Red Angus, anyone used them?

• 14-07-2023 01:27PM
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

With the way the black Aberdeen Angus bulls have gone more ratlike with every generation to suit dairy farmer demand I'm finding it impossible to find a decent AA bull. Has anyone here used Red AA bulls instead and what were the cattle like as sucklers? I'm thinking of going red this time.

My breeding program has mainly been criss cross Angus and Aubrac for a good few years now. So cows are either 2/3 Aubrac 1/3 AA or the other way round. Usually when buying an AA bull I'd lean more towards stronger maternal traits like milk kg. When choosing an Aubrac bull I'd usually go more on the terminal side, especially conformation to try compensate for the weakness in the AA side.

Having said all that I've basically culled all the daughters of the last AA bull, his ebi dropped like a stone, or should I say imploded like a small sub exploring the Titanic. I think I had one U grade carcass after him.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I wouldn’t like a red bull for the fact that the gene pool is smaller. Harder get a good one like.

you probably need a Scottish bred bull. Lot of the ones bred here are to small

maybe breed your own ?

https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/pedigree-red-carrier-angus-heifers/33979863

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

I have used red angus AI straws the last few years on suckler heifers. Given me nice calves and sold well as weanlings. Never kept one for breeding yet!

Have red Angus stock bull here with fr dairy herd. Some of our finest calves in years. As a result I have kept about 75% of what was born, usually would sell over most at 6 to 8 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Gudstock

3 x AA7308 this spring off of 2 yr old Sim maidens. Popped out no bother, but other than that not impressed. Too butty, no power, ugly head imo. Go with a good black angus, maybe talk to a big breeder or society to see what outcrosses would suit suckling system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,450 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My eldest lad is into all things Angus. He wouldn't dare even look at a red Angus. Check out his page priestown Angus on Facebook. If you're looking for a bull he could look over the back breeding for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,321 ✭✭✭White Clover

Had one red Angus heifer by ZLT about 3 years ago. She killed 337kg O+4= at 27 months. She was off of a 80%Ho 20%fr cow with a very low EBI. I wouldn’t say no to a few of them heifers each year.

Majority of Angus out there at the moment are rubbish and are mated with handy light little cows. The resultant offspring is more rubbish.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Would that be due to grandad's influence? Just finding it impossible to get a decent Angus bull for a suckler herd.

1 star for carcass conf wouldn't do much for me either, although he is +10kg for milk. Stars dropping like a stone would be nothing new either.

Send him a message, he has a lot of contacts and he could source something if you want.

That's our stock bull born November 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

He’s breeding good stuff, some great cows. Suppose you’re helping him by letting one of his bulls run with your cows … to make sure they’re breeding right

Have a Hereford with the cows atm. Have one of his Angus with the heifers. Ye nice herd there atm. It's a good interest . He's heading off to England with an Angus group for farm visits soon. I'll be left in charge

I know a lad breeding AA, he’s got €4,000+ for bulls this year at home from repeat Dairy farmers. He’s great quality but have very little stars as older lines. No matter the breed it appears hard to get something to fit all

Ye. Great market for Angus bulls atm.

Brave man … he’s the right age and those trips are interesting and very good to do. There’s lots to be picked up from seeing other farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭capslock88

Just as a matter of interest Whelan, why have you gone with a Hereford on the cows?..as an AA breeder I thought you'd be all AA?!

We had reduced our Angus numbers before eldest lad got back into them. I didn't have an older Angus bull to go with my dairy herd. We used to run a whitehead with the dairy herd years ago , just a bit of a change really. Still have an Angus bull with my Friesian heifers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭TokenJogger

Red Angus is a very dominant breed in Canada, a thoroughly harsher climate +30 during the summer and outwintered down to -15 in the winter

Produces a top quality carcass with superb flavour and tenderness

It's now a separate breed from the originally Irish / Scottish lines. Eventually someone more enterprising than me will bring straws and herds in to create a proper beef sector instead of the current half cast scutter frisian yokes

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

IMG_1895.jpeg

Well he has arrived, and wasn’t long getting to work.

Best of luck with him. Where did you buy him from

Not directly from Lisduff, but a pedigree breeder had him for 2 years and no longer needed him as he has yearling heifers by him.

Young lad was in Prague at the world Angus convention. There was an American there and someone asked him his opinion on red Angus. He said I'd rather be dead than use red.

Well I’m still alive so far anyway! What’s the story whelan2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

Sorry blue, only saw thread now, I bought AA's off a dairy farmer with red bull, big boned calves. Lads were mad for red heifers, soo I got red bulls and black heifers. Have two calved this year, no shortage of milk anyway as they both reared two calves for 2 months. Bit taller than traditional as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Gudstock

Have 2 heifers and 1 bull by Red Lamborghini AI bull off Sim 1st calvers, not impressed, calves are short and pointed rears, like a different species compared to Matteo AA calves off of compatriot heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭farmer2018

I have a dairy herd as well as Angus. I think the Hereford progeny out of Friesan cows are superior to Angus, I don't see how the demand for Angus is way out in front. Hereford as a breed not going well.

I know dairy farmers that wouldn't touch an Angus bull again due to such poor prices for calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

His figures seem to be dropping like a stone alright. https://webapp.icbf.com/v2/app/bull-search/view/1890850418

Not your fault if he appeared to be a half decent bull when you put the heifers in calf and now has 2 stars for replacement and 1 for terminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I’ve a bull calf off of him (red Lamborghini) too and middling yoke, disappointing as heifer was BBXLMX SA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭ABitofsense

Fairly annoying how fast the figures changed on him. I put him on a LMx heifer and he's a worst calf I have this year and eats more than any of them. Stuck in the creep. Not turning it into weight tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭tanko