Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Can't wait for the next 2 week's listening to all the Dublin and Kerry fans pretending they're underdog's. Clown show. Been the 2 favourites all year. Been an absolute embarrassment all year playing down their chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭jack67

Nah he'll probably side with the away team 🙄

I'd have Kerry as favs, Kerry are the All Ireland Champions , they got the monkey of there back last year and have youth on there side

and have no fear of this aging Dublin team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,847 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Well maybe 200 k was high , but kilkenny and Kerry are mostly 1 sport counties . Kilkenny doesn’t even enter a football team , Kerry, has a decent enough hurling team , but football is king .

Kerry make a good honest effort at hurling and other sports like soccer and basketball aren't too bad. Kilkenny on the other hand are disgraceful in their efforts but can you blame them? Such a small county who wouldn't win much if they split their efforts Into other sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,847 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I know Kerry have a decent Hurling team and a league basketball team But football is king. My point was you probably need a 100,000 population or close to it to be at the top table in football. That’s why I think roscommon are the exception

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The theme of the last few pages driven by a few, including yourself, is that Kerry were cut open and lucky to win while they only did so because the ref- you have said it over and over.

Now you’re saying it was an inevitability that they were in the final as they are so good and playing down their chances has been ridiculous.

The mental gymnastics you’re playing are fairly wild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Clifford cleaned McKeague for the 80 minutes, which there is no shame in, but the lack of a plan B was the biggest failing from a Derry POV.

It's no surprise that Clifford is very good, but have some plan on place for him, double team him or something. Don't leave the same guy floundering on him, and carrying a yellow card to boot, even if he is your best individual man marker.

It's an old adage in these big games in all sports, don't let their star man beat you. Close him down and see if they have someone else to step up, and Derry didn't do that.

Derry will have huge regret this week, be important to see how they react because they are a talented squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Monaghan have a small population also, about 60k. I really think counties like Monaghan and Roscommon should be focused on by the GAA to somehow give them that extra push to make AI finals. It just feels like they are knocking on the door for years, but are generally a couple players and maybe a few backroom members short of making AI finals. Its hugely difficult for the smaller counties to make the step up to AI final level.

It feels like we are in for yet more years of Kerry and Dublin dominance. The rest like Roscommon, Galway, Monaghan, Derry, etc have reached a level but just can't go that further step of reaching finals or winning outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Seadin

Ok we understand you, Kerry are going to win the All Ireland, Dublin havent a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Do they want the likes of Derry, Roscommon or Monaghan involved in finals though?

Financially, it's more lucrative to have the big guns involved year in year out, casual fans can get to know their favorite teams and players and not have culchies and Nordies stinking the place out of it. There are only so many bums on seats and TV subs the likes of Derry, Roscommon and Monaghan can provide too, so it's a losing game for HQ. Even look at the snobbery around here when these teams play their own game to give themselves a chance, anti - football comments and the likes.

From a marketing point of view, there would be better return investing in getting Meath, Cork, maybe Kildare and Galway/Mayo competing for and winning all Ireland's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,633 ✭✭✭timmyntc

The game was Derrys to lose at half time, and they lost it. You cant blame the referee for that.

They lack the game management ability that the top teams all have - slowing down the game when momentum is with the other team, lots of fouls high up the pitch to slow their counterattacks, and shite lateral handpassing to settle things when they do get possession back.

All the top teams do it when they are a bit ropey to kill the momentum of the game. Derry kept attacking and ended up with poor shot selection and silly turnovers that Kerry exploited massively because they had such momentum in that 2nd half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Putting two men on David Clifford would leave gaps elsewhere for Geaney, O'Shea etc to exploit.

You can get tight to David Clifford though as he spins his man with ease, tremendous strength and power. The only other option I can think of is marking 'the space' around him and not Clifford himself.

To me Clifford is very similar type of player to former Donegal player Michael Murphy -

1) A Constant workhorse (as seen by his chasing back deep in his own half yesterday)

2) Tremendous strength

3) Tremendous Core Strength/balance

4) Has lots of pace (Murphy did when he was younger)

5) Great in the air - the advanced mark is child's play for him

6) Can take a score from long range with ease

7) Is a head up footballer and can bring others into the game

--

If anyone has any other ideas to stop David Clifford - send them on to Dessie Farrell and the Dublin County Board!

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭flasher0030

But surely it is testament to how good he really is that that average enough Kerry team won the All-Ireland last year, and are in it again this year - and nobody can deny that without David Clifford that would not have happened. And he got player of the year last year, and odds on favourite again to win it this year.

