see it return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,574 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,804 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I like Louise Cantillon, she's good craic, has an actual personality, she seems fairly sound and isn't trying too hard to be funny or relevant etc.

The music isn't great so I do end up switching back and forth although she does play the occasional banger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Muller1991

I actually think she is a well rounded presenter, Fits in well when covering for others. However the mixing of Irish and English can be a little bit annoying at times.

You do know that most Today FM presenters and any other radio presenter in any other station for the most part do not get to select the music so the Bangers are already there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,599 ✭✭✭✭flazio

People can, it's called changing the station. If enough listeners drop off, she gets the sack. If enough listeners stay and the cash machine texts keep coming in during her show, she stays.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Dannyman76

:l