Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Musicrules

You're ignoring player development budgets, coaching budgets, strength and conditioning budgets, spend on staff to oversee it all etc. This is just for underage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I don’t subscribe totally to that argument. Money didn’t make David Clifford but it directly/indirectly certainly made sure that he was never ever going to go to Australia.

Money certainly helps even in GAA and it’s disingenuous to say otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

thw Kerry under 14s are financially doped

The issue is that there are professional organisations competing against amateur organisations and people pretending it's fair. It clearly isn't. Do you think those players you listed are better because of top class strength and conditioning coaching, skills coaching etc from a young age?

We need a fairer, balanced system, how can competitions be fair with counties spending millions more than others?

Send them onto me there and I’ll take a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Newtown90

My sides hurt after reading this one. Goodnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,738 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

You're right. I'm amazed how people can't see that or maybe just don't want accept truth.

Better luck to Kerry, Limerick and Dubs if they get it. I wish my own county had not fucked away money in past and its caught up with us.

But to think money does not help is laughable.

EVENFLOW

There’s huge money being pumped into the fossa under 14s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭crusd

Is the man of the match and best performance necessarily the same thing? If you are on the losing side, by definition you were unable to influence the match enough, whereas as the best player on the winning side had a direct impact on the outcome of the game. Therefore for a player on the losing side to win man of the match you need to have been exceptional.

Also, who has ever seen a player on the losing side pleased to get man of the match

Post edited by crusd on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

2 decent games, both competitive with a little controversy but ultimately the better team won on both days.

Dublin closed out well yesterday, Monaghan in fairness just died out and couldn't close the deal. They played very well, but weren't clinical enough early on especially, and I never really believed they were going to win it. Dublin's squad strength were the difference, Monaghan just ran out of able bodies but can be rightly proud of their efforts.

Derry on the other hand will have a lot of regrets. That game was there for them, they had numerous chances, goal chances, easy points missed, unable to closedown Kerry's main man (an extraordinary player). They really left this behind them, and when Kerry came at them late on they had no energy and couldn't respond. A gallant effort, but just a little short. I don't think the referee beat them, but they came out the wrong side on a few calls, and I'm of the belief that the bang on McGuigan by Ryan had a huge effect on McGuigan, he wasn't the same player after that.

It’s funny how people scrap and claw for a man of the match after they have lost.

ok grand one of your players was the bestest boy on the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

All the smartarses putting together strawman arguments.

Of course money makes a difference, look at the correlation between funding and Dublin and Limericks success.

There may not be big money being pumped into Fossa but there is relatively big money pumped into Kerry development squads, underage teams, and the senior setup.

This means that lads like Clifford never had to endure second best while in the Kerry setup making the probability of players like him reaching his maximum potential far more likely.

This in itself is a positive feedback loop. Better funding means more success which makes playing football more attractive to youngsters in the county. Hence, maximising the potential playing pool of players playing the game at all ages.

I'm actually surprised posters don’t think funding plays any part. It’s head in the sand stuff!

Look at soccer and rugby domestically as examples. One is very well funded and the other isn’t. You think if the the IRFU hadn’t of had invested so much in the game in the last 30 years they’ve have had anywhere near the success they’ve enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,984 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Christ Dublin are back in a final and we are back to this shte within 24hrs.

Did we not have whole threads set up for this crap so that we don't have to listen to it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭kerryjack

What kind of money/ give me a breakdown.

all the smartarses are taking about hypothetical figures but not backing it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Treble double

I was very pessimistic about these two semis but they turned out to be very good games. I thought Derry were going to rely on hitting Kerry on the counter and parking the bus other than that, but teams now realise that if you sit back against Kerry and Dublin, they will pick you apart. They kept Kerry honest by running at them in huge numbers using the keeper as an extra man and punching holes and kicking scores, if there finishing had held up and they got the lead out to four points I think Kerry were goosed.

Both Dublin and Kerry seemed to be thrown by their opponents approach, Kerry really upped their tackling intensity in the second half and turned Derry over a few times. Monaghan never led Dublin which was a killer and Dublin powered on in the last 10 with Fenton and the bench to the fore. The approach fom the underdogs in both games was really interesting and made for good viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,824 ✭✭✭corny

For all the talk of the McKaigue V Clifford battle did anyone else think McKaigue was just awful, and I mean awful.

Clifford is a super player and will make it difficult for the best defenders in the country but even so. Clifford's first point set the tone. He turned inside and McKaigue turned like the bus i get to work.

The panelists prior to the game did McKaigue no favours at all, they bigged him up to the hilt. You'd swear McKaigue was Fort Knox and Clifford would struggle to catch his breath much less a ball.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

McCaigue should have been sent off for persistent fouling.

Gave away 4/5 frees after his yellow, including a blatant body check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭MacDanger

That last free was an awful misjudgement from Mcguigan, brutal stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

He extended his backside quite deliberately. That was a red card. Laughable to hear them on the Sunday Game saying it was "possibly a free".

Counties like Kerry, Dublin and Limerick don't like the financial aspect of their success to be discussed and try to shut it down with similar nonsense that we've seen in this thread. They're also the most opposed to having their financial accounts released in full. Obviously that is in their interest but why is every other county just accepting this? Financial fair play needs to be brought into Gaelic Games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Gael85

McKaigue must be 34. A big ask for him to curtail Clifford. Doesn't well for Dublin considering Fitzsimons he is a year older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

If you expect refs to issue red cards for extending backsides then you’re on the side of what is laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Treble double

Whatever about the financial side of things player numbers is big advantage for the most successful counties. I would love to see a list of the number of adult club players in each county, I have no doubt Kerry and Dublin would be up near the top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,984 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Would you have any proof for any of that.

Show me where those counties are the ones blocking the release of figures. Show me sponsorship figures.

Funny how Kerry are suddenly getting mentioned because it suits the sour cnts.

Where is the crying about Cork, Tipp, Galway, Wicklow ?

When Fermanagh lose to Clare do we all get to cry about how O'Donnell is a sugar daddy.

How about when Wexford beat Carlow or Down beat Monaghan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,978 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Since I was the one who made the original point, well, I'm not from Derry and none of them are my players.

Which makes your post rather useless really, but I'm sure it sounded smart in your head.

More nonsense, whataboutery, strawman arguments etc. I didn't say anyone was blocking figures being released but as we can see, they're the most opposed to it. Do you not agree with having an open, fair and balanced financial system within the GAA, if not, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,855 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Kerry have been winning All Irelands for 120 years, 38 in total. Roughly the same number of titles every 20 years, and no more successful in the most recent 20 years than previous eras.

And since you introduced hurling into the discussion, were Kilkenny spending more than the rest when they won 11 titles from 2000 to 2015? A far better return than previous eras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Fenton & Mccarthy are better than anything Kerry have to offer around the middle and I think that'll probably be the difference in two weeks time; that said, Jack Barry typically does well against Fenton so it'll be v tight