He is incredible. People chipping away here out of begrudgery. Nobody knows yet how his career will progress, but in the 6 years that he has come on the scene, he has been the greatest player ever at that particular age anyway - from 18 to 24. Hard to believe he is still only 24. If he can continue to keep fit, and maintain the desire to continue with the sacrifices that go with intercounty football for another 6 years, he will be a phenomenon. The man scored 4 goals and 4 points in a minor match only 6 years ago. That's amazing and was a foretell of what was to come.

Some awful stupid comments on here - someone questioning his skill levels. There was some comment down-playing the incredible piece of skill that he did in the Tyrone game. I was sitting in the Hogan very close when that happened. And you could hear the awe spreading through the crowd when he kicked it back over his shoulder. It was one of those moments - "did he really do that". To have the speed of thought to realise that if 2 Tyrone guys were close to him, that there should be a free Kerry guy inside, and to actually be able to execute the kick in 2 seconds is excellent. No other player in the game would have done that move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,984 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I think an average enough Kerry team won an All Ireland because everyone else is fairly average at the minute. They probably wouldn't have done it without him though and yes his skill should not be questioned.

"The greatest player his age" though I don't know. Maybe he is maybe he isn't and to be honest I find this things hard to judge and don't really agree with statements that definitive about any player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,308 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

"The greatest player his age" though I don't know

He might only end up with one All Ireland.

They are an average enough team, I'd expect Dublin to beat them this year.

And looking beyond that, Galway have some lovely forwards so I'd expect them to be in the mix for the next few years.

It's inevitable that Dublin and Kerry when you factor in they always get the majority of close calls in close games. At this point the GAA look worse then FIFA. At least they pretend they want minnow's to make finals. If the gaa could have a Dublin v Kerry final every year for eternity they'd be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

People who talk endlessly about biased referees are the emptiest vessels in sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,855 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's a very subtle conspiracy. They get the majority of close calls, enough to see them over the line. But the referee also gives a minority of close calls to the opposition, so as not to make it seem too blatant. Congratulations to all involved in this conspiracy, and I hope the referees are getting well paid for their co-operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Thought the Clifford hit was fair. However, I am beginning to wonder about the shoulder rule these days. There are some very big hits going in that are within the rules but do have the potential to injure players. There are generally not a huge amount of shoulders in a match. But when the big hit comes in (like Clifford’s for example), could there be a day when the player on the receiving end doesn’t get up?

I’m not sure myself on whether I’d get rid of the rule. Just more that it could be looked at a bit more closely. Reading this thread, it looks like the Clifford shoulder has divided opinions so how clear is the rule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,978 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I did wonder about McKaigue being left one on one with Clifford, especially since none of the other Kerry forwards were much use, perhaps he could have been given more help.

But then it also seems clear that Derry had a gameplan to control the ball and it did not allow for two man markers. They clearly felt it better to control the ball at source rather than trying to mark Clifford, which was shown well by that instance in the 2nd half where they felt comfortable leaving Clifford all on his own while they had the ball.

Its hard to say that their plan didn't work. They did control the game, for all the talk Clifford did only score 4 from play, all the other forwards were very subdued. It was a good gameplan that put a div 2 side in touching distance of the final so its hard to argue with that one part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,894 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Why would there be a conspiracy to favour Kerry? Isnt one of the age old, not particularly funny, comments that we dont bring big numbers of supporters to games.

The GAA do worse financially by having Kerry in the latter stages - a Derry v Tyrone semi would have sold out and the final will sell out no matter what.

There is a commercial benefit in favouring Dublin as they have the biggest population and is the wealthiest part of the country, etc. although they win because they have excellent players

What benefit is there for the GAA in favouring Kerry so? Thats not a rhetorical question either - I would love to hear your reasoning for constantly saying this.

I have to agree that Kerry are favourites.

However, will it be as easy for them to target one player to take them out of the game like they did with McGuigan yesterday? You could target Costello, Con or Fenton, but not all three. Kerry got away with an awful lot yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,978 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

While the Ryan hit was worse than the Clifford hit, I thought both were bad and deserved cards.

How the ref did not stop the game after the Ryan hit was beyond me. I heard people saying he did nothing wrong, that it was just unfortunate that a player got whacked in the head with one of the most solid parts of the human body.

But who gives a **** whose fault it was or whether he meant to do it, why is there not a strict duty of care to make sure the other player is safe?

If you can jump into a players head like that and then claim that no rules were broken then that is a problem for the sport. It absolutely should follow Rugby in that the onus should be on all not to make contact with another players head, and all should get disciplined if it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,730 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Like Monaghan, they got a lot right but just didn't convert their chances.

Will be an interesting final, two defences that can be breached (quite easily at times) with two sets of forwards that would be more consistent/clinical scorers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,730 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Not so much biased as bad and inconsistent would be my view.

Absolutely agree, it was shocking that the ref let it go.