Gorey Gaelscoil debacle - astonishing legal smackdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

He is contradicting himself.

Mr Justice Cregan found that, “the board was aware in each and every year – and in particular in 2009 – that there might be a slight exaggeration of the enrolment figures. This was done in order to build the school, to progress the school, to increase the number of schoolteachers, for the benefit of the children of the area and to ensure that they all had a better education. It was motivated from first to last by a sense of idealism of a group of parents who were pioneers in their community establishing an inter-denominational gaelscoil.”

Following a Garda investigation on foot of a Department of Education inspector’s report, the Director of Public Prosecutions decided against any prosecution concerning the enrolment matter, he noted.

Why would the inspector send the report to the Gardaí?

But again he admits fraud.

Mr Ó Suird disputed any fraud and said that while there might have been some overstatement of enrolment figures, this was done for the benefit of the school and with full knowledge and approval of the old board.

It appeared Mr Ó Suird was dismissed because he had included nine children in the enrolment returns to the department in September-October 2009, nine children who existed in real life and had attended the school but were no longer doing so, he said. This was done with the knowledge and approval of the then board and in a context of a lack of legislative clarity relating to enrolments.

9 children on the books who were not attending the school is fraudulent whatever way you want to paint it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

You will probably find that happens more often than not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭lulublue22

Under what circumstances can they be replaced ? A sitting board does so for a set time then a new board is appointed. Often the chairperson as the patrons nominee stays on the board past the 2 year mark. In my experience it is very rare to have a totally new board appointed

I’m not sure what point you are making re the principal being on the board. It would be fairly challenging to run a board without the principal on it. All decisions taken by the principal is ratified by the board that is what it is - you seem to think the principal was up to all sorts while a new board was appointed. It simply does not work like that.

Whether you like it or not or indeed accept it or not the board did not follow due process and indeed the chair of the board circumvented due process by not sharing relevant docs as compelled to. This is fact there is no equivocation , no maybes should have or could have. Anything else is you grasping at straws trying to make “ the facts” fit your narrative.

You are not the first person to state this without citation.

Schools are audited and inspected, phantom children enrolled would certainly not be the norm for multiple reasons. Least of all the implications on the books of attendance.

Unless you have actual tangible evidence to the contrary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

and as long as its not massively overstated its taken as the norm, otherwise you are going to have teachers sea-sawing between local schools from one year to the next if there are schools right on the limit.

Its obvious that this is the case, but I guess it denies you your pound of flesh so you question it.

The tangible evidence would seem to be the response from everyone who investigated the claim?

How often are schools audited and inspected ?

You can persist with your view that children are not included in the returns who should not be - it doesn’t make your view correct.

Horses mouth.

Mr Ó Suird disputed any fraud and said that while there might have been some overstatement of enrolment figures, this was done for the benefit of the school and with full knowledge and approval of the old board.

It appeared Mr Ó Suird was dismissed because he had included nine children in the enrolment returns to the department in September-October 2009, nine children who existed in real life and had attended the school but were no longer doing so, he said. This was done with the knowledge and approval of the then board and in a context of a lack of legislative clarity relating to enrolments.

That's why I asked for citation of the claim.

In your own time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

26 in 6 years. I imagine this school was one of them.

Earlier this year a former principal at a Gaelscoil in Cork was given a one-year suspended sentence after she pleaded guilty to a number of fraud offences that led to her school being paid almost €250,000 in education grants to which it was not entitled.

Aileen Ní Cheallaigh (36) of Mill Road, Midleton, Co Cork, pleaded guilty to a total of five charges relating to her time as principal of Gaelscoil Mhuscraí in Blarney in 2005-2009.

Interesting.

"In relation of any issue of financial irregularity, including as a result of overstatement of enrolment, it is the policy of the Department to engage with the school management and the patron, ensuring that an investigation is undertaken at school level and that the matter is referred to An Garda Síochána where appropriate.

Seems to have happened here too, wonder why the DPP didn't pursue.

Not quite. They caught 26 in 6 years. They only investigated 38 schools. So, of the schools investigated, well over 50% of them were.....to use your words........cooking the books.

You'd want to be a special kind of naive to think it only happened in 26 schools.

Why didn't the Gardai pursue? It was the DPP who didn't pursue. The DPP either didn't think it was a crime or didn't think they had a chance of conviction. It was 9 students, all of whom were enrolled in the school at one point. Given that it's €200 per pupil amounting to a grand total of €1800, clearly we aren't talking about anything remotely like the €250k fraud you highlighted.

???????????

