If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It may have been a moment of quality, but it was against the run of play, with a debatable second hop.

As I said, wasn't worried at any time as a Dub, especially in the last 20 minutes as always felt Dublin had the measure of Kerry.

Composure, decision-making and shot selection are what separate the great forwards from the good forwards, and Dublin had the better forwards. Mannion is a far better player than Clifford and has proved that over the years, Clifford might yet do great things, but that is for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

The hop wasn't debatable.

Nobody in Ireland outside of Dublin would agree that Mannion is better than Clifford.

Clifford already has more All Stars and a POTY.

Mannion's a great player though. I thought he was a huge loss when he left the panel.

I think he's the best forward in Dublin. Much more consistent than Con.

Any Kerryman I ever met would say in response to that, put your medals on the table. I heard it for years about Anton O'Toole or Pat Spillane, Mullins or Jacko. I have had the same debate with Mayo supporters over the years about Cillian O'Connor, Clifford is just the latest great hope of those outside the Pale that want to see an end to Dublin winning.

Brogan, Mannion, Kilkenny, Connolly, Rock, O'Callaghan, all rank higher in my opinion than Clifford, not to mention true GOATs like Fenton, Cluxton and McCarthy.

Within Kerry football, Gooch, Maurice Fitz, Spillane, Liston, Power, Sheehy, Donaghy, all rank higher for me than Clifford. As I have said already, he has the potential to go on and do it, but........................

They wouldn't.

Lots of people consider Maurice Fitz the greatest. He has only 2 AIs and for the second one he was a sub.

He was part of a weak Kerry team for most of his career.

He was winning all stars while not even winning Munster.

I bet even if you asked Brogan and Rock, they would tell you Clifford is better than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭littlevillage

blanch152 are you still on the pints since Sunday? It's time to sober up and go home lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

Con could have hit 1-2/3 on another day. Spilled a couple balls which is unlike him. Costello and Kilkenny would always be good for a couple scores at least. Dublin not reliant on one/two forwards as someone usually steps up. We didn't play anyway near out potential but got the win which is number one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,233 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Just on your Ciaran Kilkenny point above - that he was not as mobile or explosive. Kilkenny never played explosive since what seems like minor I feel. His role was safe side to side passes the link man as a senior player.

There is a point on Kilkenny you would like to hear, he was coached by a Kerryman at Castleknock. Just randomly got talking to him ages ago in pub about GAA etc.

Anyway the Kerry fella said that as youngster Kilkenny was very one footed, but they worked on him to the extent that you would struggle to name his stronger foot now.

He was quizzing me which do I think is Kilkenny's stronger foot etc. Really proud at how they developed him etc. So that is yet another thing Kerry can take credit for - added to list of the Brogans, Mullins etc.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Cian O'Sullivan has two Kerry parents. Brogan and Fenton one each. Costello also. Johnny Sexton also.

I'm sure there's loads more. I'm sure also lots of Dublin players were coached or taught by Kerry people.

This article goes into more detail.

Kilkenny used to make runs into the channels, play a one-two fist pass around the D, and kick points off either foot.

He doesn't seem to do that anymore.

I don't mind anyway.

I'm with Jack McCaffrey when he said the most important metric is participation.

I think more focus should be put on the other counties. Promoting the game, improving counties so they can compete at an appropriate level.

Someone recently made the interesting point that the GAA are wasting Clifford.

He shouldn't be working as a teacher, he should be going around to schools and clubs promoting the game. I know this might not be possible as he has a child and partner and other commitments like training and gym work etc.

He's the first GAA superstar. We may not see his like again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

What are you on about saying he's the first GAA superstar?

I thought that the first GAA superstar (commercially) was Jayo on the billboards - As the advertisement used to go 'A minority in Dublin- a Dub with a Sam Maguire' - played in a few foreign codes as well. Soccer and Basketball. He was in Penny's adverts - all sorts.

Jayo even presented a kids tv show on RTE called - Rapid!

Or even years before that Pat Spillane was a 'global' superstar. Sure wasn't he in that telly programme superstars with the farmers tan on him

The 'Dart from Clontarf' - Jack McCaffery never did that!

It's a different world now with TikTok and social media.

Anyone from Dublin won't be loved outside Dublin anyway.

But Kerry people are loved everywhere.

Ah here, Clifford the first GAA superstar. Now that was funny.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

A great few days lads but time to get back to reality and do a bit of work tomorrow.

