If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

What difference does it make paying a builder for a house. It's the builder that's in the wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Glanbia cenus out this week, asking would you be interested in the dairy reduction or exit scheme

how many cows you would reduce by etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭cjpm

My vet said the same to me recently re his business going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

My vets 5 kids all got north of 600 points in the leaving cert. 1 doctor, 1 solicitor, 1 dentist and 2 actuaries. None even contemplated being a vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Legally they have to be registered and revenue notified before there paid …..unless there treated (and they trade as a contractor )and invoice u for work …..there is a threshold I think up to what u can pay wages unvouched …not 💯 but in audit scenario if it was regular enough and up to limit could set alarms off …..wage slips and all have to be given now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Where do they spend all the cash? Whatever about a few grand here or there, or working around the edges with expenses to reduce tax. But large amounts of cash aren't very useful unless building a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

No wonder they didn’t go vetting, when they.seen all the father had to do to keep a business going. Most young vets want 8 to 5.30 work or into the Department to answer phones or small animals, our vet practice was started by main man who now is 74 years old and still doing as he calls it light work testing and vet work for all the old clients, there is 6 vets working and 3 shops in the practice now. The main man is still the go to man for everything, the knowledge up to date, the work at the weekend for the part time farmer, what dose/ vaccine to give to animals. As a neighbour says his headstone will carry the words ring me at any time and no rush we have plenty of time, this type vet is a thing of the past and farmers are going to struggle into the future, this practice has being sold to a UK company recently by the partners that bought out the old vet.

There is a lot of older dairy men with no family interested in milking cow’s going forward and labour hard to get, one neighbour has two sons and a daughter and the only one interested is a 16 year old grandson who helps at the weekend. The day always comes on dairy farms where lads get fed up milking, another neighbour is giving up doing the milking at drying off and he is 74 years old the son does all the other work and hates milking and looking for a milker for next spring and if doesn’t find one he say he will get out. Dairy is a 7 day job and new entrants are finding this hard to get relief milkers.

Reality is far easier money and better hours elsewhere …better option for successor could be contract rearing or beef cattle if they want to stay farming and work off farm

lads with high staff turnover usually pigs to work for …pay buttons and expect the world from lads …..heard more bad stories from lads on placement and how they were treated and what was expected of them

Agree what your saying about easier money, the guy that doesn’t like milking is talking about contract rearing or going into incalf heifer job of buying calves and bringing then to point, as for the pigs expecting lads to work for nothing they are everywhere, and the days of treating lads like dirt is gone, back in the day of the old farm apprentice that was some hardship if you drew one the important dairy farms you were a slave and turned so many lad’s away from farming. Like the lads complaining about relief milkers looking for too much money, what would they want for to go and do milking for someone else, milked cows for a good number of years outside the day job in all types of parlours and had lads ask why won’t you milk for me and the quick answer always was would you milk for you in your parlour end of conversation.

Big problem with lot of farmers is they know nothing only working for themselves and no idea what it’s like to be an employee …..no young farmer should go straight home out of school without working in other sectors

even still you hear of lads on work experience from college and some of the dogs there sent to …what they expect of them …how there treated and give them nothing only the pittance in a wage they can get away with and it’s not confined to the older farmers lots of younger new entrants are as bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭DBK1

That’s it in a nutshell.

I see it on the contracting side too. The most demanding lads and the lads with the biggest opinion of their own self importance are the lads that never worked a day in their lives outside their own farm.

It’s the worst thing any parent can do to their child. A half decent parent would make sure their child does something else first before coming back home. It’ll stand to them for the rest of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

@GrasstoMilk the onus is on you to make sure the tax is paid. If someone comes to your farm to work and brings machinery or equivalent they are a contractor. If someone comes and works on a regular basis, say milking, cleaning out sheds, using your machinery, they have to be treated as an employee and the onus is 100% on you to pay the tax. You can't say "Oh they're a contractor they'll pay their own tax", you are completely liable for the tax in the case of an audit

Agree totally what you’re saying, the guy I was talking about earlier with the father milking the cows at 74 is one of these fella’s. All about what he has and what his buying and just split from the second wife and how lucky the lads that have worked for him are, when he comes into the local pub lads drink up and go home or move to the bar,. Never worked a day outside the farm. In France all young farmers have to go to a different type of farm from the home farm and out of the country if at all possible before installation. Now every young person Should get out of country before going home to farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,320 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Does anyone ever stand up to these people. Often wonder how they treat their spouse?

