Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭older by the day

What I'm saying is that 60 milking cows is plenty to make a living. The sfp, anc, acres, should bring say 20, let the cow bring in 800 net 48000. Calves, dry cows a few grand that's over 70. Let the wife bring in 20 that's 90.

What I was saying that plenty for the normal guy. But there are lads here who spend that on machinery and gadgets every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Maby plenty if no family to support ….no mortgage ….no debt etc etc 60 cows would of reared and educated a family once ….not now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,451 ✭✭✭tanko

The social democrats aren’t part of the current government. Who will the the dairy farmers vote for?

I have six children. It's all what your used too. Give up the old cocaine.

There's something wrong if you can't survive on 90000. Give up those "good cows" and get a few handy ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭alps

You'll see farmer candidates if the derogation is lost. There will be no forgivness of government TD's in Cork if thngs go tits up. Be assured, the TD's know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,519 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There is a decent living off anything over about 50 cows where you are not stocked much above 200kgsN/HA. With numbers like that you can have attention to detail.

A farmer able to push over the 6K litres without going into band 3. No fancy toys no LC fairly decent tractor. Able to write down tax against the spouse that is working car expenses, not in a company set up, as kids hit 14-15 use them to shelter such income. Knew if one family where this happened and the cash was withdrawn every week to do the shopping.

At 60-70 cows you are starting to hit the comfort zone if the spouse has a decent job. The farmer not ran off there feet so able to do the school runs.

If they have the leeway to to maximize calf and cull value a bit this helps as well.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Would you think they'll get anywhere near enough votes if they do materialise? Beyond dairy farmers I'm not sure if anyone really cares about the derogation going. A few Matty McGrath's extra won't change the course that all the parties are likely to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Ifs …buts …navy’s ….tgeres always mantinance around farm ..unforeseens ….contractors doing lots work which needs income generated to do so …50/60 cows on your scenario above with high 50s base Yeadh ….same scenario at current price and costs and throw in mortgage ,farm debt and any legacy payments to family etc no chance ….I say this as someone with a modest farm just under 100 cows …have debt ..have legacy payments ..mortgage and kids and wife who works ….don’t have a very extravagant life but happy enough ……I’m lucky in that most farm debt nearly done if starting again now with current legislation etc and money I’d have to spend to comply couldn’t do it …reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,146 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What does a typical 60 cow farm in derogation, with maybe 70 owned acres do, rambling on about acres payments cherry-picking the perfect farm scenarios for your above examples its right out of the teagasc playbook

Mist of these farms are not in the hot dairy area's of Cork or the East coast. The still have access rental land at 200-250 /acre There was a rental standoff locally between a dairy farmer and the land owner he was renting 30-40 acres near him from.

He had been paying 180/ acre, land owner wanted 400. The Dairy farmer got it in the end for 250 according to the PRA I was told. If he was renewing the lease now it would be back nearer 200/acre as heat has gone out of the market locally over the last three months.

Locally most of the dairy farmers are at about a cow to 1.5 acres between owned and rented. Yes there is a few dairy only with all calves sold. Cow numbers are from about 50 up.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

You've nailed many a scenario there. This is half the dairy farmers in the country. 70 acres owned and no chance of holding onto rented ground, no chance of rearing replacements in future, no chance of running a reserve for repairs and maintainence, upgrading machinery, pulling through a TB breakdown etc..

Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story, alot of expanded farms where scenarios where father/son/daughter operations needed to go from 80 cows to 140 plus to generate two incomes, and ground was rented, our existing ground used to facilitate this, harping on now that these farms will be grand going back to 70-80 cows when two incomes are needed is bulls**t to put it mildly....

Combine this with a lot of these farms maybe having been getting a nice tidy sfp of 30k plus a year, now looking at under 20k and sliding to closer 15k by 2025 its a perfect storm

Some would, and why would you predetermine them as Matty McGrath's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭straight

Locally most of the dairy farmers are at about a cow to 1.5 acres between owned and rented. Yes there is a few dairy only with all calves sold. Cow numbers are from about 50 up.

That would be the case locally here too and quite representative. It seems to be more the lads up the country and further east that lost the head altogether.

