The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Even if there was no contest today ref still needs to do his job and not hold back incase it might unsettle the game.

He gave two reds for nothing when game was over and dead sums it up.

The ref was grand today. For a real shocking performance i direct you to Kildare v Monaghan last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,000 ✭✭✭enricoh

Tyrone defender made sure he stood on the ankle after the goal attempt at the end. Tyrone classy as ever n get away with it as ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Kerry was outstanding in defence today, it's that type of defending that won them the All Ireland last year and from a number of turnovers in defence they scored a lot of their scores from. Worst defeat and performance in the championship for Tyrone since the AI semi final in 2017 when they lost 2-17 to 0-11 to Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Gael85

Linesman definitely saw it. I'd say referee didn't give red as he didn't send off Jack Barry earlier in game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,021 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Paudie and his attitude will cost Kerry some day soon.

He was bananas all day, was lucky given his behavior to last to the end before eventually getting sent off. Tyrone are obviously no saints, but the other 14 Kerry lads had their heads on and controlled their aggression well and effectively, but Paudie was himself and all mouth and cheap digs. Our sanctimonious mods will write to me again if I use any other discriptions of his behavior, but it's silly and and needs addressing from a Kerry point of view.

Fine performance, team to beat now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,851 ✭✭✭corny

Good defence or bad attack?

Some set of jam jars on Paddy Andrews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,109 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Might as well hand Kerry the trophy now.

Nobody will touch them.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,546 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Bit of both, but Kerry defence smothered Tyrone first half in particular when the game was competitive.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

After that display kerry are nailed on favourites and won't be stopped. Mayo and Dublin are yards behind them.

You would think its theres to lose but tyrone were pathetic. Poor. You cant underestimate how bad they were so ill hold fire for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,109 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The standard behind kerry is so poor. Kerry are actually nothing special but chasing pack are just far more average.

EVENFLOW

Dublin a distant third, even fourth or worse n the pecking order at this stage. Plus I don't here much chat about new dynamic Dublin blood coming through.

On paper Mayo would have the best chance of beating Kerry, if they beat Dublin as I think they will. But Mayo will fold mentally if they got to a final for sure, way too much historical pressure on them. Almost impossible for a team to perform under that pressure.

Can't see Mayo getting near kerry in final especially in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Nothing is out of the question here. Kerry have been fairly avarage up until today, it's difficult to decipher whether todays result was down to their own brilliance or massive overhype of Tyrone's ability.

Dublin or Mayo should give them a decent game, and we've yet to see the best of them imo, especially Dublin.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Kerry put Tyrone away easily but Tyrone clearly were low on energy. The break at this level is huge. It will probably affect Mayo tomorrow so Dublin to win that. Dublin should have beaten Kerry last year, I think it's in their hands, home advantage and the hunger from last year should see them over the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭PressRun

Not surprised at all by that result. Tyrone have had a poor year and are a shadow of the team that won the 2021 All Ireland. Kerry were well up for it on every level and snuffed Tyrone out of it. Physically bullied them all over the field, which Tyrone usually wouldn't let happen. Thought the Kerry midfield lorded it which tells the story of the game - Tyrone on paper have the better pairing but they weren't remotely at the pitch of it psychologically or physically today. They've a ton of work to do. Kerry in a good spot now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭munster87

Like every year Kerry win an All Ireland 😅

Badly need the standard of 2010 back again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,851 ✭✭✭corny

Don't know what yis are watching lads but that game was miles off the usual standard for pace and intensity. Tyrone played it as if it were a McKenna cup game. I wouldn't read much into it. Comprehensively outworking their opponents was the platform for Kerry. It's unlikely the remaining teams will fail to apply themselves so abysmally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,302 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Very few counties could say they have any sort of golden generation right now.

Even this Kerry side are one of the weaker Kerry teams.

This GAAGo thing is a shambles. Here in Dublin and I went through 5/6 pubs in D4 before I got to see the match. And a huge number of people bundled in the door after me looking for the same. Kids in tow and all.

Oversight as we all have busy lives but none of us thought for a moment Tyrone Kerry would be behind a paywall until we went looking for the game today.

This is poor. Thats what i was talking about. Get to the 65 and slow it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭munster87

Potentially one of the stronger teams we’ve had. Time will tell. Possibly the best footballer we’ve had too.

The problem is we have seen the best of Dublin, I don't think it is in the future tense at all. Dublin have no gears to raise anymore.

Monaghan v Armagh game going as I expected cagey. Monaghan will prove to be more consistent is my prediction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Kumejima

Anyone know where in Dublin northside does GAAGo? Nowhere in Clontarf or Raheny. Pubs won't put their hands in their pockets, neither will I. GAA are strangling interest in the game.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭Seadin

I disagree. I can't see anyone beating them this year. They are miles above everyone and the best at peaking at the right time.