Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭dobman88

I was looking at your 1st reply going wtf that's not how it works.

And then I get to this post.

Mighty. 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Beating them in the division 1 relegation play off last weekend has me on a real high going into this Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,329 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I Presume it would be. I expect by about 25% if it's similar to Limerick. What really catches these clubs is the extra tickets counties get are handed out pro rats as well

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I've never experience as quiet a build up to a football final - even this thread is lagging behind the hurling one.

A good proportion of the media have spend the best part of this week dissecting the hurling final and concentrating on the women's World Cup.

Maybe the build up was as quiet last year but being from near Galway I at least could get a sense that there was some excitement towards it. Not feeling any sense of collective anticipation towards the final this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Proximity is a big part of it.

There is a fair amount of build up about it in Kerry as you would expect.

But again I think it's the fact that it's in July makes a huge difference.

People are on holiday, other things are going on, importantly schools are off, school kids getting excited about an All Ireland is a huge part of the buildup.

Plus we were used of a September All Ireland final.

July finals will take a lot of getting used of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Like an eejit I only copped on that there won't be a minor match on beforehand. Realised sure that has been played already.

Is there match on now pre the final at all? Even a junior match or something?

Seems a bit of shame. I got great value for a couple of years being able to see if that minor 'David Clifford' was worth the hype for Kerry.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

The Stunning are playing a set as pre match entertainment. No other game on, just the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

I think Kerry used up their excitement last year as we felt we had a good chance to win after beating Dublin. Also it was first AI win since 2014. I wasn't too excited in 2015 or 2019 as I was pretty certain Dublin would win.

It's true about July schedule throwing us off. People on holidays, students away etc. Also the weather's been very poor.

I've seen people in Kerry say that there's less excitement and fewer flags out around the place.

I think in general there's been a weird energy since COVID. Cost of living, energy prices, far right protests, Ukraine war, heatwaves and wild fires across Europe, worst July weather in living memory, violent attacks in Dublin.

There's an interesting book called "The fourth turning" which predicted all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There were complaints here about two games being played when Dublin played Monaghan, saying that it made it too hard for supporters to get tickets. I think that used to be an issue as well when the Minor game was included on the big day. So that problem solved to some extent.

If there is a quiet build up to the final, that is no harm. I got by for many years before the internet not being able to write about it on Boards.

All right thanks - I am real creature of habit my first reaction was who was playing in the minor.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

God I miss the minor game, and bring back Micheal O Se on commentary.

Excitement ebbs and flows.

I think if there's been a drought and a young team is coming and are favourites for the final, it leads to huge excitement.

1997 had huge excitement. People were painting everything green and gold.

Last year after we beat Dublin, there was huge excitement also.

Clifford is a true superstar also which helps.

All the finals we reached in the noughties didn't have big excitement either. People got too accustomed to success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭Trampas

Is there even a scramble for tickets? Anyone I know has a ticket sorted

Did Seán Bán Breathnach used to do the minor match as well?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I've heard it was Micheal O Muircheartaigh, think TV3 started showing it around 2005 with commentary in English.

Clubs will only be finalising their allocation today. I've seen a few Kerry clubs on social media saying they won't have enough to meet demand so the scramble will start this evening into the weekend.

I sometimes wonder why I bother paying for a season ticket and then we get to a final and it's all worth it to have it just sitting in the account a few days after the semi final.

At the moment Dublin v Kerry seem like two dogs suspicious of each other. All the chat seems to end in a 'but' no side can say with certainty given the form that they will win - but they could. It could be a really cagey job.

But given that Dublin and Kerry have had recent success it will have no where near the tension of say the Donegal v Mayo final of 2012. That was probably the most tense prematch final of the last 10 years - both sets of supporters confident.

This one is more bragging rights really - one side will have caught up the other on the all time list, or else the gap will be extended by the other.

There is the generational angle of course the young Kerry team v the old Dublin team. A reversal of the 2013 AISF. There will be a raft of Dublin retirements after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭MacDanger

There's an interesting book called "The fourth turning" which predicted all this.

Does it say who'll win on Sunday?

It must be the radio I am thinking of.

This minor from 1994 Kerry v Armagh is not SBB anyway.

Dating myself now but we were made watch the recorded minor matches each year in Irish class. Always use to annoy me if there was too much stopping and starting. Ruined the flow of the match.

--

Anyway I think I will chance putting a Dublin flag up (or two). Maybe it will help who knows!

Had one up non stop during the five in a row run - refused to take it down until the fifth was landed. I was getting very superstitious.

The bit that annoys me is that Dublin City council put out massive Kerry flags in town as well as the Dublin ones. I always think you wouldn't see the Healy Raes allowing Dublin flags in Kerry.

I think 3 Dublin players can win their 9th medal, beating the famous 5 in Kerry with 8 medals.

Also last year I think there was a lot of pressure on this Kerry team to get over the line as they'd been trying since 2018. I think they'll be more relaxed this year as they know they'll be there or thereabouts for at least 6 more years.

Win or lose, Dublin will have a few retirements. Maybe Cluxton, Fitzsimons, Rock, Mannion, McCaffrey, McCarthy.

They'll still be very competitive though.

I think if Dublin are leading going in to the final stretch (even by just a point) eg after the 60th minute, I don't fancy Kerry to overhaul them due to Dublin's bench and their composure under pressure.

But if Kerry are leading, I think they could hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭munster87

If you have a Dublin flag up and you’re registered to vote in Kerry it’ll be grand!

Your right the weight was lifted on Kerry. They were too raw 2019, in last years SF I never saw a Kerry crowd as edgy. Fed through to the Kerry players as well - a nervy game. The Dublin thing is there one last AI for a lot of the older lads, I had forgotten the 9th medal aspect. That would be huge

I spent long enough listening and reading about those Kerry lads with the 8th medals for many a year when that was the ultimate benchmark. I never dreamed any Dub would get anywhere near it to be honest.

Only right since your city's main street is named after a Kerry man.

This had me in stitches because I had a Kerryman - English teacher. He used to love saying that to watch the reactions. We would be quietly cursing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭kerryjack

As the week goes on and closer to the match the more confident I am becoming the positives for me is jack o Connor a man that has done it all and as cute as a fox and we have david Clifford and Sean O se 2 lads that are driven and determined and we have a real top class keeper. the negative for me we could do with an other scoring forward hopefully Paul geaney will chip in with a few.

2019 was frustrating as we were up a point in injury time with an extra man, so we just had to keep the ball.

Also it was Peter Keane's first year and we were young and inexperienced. Now we're 4 years older with very experienced management in Jack and Paddy Tally. Also Diarmuid Murphy and Mike Quirke.

But really Dublin were better and deserved it. They showed that in the replay.

Last year we deserved to win. We were up 6 points at start of 2nd half, and that was after missing a penalty.

The 9th medal is huge as it will never be beaten. As good as Clifford is, he might only end up with 3 or 4 medals.

What worries me this year is the amount of goal chances we conceded to Derry, Mayo and even Cork gave us a rattle. Dublin are more ruthless in front of goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭showpony1

where is best for someone without a club connection to attempt to get a ticket?

heard outside the Gresham on O'Connell street mentioned before, or just around

pubs on north strand/Ballybough?

Yeah ask around the pubs on route to the stadium. Don't be shy.

Otherwise ask people from other counties who are involved in GAA. Teachers too are good connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I think o Connell street is better- any time I have had spares I have always ensured that they were gone before I got any closer to croker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Gill's pub on the North Circular is a good spot. Ask the Gardai stationed there if they know of any as well.

City Centre; Grand Central and The Oval are good spots as well.