Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,941 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Debate ?

There is no debate on here, opposing opinions are not allowed or tolerated.

Its an echo chamber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,097 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Are the fans of the orange sex abuser crying cos nobody takes their memes, bad faith gibberish, inability to read an article beyond the headline and drive by dumps seriously?

"Hands tied behind your back."

FFS 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,941 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

We arent the ones to be pitied.

We arent the ones spending every day of our lives for the best part of a decade posting derogatory comments about the same person.

Trump doesnt have an unhealthy hold over us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,119 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Individuals with fringe or extreme views often claim persecution when objectively challenged, play the victim card, claim everyone is against them, etc - this happens regularly in many threads on this site, always has the same common denominator.

Anyway, back to Trump, I see at the conference in Florida he hasn't held back

“Millions of illegal aliens have stormed across our borders, it is an invasion, like a military invasion. Our rights and liberties are being torn to shreds,” he said. “Your country is being turned into a third-world hellhole, run by censors, perverts criminals and thugs.”

Not entirely sure he should be using "criminals" in there considering that a Grand Jury is currently considering recommending charges against him related to the election, there's an on-going DoJ probe and separately the federal charges over the classified documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,740 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

A "pity party" is all you can do when you can't defend Trump against the charges against him with any logic or evidence.

Sexual assault, defamation, using campaign funds as hush money, classified document charges, election interference charges across multiple states...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

What type of hold does he have on people cheering and defending a known sexual preditor, who has encouraged people to deny the outcome of an election and attack law enforcement?

Or should that be what do they see that they have in common with trump that means that he is their type of guy and they constantly need to defend him and other supporters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You haven't provided any debate yourself just whingefests and ad hominems about who is a moderator in other forums or not.

'TrUmp D3R@ng3ment Syndr0me'

More ad hominems.

Back in reality and on the subject of the thread: even Maria Bartiromo is blasting Trump for breaking key campaign objectives in term 1, like 'draining the swamp' especially in regard to the fact that all of Trump's 'best people' he hired, he's now foaming at the mouth about them because they wouldn't go along with his corrupt schema.

And one of the most pro MAGA reps in Congress is trying to distance himself from his 17-yr old sex worker scandal by showing up to a young crowd of TPUSA conservatives and lecturing them that "Margo [sic] Robbie is 'not mid'," apparently urging the audience to sexualize her further.

“There’s this big online debate raging right now, and I just want to settle as one true north for the nature of truth itself,” said Gaetz. “Margot Robbie is not mid. A ten is a ten even with Common Core math.”

Yeah no MAGA is clearly doing better than ever, and the reason there's nobody defending Trump isn't because MAGA is gross an indefensible no no no no.... it must be the particulars of an online forum that are to blame for the 'echo chamber,' yes, that's why all his supporters/the contrarians TM have are ad hominems. It must be that. Yes.

I dont have fringe or extreme views lol , I am a Centrist .

Ye guys crack me up trying to paint me as some Maga loving, far right extremist.

Ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

It's a Trump thread so people talk about that one person, trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,097 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

@MisterAnarchy

I am a Centrist

You're not even fooling yourself with this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,521 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

To be fair, MrA never claimed that, they usually stay away from that thread.

The claims (and against no one in particular) tend to be that trump would have prevented it "somehow", how, they do not know, which again, makes the claim easily dismissed.

I do however see merit in putin not invading till after a second trump presidency (even if it was GOP afterwards) as trump was dismantling and making a farce of much of the US's military power and ability to influence world politics which plays right into putins hands. trumps term in office was a boon for putin (pulling out of the open skies agreement was really really dumb, for example).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,508 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod

@notnattynate and @Snake Plisken both threadbanned

Can all posters please discuss the topic of the thread, ie Donald Trump, instead of grievances against other posters or complaining about moderation - constructive feedback can be discussed in the Help Desk forum

This is the sound of MAGA divided against itself:

They can't even keep up the charade anymore that he built a wall.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,646 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Sounds like the MAGA cult is disintegrating. About time too. Hopefully, deSantis can split the Trump vote and we get another 4 years of Biden.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

MTG-MAGA’s MVP this is real 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,366 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I, for one, couldn't make it to the end of this video..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭Harika

I love the Trump peace plan. ""I know Zelenskyy very well, and I know Putin very well, even better. And I had a good relationship, very good with both of them. I would tell Zelenskyy, no more. You got to make a deal. I would tell Putin, if you don't make a deal, we're going to give him a lot. We're going to [give Ukraine] more than they ever got if we have to. I will have the deal done in one day. One day," Trump responded."

