Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I dunno, we're only talking about the AI championship. County players would still be playing club games and league games for county, plenty of games surely?

I suppose you're right though in the sense that it's the players who matter and what they want. The general public etc come well down the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,472 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Can see a shock and it'll be a Derry vs Dublin AI Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭dunnerc

100% agree royalcelt has got to be the most miserable git ever on this site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Mayo hammered two yrs in a row at quarter final stage……..Galway showed them far too much respect in salthill..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭rodmn2377

I dunno if id agree with you there about the general public.. a 32 county knockout is great for any Div1/Div 2 team and there supporters as they will get a few days out unless there extremely unlucky and meet another top tier team... most of the lower division teams are gone at the first hurdle... so its there supporters who only get there 1 day out for the summer... if you take Sligo this yr... there supporters got at least 5 games home and away and brought decent support to all these games... mightn't have got the wins but id say they would rather get out to these games then sitting at home watching...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,890 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It wouldn't take extreme bad luck to find a number of the top 16 drawn against each other. Just like Shamrock Rovers are playing Dundalk, and Bohs are playing Shels in the last 32 of the FAI cup. A Dublin v Kerry or a Mayo v Galway is just as likely as any other combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Don't think Galway would have done much better Sunday especially with question marks over their top Players.like us they blew any chance they had by not topping the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Ticketmaster acting the bollix again.

Ordered 2 tickets for Hill 16, paid for them, downloaded them and it says Nally Stand on them.

No idea why the GAA deal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

I've been looking for hill tickets all morning. Keeps offering nally so I search again. No luck...

Gives this message

"We Couldn't Find Your First Choice

But we found you our next best tickets."

And then has nally tickets that you can click and buy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,022 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It was doing that to lots of people for the Munster final including myself.

Tickets were going so fast that you could still select City Terrace but the tickets you were offered were Clare Terrace because City was sold out.

Essentially you clicked Hill standing which were sold out but we're offered Nally but they don't make it very clear.

Although I don't agree with the tiny violin stuff about big bully Dublin fans I agree with the Meath poster and ticketing for the Tailteann Cup final. I kinda liked the casual atmosphere of the games and would not have been too excited about the stress of getting tickets and the hassle of 80000 people if Limerick had qualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Mine said Hill 16 all the way through until I downloaded the QR code and then it said Nally and entry via Jones' Road.

Second problem is the Nally is divided into C1 and C2. With C2 you can get fairly near the goals, but I've got a C1 ticket which is in the corner. I guarantee that if I go on it tomorrow or Thursday I'll get C2 or Hill 16 tickets.

They are known to be dishonest and that they siphon off concert tickets to their tout websites. I've no idea why they are used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,022 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

If its the Dublin game you will find nothing if you go on it. It looks sold out.

The Nally is always the last section of terrace to open so it's not some conspiracy to sell the crap ones first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

might get tickets for kerry v derry but what is stopping me is im worried Derry will play puke football, im a neutral so im not wasting a day and good money on seeing Derry play anti football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭flasher0030

You don't even need to worry will Derry play puke football. They will definitely play puke football. If it was 2 defensive seems going at it, I'd say give it a miss. But when you have an attacking team like Kerry going up against the Derry bus, it could actually be very intriguing - e.g. how are Kerry going to break them down.

In order to win, Derry will have 15 players behind the ball for over 70% of the game and will be hoping for all of the following to happen:-

• the Kerry outfield players cannot find the inside forward with a pass.
    • That Sean O'Shea has an offday at frees.
    • that Kerry miss most of their long range point efforts
    • That Conor Glass and Brendan Rodgers can perform miracles in midfield to try to give them some rest at the back
    • That Kerry go in a little too complacent, and don't show the same ruthlessness that they dealt to Tyrone.
    • And finally, that Derry can sneak upfield to tack on enough scores to win the match.

A Derry win is unlikely, but you just never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,375 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Answer is for Kerry to do what they did against Tyrone……be fohherking positive….. this tip tapping around the place is non productive… take them on …go for it .. best way to beat that system is the direct method , get your players to flood the areas if front of goal and you get dividends.

Quick positive ball from the half back line and centre fielders to the forwards, don’t wait for the bus to park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Long championships and round robin definitely benefits the stronger counties. The chances of a shock are much less.

I'm not confortable with the fact that Mayo for example lost twice in the championship, yet can still knock out a provincial champion and reach a quarter final.

You could in theory have a county lose in their province, lose twice in the round robin stage, and yet win a prelimary quarter final.

As for training all year and then being out after one game under the old system, weaker teams are going to be knocked out sooner or later. Its almost better to have one thrashing and be done, than 3 or 4 thrashings.

I agree with the division into Tailtean Cup and Sam Maguire, but both competitions should be knockout and only provincial winners seeded for Sam Maguire or highest league finishers for Tailtean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,748 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I'm amazed Bookies give Derry a squeak. Think Kerry could win this by 8+ points

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,375 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Nah mate, Galway had plenty of chances…should never have been in the position they ended up in.

Should have beaten Armagh and then when they met Mayo in their own patch they couldn’t do it..

