Enough is enough? Dublin north inner city crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I don't know what to say, probably "it could be worse", - which doesn't help.

And yes, it is worse in Canada, - the land of glory and aspiration to many imigrants also has darker sides:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RN8ic5ktcHc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OV86CphI0kQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUf1WaiZbvc

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,670 ✭✭✭amacca

That's why a batman type figure is necessary or a team of bat people to be more inclusive 😅

Seriously it feels as if a well funded, well resourced anonymous vigilante with some blind eye turning is necessary with the state things have gotten into.

The rot has been incremental for the last 50 years at this stage...I remember my dad telling me about a gard friend of his he used to play hurling with completely disillusioned with thugs getting off with less than a slap on the wrist and giving them the two fingers on the street the next day after some fairly serious levels of scumbaggery...this was the 70s...

No disrespect, I don't and never will buy into comparisons with other countries.

The reality is , we have an insane amount of money available to spend that has in essence been banked. We have very noticeable issues with law and order across the country. We should always be striving to do better and looking to enhance quality of life for our citizens. As the population increases, resources and infrastructure should increase across the board in line with that.

Lads rocking around with no equipment in clapped out marked Hyundais and Transits is not good enough. No wonder they are demoralised.

We are failing the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

Honestly you'd swear some people never left Ireland reading some of the comments here. Does Dublin have a problem with a small percentage of dickheads ruining it for the vast majority, yes it does but these problems exist elsewhere in Europe and the world. In vast parts of the US the police force have just given in due to violence and crime. Take a day trip to parts of Naples if you want too see scumbagary on a big scale, Paris, Marseille, Brussels, Berlin etc... all have huge no go areas and that's before we even mention parts of south America and the middle east or Africa.

Does the issue in Dublin need solving before it get's worse yes but scumbags aren't an issue that is solely contained to the north inner city.

Amnesty International’s new investigation shows that Israel imposes a system of oppression and domination against Palestinians across all areas under its control: in Israel and the OPT, and against Palestinian refugees, in order to benefit Jewish Israelis. This amounts to apartheid as prohibited in international law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Glebee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Dublin is definitely not some perfect utopia but this thread and the other kip thread just reminds of Homer in NYC episode of the Simpsons.

If you want to hate somewhere then you will only see the bad. And there is bad. But I'm in the city centre once a month on average wining and dining, going to matches etc and I've never had a bad word said to me.

But if something awful happened me then I'd probably have a different view. That poor American tourist can rightly hate Dublin for life. Hopefully he makes a full recovery.

The judicial system has a lot to answer for as well. Scrotes going in and out of the system is a money spinner for many. Would make you think they have a vested interest in repeat offenders.

That and social housing too close to city centre. No way that should continue. Should have been knocked and relocated to the outskirts years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

Nonsense. All cities need good access to social housing as part of it's lifeblood. The problem is this housing is not mixed with affordable and private tenants as a lot of progressive cities would have.

Amnesty International’s new investigation shows that Israel imposes a system of oppression and domination against Palestinians across all areas under its control: in Israel and the OPT, and against Palestinian refugees, in order to benefit Jewish Israelis. This amounts to apartheid as prohibited in international law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Heskey1971

This I agree with but look at the big development in Donabate ( 1200 houses ) for an example.

The proposal was for exactly what you propose, 50% for private sale, 25% affordable, 25% Social.

Sinn Fein blocked it for years looking for more social and affordable.

We will end up with ghettos with SF policy but they're probably just telling everyone what they want to hear to get votes.

