Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

I don’t know what this programme is about but I hope they don’t have that farmer they pulled out on the news who has 800 cows and if he had to get rid of some of them he’d go burst speaking for the ordinary farmers of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭farmertipp

we're being stitched up by a rotton corrupt entity. they should be banned from ploughing etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,516 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I know plenty of big units that were the first to make changes to breeding policy

just because you mightn’t know any isn’t to say it isn’t happening on the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭alps

Big units move faster, have financial capacity to put facilities in place quickly and have competency if working with staff so as to resource what's required here.

Gonna be tougher on single operator units. **** load of extra work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Agree with that ….4 station auto feeder be here next spring in expectation calves won’t be moving as they have been …..reality is tho money will be lost on most of these calves

getting staff for spring is a huge issue around these parts ….I see lots of bigger units looking for assistant managers or managers offering 30 k per annum …..won’t be much lads sticking there hands up at that sort of money for hours evolved weekends etc lots then aren’t set up with sheds etc to keep calves 4 weeks minimum most smaller operators are to some extent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Aren't those 30k adverts for lads a way to try loosen the visa rules to get some poor foreign lad in on even cheaper wages than they'd have to pay a local lad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭green daries

Hes welllll burst by the talk of all of sligo three large sums from relations built the place and its all been squandered ........allegedly....🤔👀

Ya it's a bit of a con to satisfy the criteria for getting non eu labour units 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

The only way labour will work out is if you have students locally to milk on weekends or young fellas at ag college who are available in the evenings during the spring paid by the milking and a generous hourly rate outside of milking for general labour.

I worked for 3 months on placement at ag college when doing the green cert after I finished school on a big unit which now has several other units established under the one company. You’d want your head examined to work for them type of operations long hours for little pay. Then you have the classic option of becoming a share farmer to tie a noose around the workers neck so they can’t leave as have money invested into the business.

I went to university after that year completed an engineering degree and now work 3 days from home and 2 on site for a multinational. In a partnership at home with the parents so this working setup allows the best of both worlds until my time to take over happens.

Then again some fellas love hardship…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭straight

And some lads think working in front of a computer is hardship. At least that's the way I used to see it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,167 ✭✭✭jaymla627

How's that going to help re labour and facilities to rear calves to a month old plus, instead of loading up the Bobby calves at 10-14 days for the Bobby job? Alot of these big units don't think it's needed to put a roof over the cows, so their hardly going to be building 5 star calf accommodation for the bull/beef calves, and taking on non-existent extra labour units to rear them....

The case on the majority of these units was always to front load dairy ai put all your attention into the first 4 weeks getting your replacement heifers reared healthy and after that Bobby the dairy bulls and flog the beef calves ASAP at 10-14 days old, as the season progresses, having to keep every single calf on farm next year for 4-6 weeks will create huge issues on alot of units that are compact calving and haven't invested heavily in calf accommodation

Would never see myself working in front of the computer for the rest of my working life either but my point was really why would anyone work for a farmer for pittance when there is so much easier ways to make more money for a fraction of the hours involved and potentially significant benefits on top of that from your employer.

Once you leave the farming circle and get some real world experience in other fields it’s easy to see why there is a labour shortage in the dairy sector. I’m sure having worked off farm previously you could agree with that.

Ya, I agree with you. Start time and finish time, holidays essential. I wouldn't work for a farmer myself I don't think. But mostly enjoy doing it for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,861 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dried off the first of the autumn calvers today. Year doesn't be long going around

It's a ireland/UK problem re low pay, done 2 years out in Australia milking cows and my average salary converted to euros was 50k a year after tax plus super annuation plus accommodation and a jeep....

That was in 2011/2012, if you asked a irish dairy farmer for the above wage package he'd likely have a stroke

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Whether you work in front of computer screen or in a milking parlour, it's the people you work with that make it good or bad. Or the people the job allows you to avoid!

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,516 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I know 3 ppl that have / are share milking

one has gone on and bought his own 50 ha farm and milks 160 at peak

one is still currently share milking and has bought 40 ha in the last few years. One bit joining where he’s milking and rest is support ground

the last one isn’t in it very long but he has bought a house with a small bit of land and is looking at ways to get involved in a business outside of farming

yes it doesn’t always work out but those 3 above that I know are happy with how things have gone for them so far. A bit of luck involved too of course but isn’t that the case everywhere

Your only ment to be putting in a 50 hour week now aswell during the spring,

I'd love to see the calf mortality rates in single man operations that achieve them work hours without lot of outside labour

Ti's all lies and bullshit I'm sick of listening to them talking scutter and then the back story is heaps of labour. loads of contractors. calves going to rearers at 10 days .every thing else going to Bobby or mart ASAP. And to top it off it takes the most of them a year to settle bills........ now I know that's not the case everywhere......... but

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

This is what’s coming Monday night. Some neck from RTE to talk about a ‘dirty secret’ when they’ve been proven to be rotten with them

7048c0c6-5fec-4776-8f39-bfe677779e84.jpeg

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

More power to them men and great to hear good luck stories. When I was in ag college we had guest speakers one day who were sharing farming they were advising us to go down that route as a way into milking and getting your own place like the example you gave.

It was complete madness in my opinion being advised by teagasc and these guest speakers to take on one unit then set up the next and so on, ‘wealth accumulation’ they called it.

With the way labour and regulations have panned out I would say success stories to follow that model would be few and far between, a decent 50ha farm would be hard got for 1.5m these days down our side of munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,466 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Worth noting Fran McNulty led the charge to the supermarkets to reduce consumer milk price.

Some sh1t from people.

Dairy farmers have really become the whipping boy for those who can speak loudest.

There's a serious beckoning coming for all the bs being thrown.

Edit: if anyone wants to make an alternative program or report. Contact me.

You'd have some business up and going or bought into for 1.5million and not a wiff of cow shite about. ......obviously I'm talking outside of agriculture

pretty sad being whipped by the most corrupt immoral thieves in the country. I'm sure they snorted plenty of white powder putting this **** together. an act of treason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Anybody go to Moorepark?

OR

Maynooth?

The whole industry is built on slave labour. Can only last so long. Eu legislation forbids anyone from working over 60 hours a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,466 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It's not treason. It's an attack on an industry. Now there could be parts warranted. Remains to be seen.

But there's no fairness in the attacks with dairy being seen as fair play to take all nitrates and whatever criticism just because it's dairy. Farmers don't help themselves and think if you point out the positives and great potential over all other forms of farming that don't offer the same financial and soil health benefits that you are attacking other farmers who practice such methods. Which is wrong. If it's not pointed out there won't be a dairy industry here bar a very small local liquid market which itself is under attack.

It's that plain and simple.

Ya, if those guys put the same effort, hours, investment into any other industry they would be many more times successful. 160 cows on 50 Ha is not sustainable. 55 Ha here and 80 cows.