Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family 5 moving home to Ireland from USA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭TobyHolmes

a bit of an extreme response... yes some people struggle. and on the other hand plenty of kids grow up in ireland are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Emcekelly

First and last kid have dual citizenship. Second was born in Ireland so has a green card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭mykrodot

my daughter and her husband (both Irish) lived in Vancouver for 6 years and returned to Ireland 3 years ago with 1 child, they have since had another child born in Ireland. They live in West Limerick where he is from. While they were lucky 3 years ago to get a house, I am not sure they would get one easily now, so little choice, so little supply. They also feel much lonelier here and miss their life and friends in Canada. It has been very hard especially for my daughter to make friends and integrate. These days people are very busy, communities are drastically changing, there is not the same amount of craic as people are struggling with rising prices, they are working harder and longer hours, trying to juggle everything. The pub scene is dying, many pubs closing, rural transport is dire, so socialising is difficult.

It takes a long time to make new friends as most couples are both working these days, harder again when you have kids. I think when you have spent a long time out of Ireland you expect it to be like it was when you left, how ever many years ago. Both my brother and sister live in the US and UK and wax lyrical about returning to live in Ireland, with music in every pub, craic everywhere, like the days before they left. Ireland has changed a lot, we have a serious issue with housing and hotel accommodation if you want to take a weekend away. We are taking unlimited migrants from every part of the world into every town and village in the country and this has put pressure. We have a serious shortgage of doctors and our hospitals are overcrowded.

Yes there are lots of positives to Ireland, and its a beautiful country but we are also have seriously unpredictable weather (as you probably know) and are having one of the wettest, coolest Summers in years! Be careful you don't look at it through rose tinted glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭screamer

Try and find out where your older kids feel home is, because if you move back to Ireland and they decide to head back to the USA, you will have the same situation in reverse, so ask them what they think/ feel. Little as they may seem, they’ll know the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭beachhead

Talk about spin-only 40 billion out of 240 billion!!.The current debt is 265.670 billion and rising.Get real and it's not all because of the German banks being bailed out.Ireland world class!!! Spin Spin Spinning

The national debt began big time in 1979 with Fianna Fail.

Irish in Yankee land-stay there,you're better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭johannmall

Welcome home ! As a parent who forked out 10k for 2 kids to dysattend a Catholic high-school back in the 90's in Boston & faced with colossal tertiary fees ! The move home couldn't be better , just a better place to raise a family ! Unfortunately you're walking into a terribly dysfunctional property market , but I'm guessing you've a few quid courtesy of uncle Sam, I love America but its not the panacea it once was for paddy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Why this kind of pointless negative post? The GAA is a community organisation that raises and spends its money in the community.

Public debt per head in the US is $99K, in Ireland it is about €45K.

There is a lot of pointless negativity here, Ireland has taxes as every place does, you may pay more or less depending on your situation, less well off people do not pay anywhere near enough tax here to fund the government funding of their own family, children's education etc.

And the stuff about health, education etc being the third world is nonsense, Ireland has one of the highest life expectancies in Europe, and high scores on educational comparisons. To be sure there are parts of the US where you can get good health and education, but the health will cost you and the housing will be expensive.

Post edited by Charles Babbage on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Citrus_8

Same true in Ireland about healthcare - GP isn't free and many choose to have a private medical insurance while other European countries offer a better and more affordable healthcare out of tax. Education level in Ireland is below average, bit this trend is in most places. Irish education system is inefficient: too many classes, but the results are still not that great. Same with health - we put into it a lot of money from tax, but we don't get what we should... Infrastructure in Ireland is many years behind too. But hey, there's plenty of opportunities to become a manager even if someone doesn't have a third level education but works in the company for X number of years. That's why we have so many bad managers too.

Your talking a lot about what you want and very little about what you husband wants or what's best for your family, 12 is a very tricky age for a child to change schools, the younger children would be grand, it's a very hard decision to make is there any way your husband could get a secondment for a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭pauly58

Personally, I think it can be cruel to move children to a new school or country. My parents moved when I was ten & it was horrible, I was bullied & missed my friends, that was in 1969. Some will obviously adapt just fine but some won't. I know of a couple of people were moved here from the UK as youngsters & never really settled. To change from the US to Ireland is a massive step. I would say the more fair way, would be wait until your children are independent & then move back here if that's what you want.

I do sympathise, it's a tough decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 aigne

I wish you the very best with the decision. At the end of the day, there is no right or wrong answer, it is very personal.

