Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Did I mention I thought he got one he didn't deserve? Not sure I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Of course people will take up a defensive posture for impact. The point about Ryan was that it was an offensive posture designed to maximise the impact on the player in the physically defensive position. High fielding is not the issue as was mischievously suggested. Dangerous play is the issue and that takes many guises. This was just one of them. An obvious red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,750 ✭✭✭robbiezero

So his All Stars are nothing to do with media hype then. Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,329 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ryan took up a defensive posture to protect himself. If someone is running at you would you meet them full on or turn your shoulder and sides to take the impact there.

McGuiggan chose to continue into a collision even those the ball was cleanly won by another player. He came off the worst.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

From what I remember I thought McDaid should have got the MOTM last year. The main reason I could see he did not was because picking a Kerryman was much handier for the post match dinner. Plus even if a Galway man was picked Walsh would be the higher profile man.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,633 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Ah Jesus come on - by the time the ball was "won" by Ryan, Mcguigan was about 3ft away and could do nothing but stall his momentum or he would end up running full tilt into Ryan rather than the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Seadin

I disagree. I think he knew what he was doing in that moment and decided to take him out with his momentum. It was wreckless and he got away with it without punishment. Ref had a poor game it must be said.

In relation to him having a great game, Ryan did ok for most part but he did leave one routine ball bounce over the bar. That was poor. Similar to what Mayo did against Meath in the 1996 final.

The ball that bounced was too far out for him to come to collect. The risk of it bouncing over him or he getting stranded and a Derry player tipping it over him were too great.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,750 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Each to their own. Wouldnt fault him on the ball bouncing over. Would have been risky to come for it given how close the Derry player was to it.

Ref might not have been great, but he didnt decide the result either IMO.

I agree Derry had more than enough chances to close out the game. They were in a great position and can only blame themselves for not closing it out.

I be of the thought that if the ball is coming into the square it's risky and needs to be collected cleanly by the goalkeeper if nobody is calling it. Anyone can get a hand or fist to a ball coming in like that. Some players are better readers of the game and would have seen this scenario coming a mile and this distinguishes the greater and smarter players in my view.

It bounced outside the square and went over the bar so high it did not even try to jump for it. He would have needed to come 10-12 meters out to collect.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭munster87

Don’t argue with a better reader of the game 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭I see sheep

If I ever see Galway win an All-Ireland again then I definitely wouldn't give a hoot if the losing team has the MOTM.

You're right that being on the winning teams it probably sways things, I don't think it should though.

I can just about remember Padraig Kelly getting it in '93 (as a corner back 😲).

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

What Cluxton is great at doing is pushing up and acting as the extra man, but not pushing up Kamikaze like the likes of Rafferty with no real plan. Back in 2019 (drawn game) when Dublin were a man down Cluxton was used very intelligently and showed his in game intelligence.

Cluxton picked up Tommy Walsh - and Rock picked up the Kerry keeper - leaving a Kerry man free on the left. So Dublin overloaded the right side of the pitch. Intelligent coaching intelligent play - well drilled players.

I don't think Dublin of 2023 are nowhere near the level of Dublin 2019 either on the sideline or on the field. Yet somehow Dublin are in an All Ireland.

--

Something I have not factored in for other counties is many play the Dublin jersey rather than playing their game plan. So there is a fear in the back of their mind. Mayo did this against Dublin in the AI Quarter Final in my view - as Mayo had a lot of young powerful players but the Mayo heads went because of lack of game management. A 10 minute spell in the second their heads went.

Derry did something similar v Kerry the last day. Game management of Derry went out the window taking wild shots. Derry were two points up (deep in the second half) and they only needed two more scores on top of that and the game was over as a contest.

In my view if Mayo/Tyrone/Kildare had the attitude of Monaghan they would have numerous AI's in their pockets/or at least far more competitive. Monaghan play to their maximum are really hard to beat. Monaghan do not show panic or fear. The only thing Monaghan lack is a subs bench.

Galway would have been really in the mix this year as well only for how Walsh was way off form for a few games in succession/looked tired. Added to that Comer going off injured in Galway's last championship game made it even worse for Galway.

--

I honestly don't think Kerry/Dublin at the moment can be classed as 'great' teams. Many of the chasing pack I mentioned above will feel they left this one behind them when they had their chance. It is a 'what if' year for many teams.

