Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Whatever about NewsTalk, Virgin Media stated the other day that they have never made an offer to Ryan Tubridy saying he doesnt fit their brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭gaming_needs90

I totally accept the reputation thing and that is always a risk but I don't agree on it being not like any job.

He is a contractor paid by RTE which is a public body with a commercial element. As he is a contractor he just names a price, most likely along with evidence of other offers to back that up.

I understand a lot of it is tay payers money and it is unsavoury in a sense but that is business. He is not a public employee, he is a contractor. It is RTE who did wrong here, they should have said X is all we can do as we are committed to reducing costs etc. Then up to RT to leave if so.

Is he supposed to say "Oh no, you are publicly funded, I really should not negotiate and drop my salary by 15%". All the while getting information of your private peers that are on higher money. I realise the amounts we are speaking about here are very large but its all relative.

It is simply business and contractual negotiations. The contractors working for public buildings do the same thing. You try to get the highest return possible.

In private employment I see this kind of attitude all the time in regards to promotions etc. "Oh its not fair. John is a smooth talker" "They don't appreciate me". Yes, it is not fair, is purely business and if you don't like it move company to improve your position. I have done this myself multiple times at this stage. A few times I have gotten the sob story, "Oh you are letting the team down" "We are really disappointed and thought you were loyal", all the usual guff.

If no one made an offer and it was just RTE being incompetent and not willing to drop RT, then more fool them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Who received all the money to market? Who owns the companies? Someone or companies profited big time.

somebody is skimming cash

RTE tells the Oireachtas Media Committee that Toy Show: The Musical sold 11,044 tickets at €451,000 - versus an original forecast of selling about 75,000 tickets (70% of total venue capacity) to garner €3.2m.

Event made a total loss of €2.2m in year one.

Toy Show the Musical was cheaper to produce and rehearse than planned - but spent far more on marketing, and fell *far* lower on ticket sales, than had been first forecast.

image.png

The musical would have broken even at 70% across all shows; RTE had actually forecast around 83.75% capacity (90,220 tickets sold) which, after commissions and fees, would have yielded €3.125m.

In the end it sold 11,044 tickets, plus 5,573 guests and 3,645 comp winners

What time is throw in today?

The fact they actually put people in jail for not paying the TV licence beggers belief.

You have lads walking the streets here in Dublin with 200+ convictions for petty theft in and out of the court back onto the streets every day.

I've not paid it and like **** I will.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

He publicly clapped himself on the back announcing he had taken a pay cut and would never be found wanting if asked again. He did all this because he was ever so moved by childhood poverty ffs.

He didn't take a pay cut, he had written confirmation that he wouldn't be asked to take one until at least 2025, and he knowingly took underhand payments to conceal the fact that he didn't take a pay cut.

He did indeed take a pay cut to his base salary. These "secret" payments came from the commercial deal with Renault and I see them as a bonus or nixer for extra work. RTE was stupid enough to underwrite them? So be it.

He certainly had other income too from speaking nixers not to do with RTE. Should we string him up for that also?

The real issue here is the ineptitude within RTE and very mixed management due to the dual public/commercial element. We just need to make it a purely public body and pay for it through taxes. This would make any side deals and commercial element null, but at the potential cost of losing talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,164 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

If you accept the reputation thing, then you must accept it isn't like any other job. Because the reputation is with the wider public.

He didn't drop his salary by 15%. Other staff were taking pay cuts, he lied to them about taking a pay cut. He pretended to take a pay cut

And then in order to get this payment, falsely described invoices were sent in.

Why was it 'wrong' for RTE to accede to his request? What was 'wrong' about it? Can you explain how something could be 'wrong' but legal?

There are many levels of 'wrong' - bearing in mind you can do something legal that destroys your career. Legal, professional, ethical, moral.

It was wrong of Tubridy to lie to his colleagues and ultimately his customers. Morally and professionally and in terms of damage to his reputation.

It was wrong of Tubridy to collude in the scheme to hide the payments from the RTE board through the mechanism of false invoices. I don't know if that conduct was illegal but needs full investigation to ensure it was compliant with tax and reporting rules.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

How do you not at this stage to be honest?

Nobody is asking him to work for fre. He went onto TV and media saying he was taking pay cuts during a time when Ireland was been crippled. He went on about donations and people gave millions to RTE during pandemic. All while he was doing dodgy deals in the background to hide what he was been paid so he didnt get bad PR

I still dont understand why people keep asking the same question? this was clear weeks ago when this first came to light

From the looks of it as well when the auditor found this backdoor payment he handed in notice and got out ASAP, which again suggest he knew this was a mess. This first statement he made to press just proved what a plonker he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭techman1

What ex-RTE chief financial officer Breda O'Keeffe did next after leaving RTE in March 2020...

Joined board of Abbey Theatre in March 2020, where there were controversial payoffs & other issues which led to resignations in 2021, including that of .... Breda O'Keeffe.

And Emma O Kelly was giving out about lack of gender equality in RTE, looks like there was too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭TruthorBust

Unbelievable that people here can’t see what Tubridy did wrong. Not illegal as far as we know but wrong and there is a difference

Now he offers to come in to the committees next week. So basically he is saying let’s wait and see what comes out this week and over the weekend so that I know what they know. Then I concoct a cover up story and go in and be questioned. If he had any decency he would go in today and tomorrow……but he hasn’t and he won’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Rather bizarre to talk about gender equality at the moment given that so many of the main actors here are female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Tubridy off air til review is over according to Newstalk.

He did though. He took a cut to his RTE salary. RTE did not have to report this. This side deal was for extra work with a commercial partner where he was paid X amount. If RTE did not underwrite this there would be 0 issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

The headings on those Toy show musical figures for expenditure are too broad. If it's just a one pager and no real break down, money is being skimmed. The expenditure is ridiculous.

😂

If you think so. What about Tubs telling RTE unless he was paid the same he would quit RTE.

Anyway you are entitled to your own opinion. Best of luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

RT/NK want a private meeting with the chairs of the committee’s first. It sounds like they want to dictate how the inquires proceed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,861 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Breaking the law is breaking the law.

The "oh look at what he done" is no excuse.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,164 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There was no side deal. There was no new money coming in from Renault for this 'extra' work.

The whole thing was a sham by RTE to funnel money to Tubridy so they could lie and pretend it was a pay cut.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭TruthorBust

Sounds typical for them. Well they need to be told no and dragged in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,482 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

They need to go bigger with the Toy Show musical. Open it on Broadway.

Private companies are just as bad though. What always happens is new entrants for the *same job* and title are given a higher salary than their peers. It happens in my current company and every company I have been in. This is immoral and unfair. Do people argue with this when coming in? You bet they don't.

The solution here is to make RTE fully public and let the forensic accounting proceed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Or looking to spill the beans on others in exchange for getting to walk away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭jmcc

Yes and that is on RTE surely. It is not RT's problem. We are all presuming he knew this was a sham, which we do not know.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,182 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

"Whataboutary" is best description of this post. Sorry to be blunt.