Having made the move back to Ireland in early 30s after great years in USA myself, every warning and negative aspect espoused above absolutely resonates with me. And for some reason, despite various struggles, have not regretted move. Maybe there is just a sense of buy in being a citizen and trying to make life work here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Nice thread, OP. You ask good questions. I have a few points/things to consider.

1. Have you and hubby US citizenship? If ye are not dual citizens, that means the move will basically be permanent. But if you have citizenship, then you always retain the option of trying the American lifestyle again. I'd politely suggest you look into citizenship for the child on a Green Card before any move -- his/her GC will be made null and void if you move him home (permanent residence means that), but citizenship does not go away.
    2. I know you know this, but Ireland is not the same place as it was ten years ago. Just as you have changed, so has Ireland. Some of it good, some of it bad. But it's not the place you remember. Your friends are not the people you remember anymore. So just be aware of that.
    3. Absolutely absolutely absolutely book an appointment (or ten) with a financial advisor. Keep your 401k or whatever you can and let it grow. Discuss the exact strategies with an advisor long before any move to Irish tax residence, as you can get absolutely smashed if you're not careful.
    4. The weather isn't as bad as I remembered it, it doesn't rain that much, but there is substantial differences between e.g. Galway and Dublin. Keep that in mind.
    5. This point will obviously be deeply biased by what I personally like, but I would recommend living within 1 hour's drive of Dublin Airport. The reason for this is weekend trips away to the likes of France or Croatia are very affordable and open up the move "to Ireland" to the move "to Europe". The kids will have a blast. That option is more complicated if you live 3 hours from Dublin, landing at 10pm on a Sunday evening, and being wrecked the next day.
    6. The health service is not as bad as people say. If you get cancer, Ireland is top class. Its care of old people who get sick is incredible. There is basically zero risk of medical debt. Medical insurance costs literally one-tenth of what it is in the US. If you've private insurance you can bring Little Johnnie to a Laya Clinic when he breaks his wrist and even skip the HSE queue. Irish healthcare is, in my opinion, better overall and obviously cheaper than the American option. (The problem is finding a GP, or public waiting lists. I don't think that's much of a problem for someone in your financial position.)
    7. It can be hard to make friends. You will have to invest in that. Go to meetups or try salsa dancing and all the rest, just to make a few friends. It can be hard to make friends but you only need three or four to make a big difference.
    8. The big difference I find in Ireland compared to the US is that things are less stressful. There's no low-level anxiety about guns or anything. Politics is less divisive. Your heart-rate will drop a little. It's also a bit slower to get things done. It's up to you what your priorities are.
    9. In my view, you have the option of the best of both worlds. Keep your pension in a low-fee Vanguard account but send your kids to UCD/Trinity/UCC for pennies. Visit Disneyland in the summer and stock up at the outlet malls.
    10. If you do make the move, you won't be able to evaluate anything until after 365 days. Expect the first year to be filled with signing up to the ESB and finding a house and transfering your driving licence and sending everyone your new Irish number. Only after that will you be living. Evaluate that second year, and ask whether Indiana and Kilcock is better for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

One point about the financial adviser is that if you retain the right to live in the US then you also will have file a tax return in the US. Indeed some Irish banks and investment options will not do business with you because of the obligations that they then assume because you have to pay tax in the US. So understand these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭NSAman

Also living in the Midwest.

I have to agree with you, the living standards are the main reason I haven’t returned to Ireland on a full-time basis.

I know exactly what you are talking about with parents. But, you need to put your family first. I miss my mother immensely, not to mention my siblings and their families. However, I visit three or four times a year and phone every couple of days.

could I have this standard of living in Ireland ? No!

I have a home in Ireland but while herself would like to return, I’m still on the fence. Kids are all grown and out now, but my businesses are very busy and do I really want to sell up and face having Irish Taxes on income?

when we go home, things haven’t changed, friends I probably see more of them while living in the States compared to other friends in Ireland.

Doing a price comparison with the costs of living, income generation and taxes, there is NO WAY you will be better off in Ireland.

Hey, thanks for the reply. Our problem is that we do not get to go home to visit neqrly enough. 1 time with the whole family in 7 years (some of that was thanks to covid). Once by myself, hubby went once by himself.

Last year it cost us nearly 10 grand for flight for 5, spending money and car rental for 2.5 weeks. We stayed with family so no accomodation cost but was head melting. Not nearly enough room for 5.

So i think rarely getting back for a visit doesn't help the homr sickness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

In my experience the joy of being home doesn't last more than a few weeks and it's all surface level stuff. People will be happy to welcome you all but it doesn't really affect their lives and it'll be just too much of an effort to really reintegrate you and your family into their lives in a meaningful way. It's better to keep the dream of returning to the place you left rather than face the reality of going back to a very different place.