Can you imagine if they made a fella from the opposing team turn up at the winners post match AIF dinner in the hotel, and gave him the MOTM? It would certainly make for interesting television.

It amuses me that the Soccer lads do the opposite Ireland could lose 20-0 and still an Ireland fella would get MOTM - but that is more a marketing thing.

Top of my head in the lower profile games (league/championship) it is more likely that a fella from a losing team in a GAA match gets named MOTM. I don't think they could ever do it for a big final. But the fella getting the award normally looks disgusted and looks fit to throw the award away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,855 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The hurling winners, Kilkenny or Limerick will not be staying in Dublin for a banquet night. So maybe Man of the Match will be on the pitch and not on the Sunday Game? I don't know what Kerry have in mind for the football, or whether RTE have any say in the matter.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2023/0718/1395171-no-capital-stay-for-kilkenny-limerick-on-night-of-final/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭mattser

😉 they have enough I suppose…between them since 1928. But in recent times they should have had more IMO.

Mayo and Kildare yes. Tyrone no they have won 4 AI in twenty years which isan excellent return for any county. Kildare should have won back in 98 was it.

We will not bother speaking about Mayo. At present after they are knocked out they always want Dublin to win. It a crutch at present gives them an excuse for losing to the greatest team.

Mayo's problem with winning is psychological. It easier for them to lose than win

Slava Ukrainii

Fair point on Tyrone over the 20 years. But in the last 10 years I feel that Tyrone should have been challenging more and offering more given the players they had. It was partly due to Micky Harte stifling the players - AI SF 2017 v Dublin prime example of this Tyrone played into Dublin's game plan. Harte had no plan B.

Sean Cavanagh criticised Harte during his last few years for not giving the forwards more of a chance to express themselves. It got him in a lot of hot water with some of his fellow countymen. Tyrone did not look like winning Sam at all with Harte in charge etc.

Harte leaves Tyrone in November 2020. Tyrone win Sam in 2021. It against a Mayo team I would argue was a better overall panel on panel than Tyrone.

But now the Tyrone players seemed/seem happy to retire and/or dine on on that one Sam. Sort of reminds me of Dublin 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

@RoyalCelt I'm still waiting for your answer as to why the GAA would take the hit on ticket sales just to favour Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭flasher0030

This is a forum. If he/she decides to ignore your taunting, they are entitled to do so.

Your posts are very confrontational. You never seem to provide any useful insight into anything - just jumping in with challenging comments and asking for evidence. You seem to be putting boards.ie into the same box as a Court of Law; that if someone makes a comment, they have an obligation to provide you with back-up to justify that opinion. Calm down a bit, and maybe see this forum as a means of actually getting some useful information (and maybe providing useful analysis), as opposed to viewing it in a manner that you are looking to get one over on whoever says anything negative towards Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭CantonasCat2

I see a number of Nally tickets went on sale on Ticketmaster today for the Hurling Final. A similar possibly for the football, does anyone think? I appreciate the Dubs are playing , but wasn’t there a football final in last 3-4 years where some tik went on general sale? I’m probably clutching at a lot of straws tbf!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Complete nonsense- if someone continually comes on and states that there is a GAA conspiracy based, that results in blatant cheating, designed to have Kerry in as many finals as possible then I can ask for their rationale.

It's not taunting and your attempts to shut down anyone who questions the random claims of another poster are ridiculous.

Looking to get one over? I have asked someone to explain their conspiracy theory based, anti Kerry posts - It's a reasonable approach

Never provide any insight? I'm not sure what insight I can provide in response to the above and its funny that you pick out someone who is responding to such posts as the one taunting and being confrontational - as opposed to the poster claiming cheating, conspiracy theories and favouritism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭dobman88

Keep an eye on it later next week. Last year and this year it was Friday before hurling tickets went on sale. I think football went on sale around the same time for the last 2 years

Clubs will have their allocation settled by then and it'll be then that they'll go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭CantonasCat2

That’s 100% - thanks for the advice / strategic tip!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Are you not mixing up separate points I made? What did I originally say? Honestly can't remember. GAA championship very forgetful these days move onto more interesting things pretty fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Not really sure what the argument is about but I don't really get the whole "taking a hit on ticket sales for kerry" thing anyway. All ireland football final would sell out no matter who's playing, especially if Dublin are the other team.