If he has paid the tax on his own money isn't it up to himself how it's spent. No one is responsible for how I pay my tax only myself

About 5 family holiday a year with a local engineer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Was sent to a serious pig of a man on dairy placement was verbally abusing us on a daily basis, he had gotten in a contractor with a saw head to do ditches cutting down good 12 inch thick bows along the fences which he sent us to pull from ditches, tidy up with loader obviously the fence was destroyed from falling bows, cattle got out of a field in adjoining block, was my fault of course for "wrecking fence" was no power getting to it was a digger man their at the time and I'd seen my chance he started roaring at us for the above I walked towards him faced him down and asked him what kind of a stupid c**t he was that he even thought the fence would still be intact after your man dropping trees on it, was going to kill the f**ker and with your man their I had a witness if he went to get physical, he turned heel and walked off muttering to himself once I faced him down, he never opened his mouth again after that.....

Digger man who done his sheds for him aswell was saying this was what he was doing to all his students through the years, he was that bad even with your man's employees, he was warned off going near them when they where concreting his tanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭DBK1

Going through a few of them in my head and one man in his 60’s now and he’s living a lonely life. Parents dead a few years and no spouse because when he was younger he’d have been afraid she’d have taken half the farm on him if he did get married. He has lately offered a field to a couple of different local women if they would come and live with him! I believe guards had to get involved on a few occasions.

There’s another man and his attitude on the farm was being discussed by a few neighbours one day and one of the made the comment “when you’re not the boss at home you have to be the boss somewhere!”

A few more I can think of and I’d imagine it wouldn’t be simple lives for the spouse’s. Breakfast, dinner and tea would be expected to be on the table at the right time every day with no excuses.

Post edited by DBK1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

That's not the case, if they deem that person to be an employee rather than a contractor then you are responsible for the tax

Their getting very nervous by the questions asked in the survey I reckon, the writing is on the wall that planned future milk volumes they had put into future financial projections re new processing capacity are now only works of fiction, you'd be worried with the debt that tirlain is in will they be able to service it, its a given now their will have to be another huge sell off of shares to balance the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

If your in a company, drawing out cash is only costing 12.5% tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

And the thing is the teagasc inspectors or whoever go into that farm and it's probably spotless with all financials impressive and the inspectors say this is a farm where the students can learn a thing or two. But it's being run that way on student labour.

My own farm placement kind of led to me farming the way I do now.

My own father worked on an estate farm with a pig of an owner manager too. One of the workers was an alcoholic stealing stuff every day. But none of the rest of the workers cared since your man was pig to work for. Owner manager was ahead of his time in farming practices and had to have the best of everything and farming. But it didn't stop him being a pig.

I reckon the gloves will be off soon enough as regards coops going outside there area into other coops catchement looking for milk…..def in tirlan case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

If I get paid in cheques and cash them in a shop. How does that work Is that completely untraceable ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I think it depends on what the payer writes on the cheque stub. If they write 'cash', that's one thing but if they write 'charolais0153' then it's traceable to you. The question then is whether Revenue have the resources or interest in checking your tax return and seeing if you included that cheque.

That's my understanding of how it works but I'm open to correction.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

They're already traveling half the country to collect milk since 2015 so it wouldn't be a big stretch for them to collect more milk on the same roads.

What's not helping them is that I know of 4 suppliers within 5 miles of me (in Tirlan's heartland of Waterford) who have left them in the last few years. 1 new entrant and 3 whose fathers would have been supplying them since oul god's time. Not sure of exact numbers, but that's probably 500 cows gone plus the feed/fertiliser those 4 farmers would have traded.

Management can't blame nitrates or Eamon Ryan for that.

I'll be gone from them here first chance I can get another supplier to take us on, their the most heavily indebted processor by a country mile too, I reckon they'll have money issues down the track too

How did they manage to get out of msa, our did they just give the 2 years notice and leave, tipperary co-op will be desperate for milk when glanbia take back the excess they had going into them for the new cheese plant, arrabawn aswell where getting a good bit of milk via them during peak months would be nice to see co-ops having to fight for milk will help keep them honest

Drawing cash for personal spending would be taxed as income. What ever rate your on.