The logistics and cost of moving a family with three kids to a different country must be a nightmare, and when all is done it'll still be the five of you together in a house most of the time.

Usually I think there is one spouse driving such a move and when it doesn't end up the dream you thought it would be then that's going to cause tension.

Thanks, i get that. I'm very close to my mother and my two sisters. I also could slot back in with my friend group. They themselces dont meet up as much but plan a couple of well coordinated outings/weekends away per year. Thats kinda what i'm looking for. I don't expect to see people very regularly.

Hubby has a more complicated family dynamic but sorely misses the GAA, rugby, european soccer, a few friends and trad music. We are in a cutural desert here.

I get what you are saying about surface level stuff. I also think people that have never lived on the other side of the world from all family and connections cant understand the absolute isolation and disconnect you feel. We've been in a position of having a child near death in hospital here and had zero support except for all the phone calls and messages from home. That kept us going but it made the situation so much harder. Its very scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Baybay

I think your decision is going to have to be made on what you think is best for you individually, as a couple & as a family rather than what we think based on what we have or haven’t done. There’ll always be what ifs, whatever you do.

Knowledge is power. As others have said, figure out the financial implications & citizenship concerns as a priority. This may help with your decision also.

Maybe your children could spend the rest of the summer with family in your favoured area? Get familiar, maybe meet some friends, know for sure what you mean when you’re talking about home & who they might know at school. A big ask all round but might ease into a move.

I get that it could be really hard on the kids. Our oldest is the one i would worry about and believe me, we would hate to inflict hardship on him. Our kids are our top priority...we believe some things would be better for them here but also the opposite too.

I also think our happiness is important both as a family overall and the adults. We don't want to feel lonely and homesick forever. When we both think about being older, sick or dying over here it makes us both feel very unsettled.

Somebody previously mentioned moving back when our kids are older. For us, thats just not something we'd want to do. I feel like we would be abandoning them. As young adult, if we left they'd have no family exceot for eachother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭NSAman

Yep, I get it!

why not choose the cheaper options with travel? I’m lucky in that travel costs for me are for business. Going to Europe a few times a year, means stopping at home for a while, all the time working.

i don’t know your financial status, but bringing people over, then visiting yourself might bring some comfort and less home sickness.

For me, returning to the States gets harder and harder after each visit. That upset stomach and tightness, a week before I come back at the thoughts of saying good-bye again. When I land jump in my car and drive home it’s all fine. Until the next time.

for me, I think we will retire in Ireland. We hope to keep a house or two here and another elsewhere. To get away from the Irish weather. The kids are all sorted and of course we will look after them (not that most of them need it). They have said we need to look after ourselves, be happy and it’s only a flight to Ireland if they need us.

I’m glad we didn’t move when they were younger. They have had the chance to go to college in Ireland (well two) and the others here. Check out college eligibility for Irish kids with parents from Ireland. They all love going to Ireland for vacations, but none want to live there. The first thing they say is lack of prospects and it’s too small.

You have a lot to think about, it’s not easy .. I get it. As others have said, the gloss sometimes wears off once reality bites of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Coco30

Hi

Did you move back home in the end…and if so how did it go? Hope we’ll if you did.
    Similar situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭beachhead

Yes,before 1979 and the general election that year Ireland's was mickey mouse money-easily repaid in the time allowed.Then FF organised a giveaway of our own money.They won landslide victory and the national debt has ballooned every year since.The BAILOUT is a small part of our debt .

One poster said pay for your relatives to visit you.It's a lot cheaper to buy tickets here to travel to the US than vice versa.One particular US airline I would call notorious for their rip off fares to Ireland.

I have the same advice for my relatives in the US-stay exactly where you are

I think you have a valid point here. OPs children are now half grown and the next few years will fly by. It would be awful if parents settled then have to possible watch, all their kids emigrate back to America again.

America is very expensive, Ireland equally so. OP will be shocked at the state of our health system, long waiting times and a system lacking in capacity in every area.

The weather is simply awful, this must have been one of the grayish and most overcast summers we have ever experienced. Expect to spend a small fortune on sun holidays.

Housing is at crisis point, think of the kids and the expense of college accommodation in the next 7 to 8 years. You may be mortgage free when you return but will the house require upgrading to modern standards?Labour costs now have reached eye watering levels.

From what you have written, I would stay with the comfortable life you have in America, maybe see if you can return to work there, start making a life for youself outside the home, new friends, new interests.

Only you can make the decision, some can make it work, others end up going back. Remember the Ireland you left will not the Ireland you will return to.

Goodluck with your decision.