If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Down at 1.88kg/ Ms here between 3 and 4 kg being fed but grass quality variable, should have topped more when weather broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,383 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Latest kite podcast on Spotify is really interesting where they have a kiwi consultant on, was refreshing to hear a proper breakdown of farm operating expenses basically the figure tesagasc use here when calculating dairy farm incomes and then he gives the actual costs including debt and intrest repayments that arrive at break-even cost of production.....

On farm inputs inflation for 2022/ 2023 forecasted is up 33% on 2021 and the cost of producing a kilo of milk solids is nearly hitting 6 dollars a kilo with intrest and capital repayments adding on another 2 dollars 50 cent for your average new zealand dairy farmer, the higher leveraged farms are over 4 dollars a kilo for capital and intrest repayments....

Forecasted milk payout is sitting at around 8 dollars a kilo, our circa 35 euro cent a litre, intrest rates have effectively over doubled from 3.5% to nearing 8% and that's what's killing farms out their

Much issue with wholecrop going off accross pit- face with so little been used daily....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,942 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

None bar along outside wall where a few fookin rats got in and started breeding ….small narrow pit ….cut with shear grab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Grueller

Down at 1.9kg/Ms here 2 kg nuts in parlour and grass. Grass quality is coming right now again from this week on. Had to finish wading through stemmy sh1te until now. Hoping for a bounce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 captain hadley

Do you feed Roches by any chance not great this year dairygold way better and it was the other way before. Pure dust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Left Roches here, got snotty with me when I pulled them on imported sh1te and fillers so we went our separate ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭mayota

Hi all, Just to let the National Council know that IFA was approached by RTE yesterday afternoon for a representative to debate with Holly Cairns on Primetime last night. After considering the nature of the likely debate, we put forward Aine O’Connell, our Dairy Policy Executive. Aine has a Ph.D in Dairy science, has considerable experience of the national and global sector and is a member of the Department’s Calf Stakeholder forum. When the Press Office went back to Primetime, they declined to include her in the programme. Following this, IFA wrote to the programme registering our disappointment that, despite the short notice we were given, we had identified a person who could talk very knowledgeably on this issue, but the programme chose not to use her.

From IFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭straight

Fair play. I guess fran preferred to say that everyone refused to come on. It was much better for him to just get one side across to push his agenda. Holly was a typical politician, full of hot air and lies.

Yep no issue with nut quality ….quality of the various elements that go into a mix I would have …just seems to be no punch in nuts this year …..I hear similar from lads buying off other mills in area this year too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 captain hadley

I find them alright to deal with but I'll mention it when they come looking for money paying enough for it to be poor feed.

My vet told me the dairygold nut to help prevent grass scour in calves was a lot better than Roches. I lost a calf and had another one down for 3 days but she’s fine now. Notice my calves are a very brown colour, not black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,314 ✭✭✭alps

RTE just looking for a victim, and that wouldn't have happened if a female farmer rep came on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I was just back from Bandon last night and saw Holly on making a big deal about how she was the only person willing to go on the show. Some joke from RTE that they wouldn't let Aine O’Connell on. Holly wants the very same as the greens. No live exports and nothing but organic basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,314 ✭✭✭alps

Screenshot_20230714_154624_Gallery.jpg

Bad Yoke

Could be molybdenum issues locking up copper, tested first cut here for mineral analysis and its poison, re sky high molybdenum and iron, 1st cut silage if feed to cows as their main feed would lead to serious issues and deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭cosatron

Dose of cobalt should sort out the brown colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,686 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

We are living in some weird dystopian existence in Ireland at present.

Over in the US screenwriters have been on strike the past 120 days over Artificial Intelligence. Now the actors have joined the cause.

I would not be in the least bit be surprised if AI is now running this country with predefined targets set out by academy with a vegan ideal in their environmental target. AI knows probability on outcomes based on specific people used.

Completely off the wall but we are world leaders in technology and use and since Michael Martin came in there does seem to be this sense something changed.

*I have a reputation to uphold.😂

Roches high fibre high cereal nut for calves at grass is really really good

Aine would of wiped the floor with her …..shame she didn’t get chance to at least debate it with holly

Have rte investigates ever went into what happened in nursing homes and covid outbreaks in the early days where elderly people where left to die with no medical care where the hse refused to go into private nursing homes, it's amazing what gets buried when rte/goverment want it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,686 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Answer to that is No.

There's more money and less work involved changing to refugee accommodation. So that's occurring lately with nursing homes.

Between the dearth left of nursing homes and the one's changed to refugee accommodation. I've a sense theres no will to rock that boat.

Dairy farmers have been meal of the day to attack since I visited my first regen type meeting. It's permeated on and spread with billboards, social media. Now it's acceptable to mainstream. That's how it's started, gradual first then get the farmers themselves to accept that they are doing something wrong. You've vocal dairy farmers themselves now saying live exports are wrong. If it's stopped it's a serious blow to all agriculture in Ireland. We have the land to rear livestock and we need the external markets abroad. Grain farmers are looking at downed crops with the rain. With livestock the grass still grows.

It's all really ridiculous at present. Of course you have the types hoping biogas will solve what they see as a livestock issue. The livestock issue is the Disney attitude that no life should ever be killed. Except of course humans, abortion and assisted suicide. Personally no problem myself with it with caveats. But there's the hypocrisy. Especially when the animals death is bringing benefit to the human. But the biogas is slow to roll out so all this is rolled out ahead atm to now meet emission targets. The boats will be targeted now and this will be used to pressurise. Hopefully they stand firm and see how the welfare was good on their part. All stops be pulled out now to ensure all parts of the journeys are top notch.

On the biogas. Imagine looking to drive into fields now for cuts of multispecies swards. And that's what they want not maize used like Germany. Anyway the increased slurry storage now being demanded will be used for digestate storage if the owners get out of livestock. So win, win. But it's the energy companies dictate the price, contract arrangements, time to the AD plants who dictate to the farmers, landowners. Farmers who give out about Goodman, Tirlan now. Will be giving out about Bord Gais.

Too much rain today. 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I see we have a People Before Profit TD telling us today that the recent NDC and Bord Bia promotion of milk on "World Milk Day" (WTF?) was greenwashing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Can you not go in heavy with copper supplement for that. It locks the molybdenum up in the rumen and doesn't cause any issues then after. It's when the molybdenum goes into the blood hunting for copper that the issue occurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭older by the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

And having a party in Dublin Castle to celebrate the introduction of the abortion industry into Ireland .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Well now I just saw Holly on the primetime clip and all I ll say is switch is off the sound.but no matter we ll be waiting for you the next election she s in our constituency and all the other dairy farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

C.Daly on one night about fox hunting and how young foxs are ripped and pulled from their homes. Which is fair enough until she was on a few nights later No need to guess what she was shouting that night. Similar to Holly in that regard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭green daries

All very true but nothing to do with my post which was a reply to the suggestion of having a full-time job with 60 cows at home to be looked after as well 🤔 😳.............now thats greed and........**** hardship