Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭martinedwards

As a Northerner, so many of these names mean nothing to me!

I managed a restaurant in Belfast in the early 90s and we had a load of the NI TV folk in.

Wendy Austin wonderful. (arranged a placement for my wife on a "teachers into Industry" scheme)

Sean Rafferty. Invited me to his house in Donegal "any time i'm up seeing my family"

Pamela Ballentine works hard and plays harder

Jim McDowell (Sunday world) hilarious. I loved to see him come in.

Joe Gorrad (Mirror group chief correspondent) Horrible drunk

Not Irish but the Good Friday agreement was pretty much brokered in that restaurant.

Mo Molam was the opposite of all the previous terribly formal Northern Ireland Ministers. down to Earth and lovely.

Peter (babbling) Brook was a posh arrogant Tory

Rev Ian Paisley was much larger than life and warm and chatty with everyone

Martin McGuinness I met much later..... very warm and friendly. had a selfie with my 15 year old son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Arthur Pants
    Overlord

BOD - a complete prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

One of My sister works as a freelance TV producer and has met BOD a few times, described him as “ a real gent “

thing is , if a “ celeb “ is having an off day, the person they encounter assumes that’s how they are and a rep can easily emerge

I know people who met the Reverend Ian Paisley ( these are Catholic rural types) at the Balmoral show and found him a very jovial character, he obviously despised all things institutionally catholic but on a personal level wasn’t a cold fish , affable

never met either of them but I’ve heard it said Gerry Adams is quite aloof compared to how Martin McGuinness was ?

I’ve met Grainne Seoige twice for around a half hour on each occasion and while I don’t know her , she was very pleasant and even it was an act ?, came across as down to earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I met Marty Morrissey briefly many years ago. Got a laugh out of him when I suggested he go in front of me, while queuing at a bar in a night club in Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Met Ronan Keating and Keith Duffy in a pub outside Birr back in the late 90's.....Duffy was sound and made some chat but Keating was an arrogant arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭backwards_man

Pierce Brosnan on Silver Strand in Wicklow in the 80's, he said hi, looked very wealthy, tanned and groomed.

Met Twink twice in the 80s, once in the College of Music where I took piano lezzons, she signed autographs for all us kids, wore inches of makeup and smelled of strong perfumr, she was the most glamerous person I had ever seen in real life at the time. Met her again at the aer lingus young scientists exhibition, where I had a project, she stopped by and asked about my project. Passed her once more in Rathmines in the 00's, she drove up the bus lane and tried to cut me off at the traffic lights to turn right onto Kennleworth Sq and got stopped by a garda standing at the lights.

Used to work in a nightclub in the early 90s. Met Irish models of the day frequently, Lisa Cummins (absolutely stunning in real life), Marie Staunton, Sheena Eustace (also stunning).

Had a drink with Conan O Brien, Norm from Cheers, Ken O' Doherty in seperate incidents during the 90s in New York. All very nice, chatty and friendly, no airs. Sat in a restaurant beside Gywenth Palthrow in '97, she arrived late to her table of friends, ate nothing, smoked some cigarettes and drnk red wine. She was painfully thin and looked like any rich NYer, wouldnt pick her out of a crowd.

Gabriel Byrne on a flight to Zurich in 2001, just him and me in the first 2 rows, about 10 people on the plane in total, he is quite short, but also exuded a wealthy, groomed look. He is the most handsome man I have ever seen in real life. As we were queueing for the doors to open he smiled over at me and said the weather looks better than Dublin and winked. The air hostesses were all over him. I was mostly ignored.

Matthew McConnaught and Christian Bale on a movie set in wicklow, random encounter. Neither seemed to want to engage, understandably.

Was in Bono's house about 10 years ago through something I was arranging with his wife Ali. He was sitting drinking with a group of friends. Going through security at the gate was an experience. Lovely house. I saw plane tickets pinned to a cork board in the office room i was in, they were for Italy. Could have been for George Clooneys wedding, I didnt ask for obvious reasons.

Sat beside Brian Cowen in a restaurant near O Donohoes about 15 years ago. Worked near O Donohues in the 00's so reguarly saw Eamon Dunphy in Ely wine bar, Johnny Logan and several of RTE in o Donohues regukarly, Ryan Tubridy & Anne Doyle being the most frequent.

Met Aidan Gillan and Camille O Sullivan in the Art Gallary on Merrion St about 8 years ago and chatted for about an hour to her (our kids were playing together), had no idea who she was. Her partner was sidling up beside her to join the conversation and hurry her on and she introduced him as Aidan. Myself and the other half were watching The Wire boxset having missed it when it was originally shown at the time and couldnt believe it. He is very quiet, and shy and short. Both lovely people.

[edited to add I spoke to Huey Lewis on a skiing trail in Alta in 1998, I asked him which way down was best between w trails, I didnt realise who it was until my friends told me I had juat talked to HL.]