You could give some lads 200 cows and they couldn't live off them. That was always the case.

That "generate two incomes" was a teagasc/IFJ stunt just like "build up the cow numbers and the facilities can follow later".

In what way, alot of new entrants around here that would of been good sized beef holdings that have been switched to dairying with it been a father/son venture, with two wages been taken from the farm, before that it was the father working away with the son helping part-time outside of his previous job, one man units are fine in theory but you really do become a slave to the place, and theirs always the fear of a accident putting you out of action, which leaves you seriously exposed re day to day running of farm

Was this not the whole Greenfields scenario along with rental land. Outwintering pad ( then changed to cubicles) roofed open parlour (worked a treat with the beast from the east), no meal feeding. As George Best was told ''where did it all go wrong''.

IFJ were definately prompting it. There was a lad from Galway with 130+ cows on it 8-10 years ago and a couple lads from Cork. We discussed it on this forum 5+ years ago.

10 years ago the labour solution for second and third units was an Eastern European couple given accommodation in an house and paid minimum wage to manage the 48 hour week rule. The theory was the male would do most of the work but his spouses hours would cover the legal requirements. We had lads trying to justify at the time charging them 800/month rental for the house as it was 3-4 bedroom house( which they really did not need)

The upshot was when most learned a bit of English they found work elsewhere.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Very hard to see how they pull in a wider vote without being a similar type politician. All of the main parties will go along with this.

Dairy farmers are very much in the minority. In order to get non dairy farmers to vote for them, what will the pro derogation TD offer to the wider audience? And where are they now?

The man was asking about working full-time or could you stay at home on sixty cows.

I didn't know he lost all leave of his faculties when quota's went and is overstocked and overpaying for rented land. (He may own what he has and is running a proper farm).

How would any normal household live on a wage say a council worker on 45000. When some People here can't rear a family on 90000. People have to watch there out goings that's all I was saying

Father and son operation are flawed concepts. What happens when the father hits late 60's and wants to step back.

There tends to be a generational length heading to 30+ years now. The father+son operation are dependent of grand child falling in when they hits late teens with generational length that is in place now.

There is one such operation locally where the father is now milking nearly 300 cows by himself at present less than 20 miles from me, he is over sixty years of age.

Slava Ukrainii

Already am, between cosecure, blocks, dry cow minerals, extra protected minerals in the meal, the above works okay once molybdenum levels are under 3 mg/kg, and iron levels are low but when your dealing with this stuff it's just damage limitation only I have maize to dilute the 1st cut with for the winter I'd be screwed

On the above sample copper to molybdenum ratio is around 1.5 like i said its poison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭farmertipp

I'm told she hasn't a hope of getting re elected?

As I've said previously, the whole industry is built on slave labour. There is no easy way. Father and son only last so long unfortunately.

I was in a partnership with my parents for a while but my parents were only half committed to be honest. The tax consultants and solicitors were the only people that benefitted from it.

There is 80 to 100 hours a week work on most farms. That's 2 labour units and if that can't be paid then it is unviable without a bit of slavery. That's farming...

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

I think it's interesting that almost all the people I've heard going on about how they're going to go to the wall if they're forced to cut cow numbers almost always have brand new tractors in the yard

Been put out of a 65 acre block here of wet Midlands ground at the foot of the slieve blooms by a tillage man, he's apparently giving 370 a acre and giving all the sfp back, space for nature on this block is 20% too so farmable ground is nearer 50 acres, was giving 220 a acre for 2 cuts of silage, no maps etc....

Your really taking the piss now 200/ha give over

That should all have been in acres it was a missprint

Slava Ukrainii

Yes.

Half the lies aren't true you know.

Years upon years of hearsay..

The Irish ingrained mentality towards rules is "how do I get around that".

Years of evolution of this repetitive mantra manifests on line with everything being the fault of everyone else's advise.

You won't find a single document advising farmers to expand without facilities. Woodchip pads we're considered a viable option which worked as a viable holding tactic to get in place another option, but in no case was contradiction of regulation ever put forward.

Any farmers I know that expanded did so in line with much if not most of teagasc advise. They have built serious businesses, making eyewatering profits and will steer through any upcoming regulation changes with ease such is their financial strength.