On those performances they had no place in the AI semis…..and I’m a GWY supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

My point was a general point really, a team could lose 2 or 3 times and still make it far in the championship.

i know a lad involved with leitrim and he says the players are a lot happier with the championship now(they know they wont beat the big teams in connacht but try and give a decent account of themselves) and get a chance in the tailteann cup as there getting a bit of game time against teams they feel they have a chance with and enjoy the games compaired to a hammering by Mayo or Galway and yr over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,168 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was obviously responding to you. as you PM'd me first. Certainly wouldn't engage first in a PM. Not my style.

Unless someone was looking for tickets etc - which we already have established that you don't go to matches because it is a waste of time? So it couldn't have been that you were looking for tickets.

Or have I not got the right gist? From your previous posts I have seen on GAA threads?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Exactly teams play at their level and are competitive.

The only reason we don't have the main championship with teams of a similar level in league like system - is because the 'traditionalists' who are wedded to the antiquated Provincial System are holding the rest of the GAA back. Which is an awful pity. But gradually the GAA is moving towards that with the AI series/Tailteann Cup. GAA people have to be given time to get used to things it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

Absolutely. For years teams like Leitrim were getting one, two games max while the strong teams were getting 5 or 6 and getting stronger year on year.

It's great to see the lesser teams getting more games in.

I wouldn't go that far! But Monaghan have the potential to make things awkward if they keep things tight. However, Monaghan's major drawback is that they have a limited pool of players and don't have many fellas to come off the bench to make an impact. Conor 'Mansy' McManus is their only bench danger man.

In the 2022 League Dublin were relegated by Monaghan up in Clones - 3-13 (22)  (21) 1-18

The two teams from that day were -

Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Drew Wylie, Conor Boyle (0-01), Ryan Wylie (Capt.); Conor McCarthy (0-01), Ryan McAnespie, Dessie Ward; Darren Hughes (0-01), Niall Kearns; Fintan Kelly, Kieran Hughes (0-02), Shane Carey (0-01f); Seán Jones (1-00); Gary Mohan (0-01f), Jack McCarron (2-06, 1-0 pen, 0-03f)

Dublin: Michael Shiel; Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne; Jonny Cooper; Eoin Murchan, James McCarthy, Robbie McDaid; Brian Fenton, Tom Lahiff; Brian Howard (0-01), Seán Bugler (0-02, 1m), Niall Scully; Cormac Costello (0-04, 1m), Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock (1-09, 1-0 pen, 0-8f).

--

In 2019 NFL Monaghan became the first county (at that time) to get consecutive victories against Dublin since Mayo in 2012 after a league victory

https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/dublin-monaghan-allianz-football-league-15739535

--

In 2018 NFL Monaghan pip Dublin by a point in CP

--

In 2017 Dublin beat Monaghan in AI QF - by 10 points- Rock scoring 1-7

In 2016 Dublin scraped by Monaghan at CP in the league

In 2014 in the AI QF Dublin hammer Monaghan by 17 points

--

I don't expect Monaghan will be hammered in 2023, as they will have better team structure and discipline than Mayo. Historically Monaghan have not 'rolled over' against Dublin much.More often than not made it difficult or won.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

You are ignoring all the craic that led to this point, Westmeath's hard luck stories. Kildare's inconsistency, Galway getting caught out on the last day, Cork's improvement, Mayo failing to top their group changing the course of the draw. Monaghan's grit and consistency. All of that drama would have been lost if the GAA returned to the old format.

I know a lot of GAA people prefer the instant crash, bang wallop. But a slow burner can lead to more drama as there are more twists and turns. Plus you are assuming both Dublin and Kerry are going to win.

As a Dublin fan I am delighted we are not playing Derry. Lost to them once in the league and were fortunate Glass got injured in the final of div 2. Plus Glen gave Kilmacud Crokes a great go in the AI Club (ignoring the controversy issue) - I was at that one as well and was impressed with the Derry lads.

So Derry are a tough side with solid players, probably a notch up from Monaghan as Derry have that fantastic midfield. Derry fans would love if Kerry took them lightly and started thinking of the final.

Did you see the last says group games and changes in permutations? I can't remember a championship day as dramatic tbh.

The covid 2020 was just an O'Byrne Cup/McGrath Cup etc No crowds etc. It was obvious the normal teams were not tuned in. My main memory of the Covid AI was a steaming Tomas O'Se after Kerry lost to Cork. So annoyed he could not talk.

He knew full well Kerry threw it away. And as I said only for Covid that fella Keane that scored the goal would have been back in Australia with the AFL, and had to stay in Ireland.

Then the SF's of the AI were complete write offs as the best teams did not get there.

It is no coincidence in 2023 that we have four div 1 teams in the SF's, in 2020 we had just two. I don't even know what division Cavan or Tipp were in at the time.

Ya i agree there was some parts of this yrs championship which was off but very rarely when ya change something like this you make it perfect straight away...id hope they would go away look at it all and try and make the changes that could improve it... i dont really know is there any format that will make everyone happy as probably the best would be a league formation but the people that want the provincial championships really dont want to lose them..