The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

You’re wasting your time engaging.

all the Kerry players should be banned for dangerous play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭timmyntc

"There are none so blind as those who will not see"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭crusd

Neither player did anything illegal per the rules of the game, as much as ye want to say one did.

But reckless also means not making an effort to avoid a potentially dangerous situation, and a player on the ground and not in possession has more scope to do so than a player in possession in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

“There are none so biased as those who have a clear and obvious bias”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,355 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Ryan changed his position (turned) while jumping into a tackle. The tackle was coming, he jumped into it.

As the video shows, that will get penalised in rugby, which you claimed the opposite of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

I thought Clifford's challenge was reasonably ok and within the rules. A player receiving the ball and turning is always vulnerable to a shoulder as they are not prepared for it.

I thought Ryan's was more of a foul. It was dangerous and cynical and the player on the ground was dangerously exposed.

Referees should have some leeway to make a decision on dangerous play, even if technically no rule is broken, or there is no rule to cover the scenario in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

No they absolutely shouldn’t. The game should be reffed by the rulebook otherwise no one knows what exactly is the rules.

Was it a case of being too prideful?

Clifford was dominant from the first minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Have you ever read the rulebook? It is not an exhaustive list of scenarios, it is open to interpretation and offers a lot of leeway to the referee of the day. This is why HQ offer coaching and other working sessions so that referees are broadly consistent with how they apply the rulebook.

As far as Ryans incident goes, it could fall foul of 3 rules at least.

5.3 rough play

5.9 (b) charging when in possession of the ball

5.17 behave in a dangerous way to another player.

The referee should have stopped play immediately after regardless due to player welfare concerns after a blow to the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Despite DC being dominant over his man Derry still had the winning of the game with a bit of composure with the winning line in sight .Any team that plays Kerry might have to take it that DC will get above seven points so come up with their plans to get the best out of their guys .

Kerry need to be less blatant taking players out and do it subtly and without being penalised like this master of the art. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭mattser

Ulster says whinge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

It is virtually impossible to have a rule for every scenario in Gaelic football and occasionally refs have to use discretion on what is and what is not dangerous. Examples of this are where a player slips with the ball and the tackling player accidently hits them in the head or carries out a high tackle. Discretion obviously needed there. There are other scenarios too I'm sure. I though Ryan was reckless and dangerous. If there is no rule for it, there should be. But obviously the rule makers didn't think of this scenario.

I believe a strike to the head or upper body is breaking the rules. Does it matter what part of the body was used to carry out that strike? ie fist, knee, foot, elbow, bum and so on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,780 ✭✭✭dobman88

I don't think it was. Meenagh said in his post match interview that they went to win the game, not just contain Kerry and they put their trust in the players to do it and almost pulled it off.

If they went the containment route and put 2 or 3 lads permanently back, they wouldn't have got as much joy as they did over the 70mins.

I think they accepted Clifford was going to get scores and tasked McCaigue to limit him as best he could. Almost worked had they taken their scores.

Yep, he's gonna do damage regardless. Trying to limit his supply and stop his team mates from scoring were the tactics that almost got it for Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

The problem is that if the Keeper does that in a club game or a league game there’s no chance he’ll get sent off or it will be talked about. So within the accepted rules of the game it is not a foul. So now this one incident gets blown up massively because it’s in a big game. Because of the setting more than the incident itself.

It's a trade off. I think they'll be happy McC stopped him scoring or creating goals and 4 points from play(I think) is not a bad return given the player we are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Why do you keep on about rugby. GAA football and rugby are miles apart. Completely different skills, dangers involved, and rules.

Everyone (outside of Kerry) knows that Ryan got the ball, saw an opportunity to essentially get a free hit on the Derry player (as Ryan was the one in control of the ball), and swiveled his body around to try to have his arse/hip/thigh catch the Derry guy. It's rush of blood, heat of the moment stuff in the battle. It's understandable for a player to do that, but it is dangerous - could easily result in a broken jaw.

There's no point going off on a tangent about blaming stationary guys on the ground, duty of care etc. There is no concept of duty of care in GAA. Shane McGuigan didn't put himself in the trajectory of Ryans dash upfield. In the stills included in a previous post, he put out his hands assuming he would be able to make a tackle on an oncoming keeper. In the split second he wasn't expecting that Ryan would swivel his body and stick out his arse and catch him in the face. It was obvious that adjustment by the keeper was done purposely. To say otherwise is delusional.

Indeed. He extended himself to ensure he hit the player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,485 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That's the thing Clifford's was 'reasonably OK' some refs would allow it others wouldn't. If McGuigan was ready going back into Clifford with his shoulder - there would have been no debate.

It made me think of Kerry v Dublin Thurles 2001

Vinnie Murphy coming on as sub throwing the shoulders to the Kerry lads, he would have been well able for that David Clifford fella!

Here is Vinnie is in the drawn game.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,837 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

People are saying stuff happened at the last second, and showing freeze frame images. A player could run about 8 metres in a second, so it would be more correct to call it a fraction of a second. Don't expect referees to have superhuman eyesight to see what only cameras can see.

That's a strong accusation to level at any player and not one I'd throw around so lightly.

No matter what happens on a pitch, I don't believe any players go out to deliberately hurt an opponent.

Well there you have it. Accusation made.

Evidence is in the clip. He turns and extends his hips out to ensure he hit the oncoming player.

Thinking any player goes out to deliberately hurt an opponent is just absurd, and I'd say that even if it wasn't my own county man involved.

It's a heavy, awkward collision, not intenionally malicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Whelan tacitly admitting that Mc Guigan was targeted....he looked shell shocked in the last quarter and putting the ball over the bar instead of the box at the end showed this. A fit Mc Guigan could have made the difference to Derry's scoring in the last few minutes.

I think, given my almost 50 years of watching GAA that that is naive to say the least. Some players go out to take key players for the opposition out if they can. I have actually heard players say it to other players.

No idea if that was the intention here, but he certainly made sure by extending his hips out that he was going to collide with the tackler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,065 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kerry won the game on the field fair and square.

If Derry have a problem it should be with themselves for bottling it.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Jesus....

It's gonna be a lonnnnnnng fortnight around here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I was at the All Ireland final in 2005, and I don’t recall many Kerry fans claiming afterwards that Ryan McMenamin accidentally eye gouged the Gooch. I don’t think he went out onto the field that day thinking ‘May the best man win this battle,’ when going up against one of the best forwards in the country at the time