They're for build to rent in the north but against it in the Republic. Why ? They're in government in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Nonsense. Not all social housing is created equal. The flats are full of lifers who sponge off the state. The working class from the 50/60/70s that lived in them and weren't wasters are long gone and populate dublin suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Don’t you come in here with you’re common sense posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Long Sean Silver

i agree. of course crime can happen anytime/anywhere. no place is 100% safe 100% of the time. everybody with 2 braincells knows this.

but for the Minister to think what is happening in the North Inner City is "normal" or acceptable is alarming but sadly predictable. it clearly is NOT. i would challenge the Minister and/or members of her family to live there for a couple of weeks, and go about their daily lives WITHOUT Garda protection.

my guess is they wouldn't last 48 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Long Sean Silver

Ms McEntee acknowledged that “things are not perfect” in the city centre and there are “issues that need to be resolved”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭bartkingcole

I have been living in D1 for over 20 years. It has become horrible and is getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Just more of her Iraqi Minister of Information shtick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I haven't been to any major developed city that has anything as bad as the north quays and behind, that close to a city centre. It is the city centre. Nothing like it off Oxford St, Champs-Elysees, Alexanderplatz, Times Square, Plaza De Mayo in Buenos Aires, La Rambla, Trastevere...

Dublin though

image.png

image.png

Its so bad, we're closing areas of the city now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Sure aren't they getting more Garda protection up around the Dail because they "don't feel safe."

As futile an exercise as it was, and a waste of my time amd energy, I emailed the Minister yesterday asking would she spend a day walking around North Inner City Dublin without her Garda escort, and pointed out to her that she has a Garda escort from her house in Meath to Dail Eireann (which always has a Garda stationed outside the entrance) so she hasn't a clue about the lack of policing on the Northside of the city.

I'll either get no response or some nonsense copy and paste stock email that she is looking into the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

notscared.png

The Minister says Dublin is a safe city. All FOUR of them in that photo look pretty nervous to me, LOL! (Great photo by IT's Laura Hutton.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭kravmaga

How can the Minister say Dublin is a safe city, its not, this gang of 20 ferral teenage scum have been attacking people in the inner city for no reason over a few weeks now if not months.

Get the Public order unit vans out and about and get a Police presence felt, get in the faces of these scum, start stop/searching them for articles involved in crime.

And the chief suspect is a 14 year old , something seriously has gone wrong with our society, where are the parents?

Arrest them all and get them before the courts with bail/ curfew conditions.

An Ukrainian actor was glassed in the face a few weeks ago when he wondered onto the Boardwalk after being in a production/play in the Abbey theatre, would not surprise me if this is the same gang who attacked him.

Get these scum off our streets ffs. Wake up AGS, DCC, Dublin Chamber of Commerce, North inner city TD'S.

I'd put a few teams of 10 Gardai on bicycles with bodycams and send them cycling around the city in pairs of 2, reporting any incident back to HQ to then send the Public Order Van up.

Then appoint civilians and AI to review the video footage and fine traffic infractions at the same time.

You'd easily recruit cyclists from the cycling forum on here, and various cycle clubs, to be paid to cycle around the city all day long.

I can tell you know Guards on bikes would just get laughed at. They get no respect in the helmets etc for some reason.

Not going to work.

Bulked up crews given proper policing cars and equipment (not Hyundais) holding a presence at certain locations will get respect. And have others patrolling by foot. And inkling of messing and perps are taken away.

Visible policing is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Is this the same person who said in relation to hate speech laws that some people were 'afraid to leave their homes' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭McFly85

An entirely, depressingly predictable response from our justice minister. Dublin is a lovely city and and it’s not her fault that crime exists.

People here have had their theories or suggestions, while the main issue is, like so many areas of our public sector, there is no willingness to try anything.

The country is fast becoming a toilet and our government doesn’t seem to care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭nachouser

The US travel advisory site actually calls out Dublin City centre as a safety risk for tourists. So yeah, not a good look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Gardai on bikes is visible policing, they're not there to stop the crime, its to identify and call in proper reinforcements. They'd cover huge ground on 2 wheels, far more than foot patrols ever could.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Well the first question is where will you find these Gardai to be pissing about on bikes?

There are no Gardai free to fulfill the great ideas people here have. You're being told by actual Gardai on this thread that the numbers aren't there for day to day policing but your ideas still start with 'so 10 Gardai..'

These ten spare Gardai don't exist. AGS is currently being run on overtime across the organisation, there is more of it available then there are Gardai to do it, guards are sick of it so don't even go down the road of thinking you'll get ten Gardai in every day spinning about on bikes, even on overtime...it's not going to happen.

They have the same warnings for almost every country.