I hereby cite that it was not unusual particularly prior to the dep changing its reporting structures for children to be enrolled in two schools for a period of time. Schools were obligated to keep the child on the school roll until written confirmation had been received by the previous school to say that the child was now included on their roll. If this written confirmation was not received prior to the dep returns date in September the child was returned as enrolled in two schools. Ironically this was due to child protection concerns.

I know this doesn’t suit your narrative but again it is what it is.

PS I’m still waiting for evidence that the dogs were Rabid - in your own time.

PPS - did you miss the bit about the lack of legislative clarity relating to enrolments

tks

Given there is rather stiff penalties for this as you have illustrated, I imagine it is not as widespread as being suggested.

Again though I wonder why this admitted fraud which the department sent to the Gardaí who then sent it to the DPP was given a pass.

Yeah, but no.

Again he admitted to "cooking the books". This wasn't oversite or lack of clarity.

As BattleCorp has illustrated it can be a very serious offence.

So they investigated 38 and found 26 were doing it ,so there's 4000 primary schools, basic maths suggests it's widespread

So, let me get this straight.

The Principal is wrong.

The WRC are wrong.

The Labour Court are wrong.

The High Court are wrong.

The DPP is wrong.

But you are right.....................fair nuf.

Look at my post. I said the two examples are not remotely similar. One was prosecuted as it was on a grand scale. The other was much ado about nothing.

And there is no admittance to fraud by the Principal. Even the passage you highlighted above (in itallics) clearly says that the Principal disputes that he committed fraud. The DPP seems to agree with him as there was no prosecution. An overstatement doesn't mean that there was fraud. Kind of like someone saying something that isn't true doesn't exactly mean they are lying.

Dear God - yeah but yeah - I made no reference to what he had or had not done - I simply pointed out it’s not an unusual situation , has happened in other schools , was very easy to do / happen at the time he did it due to the obligation to keep children in the roll. This does not equate to the man having committed fraud or needing to be lynched.

I’m done now - some people have a narrative and that is it - no logic or reason or facts can detract from that narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Post edited by Archduke Franz Ferdinand on

Over statement of the actual pupils you have in the school is fraud.

I can see why he wouldn't want to admit it, but what is actually confusing you? Getting monies and resources on false premised is text book fraud.

Or do think the Departments Inspector sent their findings to the gardaí for the crack?

Well no basic maths suggested a tiny fraction of schools were flagged for this practice.

It's not a very hard thing to investigate. Schools are legally required to keep logs.

26 out of 38 were found to be doing it ,

Your trying to say a tiny fraction you already tied yourself in a knot already the majority of the 38 schools were doing it ,

4000 schools the figures wont be tiny

Yes 26 of 38 flagged schools as a fraction of 3,300 is tiny.

Basic Maths.

What you are suggesting without any evidence is the vast majority of the 3,300 are doing it although as we have the seen the penalties for doing so can be quite severe.

26 out of 38 isn't tiny .....

You can try twisting and turning as usual but it won't change

Why did you replace the second half of sentence with dots? And you accuse me of twisting and turning.

Here it is again.

Yes 26 of 38 flagged schools as a fraction of 3,300 is tiny.

What you are suggesting is their is 1000s of phantom children who exist in name only on school books, that level fraud over a relative short period would stretch into the 10s if not 100s of millions.

It's you that's confused. If it was fraud, the DPP would have acted on it.

You know more than the DPP, do you?

Logs that, when not checked, could be wrong. And again, just because they are wrong doesn't mean that fraud is taking place.

Only 38 were checked in a 6 year period. That means we don't know what was happening in the other 3,962 or thereabouts schools.

Well no, just because the DPP doesn't act doesn't mean an actual crime didn't take place.

This is basic stuff.

The Departments Inspector was concerned enough with their findings to send them to the Gardaí.

This is place is turning more bizarre as time goes on.

You have him admitting he assaulted a child and admitting in the national press to cooking books.

But for some reason he is the victim. 🤷‍♂️

The case has been thoroughly investigated by loads of professional bodies and yet you think you are right and all of them are wrong.

Here's the basic stuff.

The DPP didn't pursue the Principal because either:

1. No crime was committed by the Principal, or
    2. The DPP had no reasonable chance of a successful prosecution.

And given that everyone is entitled to be the presumption of innocence in the absence of a conviction, it's inaccurate to state that he committed a crime.

And on top of that:

The HSE found there was no crime committed by the Principal.

The LRC found there was no crime committed by the Principal.

The Labour Court found there was no crime committed by the Principal.

And the High Court found there was no crime committed by the Principal.

You are wrong. Will ya just let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

What have you against the principal and did your kids go to this school or were you a member of the BOM.