I dont get out much in town these day so no one recently.

Good stories, but if you DID have a drink with Conan O Brien, Norm from Cheers and Ken O' Doherty, all together, now that would be something special! 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Terrier2023

Yep Colin Farrell very rude just belched & farted in company and didnt excuse himself was suprised as he was doing a very nice charitable deed , but the manners remained in my mind.

Met a couple of Royals out hunting in the UK too, admired my irish hunter. They were lovely and spoke about how they would have loved to hunt in ireland but they couldnt for obvious reasons !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭bullpost

Not an Irish celeb, but given your username I'd have to mention running into the actor who played Renko in a pub in Dublin in the 80s. I was a big fan of the show so great to meet him.

Now that's a good story, great actor and a great director too; ER, Criminal Minds, LA Law, Murder One, Boston Legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭black & white

Sheila Eustace was at at school with my younger sister, who always said she was very nice and friendly. She was stunning as an 17/18 year old and last time I saw her, is looking well still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Kerry Katona when she was filming Showbands in the area where I live, she comes off as gobby in interviews but wasn't like that at all.

Sharon Ni Bheolain about to do an interview with someone, camera doesn't do her justice she is really good looking in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,548 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Pamela Ballantine once gave me a very cheeky wink in the cocktail bar in the grand central in Belfast ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Tribeshift

Over 20 years ago, I went on a date with Cait O'Riordan. It was the early days of online dating and I didn't have a clue who she was (only found out many years later). We both play bass so basically chatted about music the entire time. She was very friendly and chatty.

Other than that, I met Johnny Logan right before he won the Eurovision (top bloke), Nicky Byrne (very friendly) and Louis Walsh (very approachable and chatty).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,882 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Sharon Ní Bheoláin was a colleague of mine teaching at an Irish summer college in the Connemara Gaeltacht.

She was probably 21/22 at the time and when it was raining, she would take the kids for aerobics and dance classes in the village hall, wearing a nice tight outfit like something out of Fame. She did look spectacular and I've no doubt more than a few teenage lads couldn't easily stand up for a while.

However, and mark my words, a bigger walking c**t you will never meet. She is a truly draining and ignorant individual, with a superior attitude such as I'd never met. I don't hate any person, but I very deeply disliked and distrusted SNB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

Imelda May, reached out to her about some creative stuff I do and she then reshared pic of it on her socials which she didn't have to do. Same with Dave Moore, legend. Oh and Lorraine Keene too.

Louis Walsh called me once after I'd been on that MTV singing contest that you phone into, I'd lost it though, ha. Anyway he just randomly rang me house one day and asked me to sign down the phone. But then found out he thought I was 16, and I was 14, COULDA BEEN IN SIX (remember them) hahahaha, not. I'd only have forgotten my passport.

Sounds like you had a lucky escape from Louis.....😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Isn't there a french saying that celebs have a public/private life and a secret life

Most people's experience of celebs is the public and private side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭furiousox

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

yeah...Pierce Brosnan,he was doing a film in a building i was working in at the time,i got 'volunteered' to be on the door and open it when he and others involved would arrive and keep the public out...absolute gent,second morning he greeted me by name(i was kind of shocked how he knew it) and took a moment for a chat,and every morning and evening after that for the two weeks he was there..found out afterwards he had taken the time himself(no assistant involved)to find out who i was,nice guy...

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

Overlord

Just picturing Sharon in the lycra outfit here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,678 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Not surprising about Keating, one of these days I’ll figure out a way to imply my story about him without my post being deleted for defamation. And it’s not the story about Brian Kennedy before anyone jumps to that conclusion!

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

Walked past Michael Fassbender on a street in Killarney about 12 years ago - managed to string together the words "Hi Michael" to which he politely nodded and went on about his business....

As i was loading suitcases into the boot of the car in the underground car park of the City Hotel in Derry about 8 years ago, a Mercedes pulls into the space beside me and out gets Phil Coulter - no words exchanged - just a mutual nod to each other!

Fred Cooke and his missus were drunkenly arguing with each other in front of me and my wife on the street in Kilkenny one night during the cat laughs festival - think it was in 2019. Alison Spittle was in the middle of them trying to act the peacemaker..lol

Hmm wasnt some mother posting that she punched him in the face through his car window

Can't remember what it was for , it was some type of arsehole behavior if i recall

What's Daniel like

I heard he's sound to everyone and then some say the opposite , nobody allowed to talk to him etc

The wife allegedly not so sound and supposed to be a marriage of convenience

It's funny how the lads are ^^ always complaining about hot women being *****😁makes u wonder

Overlord

I think Alison was the cause of the argument - one of the pair claimed Ms. Spittle wasn't funny which kicked things off. 😂