Reality:

Selensky to Putin: Lets meet, meanwhile you leave Ukraine with your troops

Putin: hm no

Trump: ehm, I have the best plan, the bestest of all ..

Even on the twitter the Maga heads are turning away from Trump, I see a lot that feel betrayed over his vaccine stance. Cannot see him energizing his base or the swing voters in his direction. Biden would love to run against him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭looksee

You tube video:

Interviewer: what do you like about Donald Trump?

Trump supporter (eyes glow with enthusiasm) Everything, he makes me feel safe, you can trust him to tell the truth.

Interviewer: everything? give me one example

TS: er...well...you've put me on the spot, but I like everything about him.

No specific example was forthcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,024 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Probably because the vast majority of the time that appraisal of Trump is posted, it's either a) not backed up by any reputable facts, or b) minor and inconsequential to the discussion in order to deflect from legitimate serious on-going issues of far greater weight and pulling the thread down a rabbithole.

It's the equivalent to never posting on a thread about a stopped watch, and then the two points during the day when the watch is the right time, rushing in to praise the watch for being right, accusing people of having WDS, and claiming victimhood and persecution that everyone is pointing out the idiocy of those posts and that "You can't even have a genuine discussion about a stopped watch being right twice a day around here!" before storming off for another 12 hours until 11:26.29 rolls around again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭looksee

And yet another Trump support post without a single actual fact in it. No 'well he did this, it was a complete success' just whinging because no-one agrees with your stance, even though you can't clearly state what and why your stance is.

I don't care about the group-think that you claim happens here, my opinion is what it is because the man is dangerous, venal, an insecure braggart -not good in international relations - and a liar. He lies about stuff that is so easy to disprove you wonder why he bothers, then you remember that his followers only watch stations like OAN and get their news from twitter threads and his rallies. Yes, most other people here are of the same opinion - you have not given us any reason to change our minds.

Post edited by looksee on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,646 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

This.

I'd add that a massive part of the problem is that the MAGA types have wedded themselves so tightly to Trump that they can't appreciate that he's flawed or makes mistakes, even in the sense that this applies to every single human being. Therefore, the claims about Trump are always patently untrue and we don't even need to ask for a source to see that.

Nowhere was this more obvious than the claim about covid and the following comment that 3 million Indians dying would be a "nothing story". Even here in the UK, Boris Johnson was defenestrated in large part due to his actions (and inactions) with covid. With Trump, any criticism whatsoever is taken as an attack and is met with hysterical shrieking, nonsense claims about cancel culture and whataboutery.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It's the laugh of a man that has no sense of humour so he laughs in the wrong places or creates a laugh where he thinks people expect him to be laughing.

All very disturbing and , as you say - Creepy.

It's part of his public persona, in the same way that Jimmy Carr and Graham Norton fake their performance laugh.

Tucker is a performer first and foremost.

“One book, titled ‘Snorting Cocaine is Totally My Thing, Dude!’ By Eric Trump. (And a swedish-made penis enlargement pump)”

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Tell me - What value is there to an Opinion News Presenter in manufacturing a laugh that brings to mind a creepy child molester?

What audience is he targeting with that then?

Do you have even the slightest hint of a shred of evidence to back up that frankly ridiculous claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭Hoop66

HOW DARE YOU SUGGEST HE IS A CHILD MOLESTER! etc etc etc

There's nothing surprising about it.

We could say the same about Donald Trump. He builds a persona and presents that persona to the public. Some of it is legitimate whereas other parts are confected.

We can agree or disagree or like or dislike that presentation, but it's undeniable that public figures that prominent with the public often deliberately curate an image / presentation.

Entirely not the point.

Of course people have a "public persona" and for some that persona is vastly different to the person they are in Private.

But that's not the question at hand.

The question is about his creepy child-molester laugh - A poster noted its oddity and you leapt to his defence to claim that it wasn't his "real" laugh but a created one just like apparently Graham Norton or Jimmy Carr (claims you also make without any evidence).

Now , when challenged to provide any evidence that he is deliberately using a fake laugh in Public you deflect with the above nonsense.

He has a creepy laugh , he has always had a creepy laugh - even before his original persona morphed into the far-right provocateur one that he uses today.

Why you feel the need to always run air-cover for all these guys I will never quite comprehend.

Neither of us can definitely prove or disprove the claim.

But I think it's far more likely that it's adopted for persona reasons as there is a great deal of precedent in this area.