Anyone listen to Jack McCaffrey on the Sunday Game i watched it today and he said something like this 'we didn't come back to win more All Irelands for ourselves we did it to help the younger lads get over the line and to leave Dublin GAA in a good place and if people think we were a good team over the years you'd want to see the quality coming through'. I doubt he was saying it for the sake of it so good to hear there's some young quality there albeit i've no idea who these players are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭dobman88

Yeah, that comment frightened the fckin life out of me. He said it with such certainty and almost a kind of bullishness and I hate to think of whats coming through after 13 years of domination already.

Also his comment about when he walked back into the set up he knew they'd win the all Ireland. That's elite mentality.

It was a very impressive interview. The best of the night along with Paul Mannion. I can see how those words would frighten yourself but i had a smile as wide as the River Liffey and felt maybe the glory years are not coming to end just yet 😄

Noooo don't make me do work hahah I always wondered if Mayo won one would there just be lads going MIA for a month , losing jobs etc haha

My player of the year is Brian Fenton. What a great final he had too. Our best midfielder who even surpasses our other great Brian in midfield. And plenty of years left in him i hope. A rolls royce footballer.

Em there were letters that found their way to Pat Spillane - with no proper address on them

'That B0llocks,

Pat Spillane.

RTE'

--

I can remember him being highly amused by that when he mentioned it on TSG or wherever.

-

Kerry people don't even like some Kerry people -

Tomas O'Se had serious issues with Jack O'Connor in his first management stints as senior manager

Jack O'Connor even described himself as 'a truculent b0llocks' in his own autobiography.

-

The real county the Country 'loves' is Dublin. Most 'neutrals' 'love to hate' - Dublin.

By either laughing at Dublin when they underachieve, or begrudging Dublin's success when Dublin win.

I cannot think of any other county in Ireland where many 'neutrals' want to see Dublin lose.

Although, admittedly for the first time in a long time in the last days Final - many 'neutrals' were conflicted (the impression I got) they didn't know who they wanted to lose more. Most Cork people must have went for a long walk last Sunday for example...

Whenever Dublin are playing, the rest of Ireland are shouting for the other team.

In those Dublin v Mayo finals, everyone was shouting for Mayo.

Probably because you've over 10 times the population of Mayo.

Nobody in Ireland goes to Dublin for their holidays. But lots of Irish including Dubs will go to Kerry, Cork, Galway, Mayo, Donegal etc.

There's no real grá for Dublin.

From my experience anyway i think as many neutrals would shout for Dublin as they would Kerry. Even with all we have won in last 13 years i met quite a few over the weekend that were hoping we would win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭DubCount

Spot on. Its that elite mentality that has made the difference over the last number of years.

I still look back on that free by Rock against Mayo. Someone asked him, as a GPS flew past his ear, was he thinking that this kick was to win an all Ireland. His answer was no, he was thinking about kicking the ball as perfectly as possible. The same question was posed to Philly and he said he was thinking about how to win the next kick out. Its easy to say these things, its harder to make them run through your head when it matters.

A mentality and belief in winning, and how to win, is what will set this team apart from those that came before. Its not about any individual, its how to make a team work together to win.

I got the impression that Jack MCaffery was speaking generally setting the example for future Dubs etc. He did speak really well though and was well aware of the example he is setting.

--

Hopefully, that this AI will spark a next generation to come through - and get ingrained in GAA instead of the more glamorous 'foreign sports'. I don't know of any youngster coming through that there there is chatter about to be honest.

But at this stage I would take solid players - who do a job nothing flashy. There will be a hunt for fresh blood in the O'Byrne Cup league etc.

I think there will be more interest than usual in the O'Byrne Cup from Dublin fans. to see if any new players could make the grade at senior.

No doubt Kerry will have a few 'next best things' bubbling under, they always do!

I have heard a few neutrals who liked watching Dublin's style of play etc - movement and so on.

But I think for many of those anti-Dublin - it is more of a 'anti-capital' thing more than the team itself - the team is just a lightening rod for those types. Every nations capitals populace worldwide, gets that from within their own country.

Imagine if there was social media after the 1983 All Ireland final. I'd say we were at the height of being disliked after that game. I used hear insults in the 90s about 'Only the dirty Dubs would kick a man on the ground'.

The team from 2011 to now have been so exciting to watch that i feel we gained the support of a lot of neutrals again. In a time when the blanket defence was threatening to be the next big thing this team dismantled that idea with players full of skill and front foot football. I don't get the feeling we are hated universally. There will always be some who do but there's a deep down respect there i feel that has been earned the hard way.