RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i think i get it now, maybe. there was no net cashflow. the net movement was from renault to ryan.

that barter account ledger needs to be published

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

The PAC has requested the last 20 years worth of transactions on the account. Will make for interesting reading for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It seems like a lot of effort and dishonesty went into the simple act of making sure Ryan Tubridy didn't have to take a pay cut.

Waaaaaay too much effort. Ryan Tubridy getting paid more than they were disclosing, isn't remotely the story anymore.

Surely Dee Forbes knew the consequences of being dishonest about nature of the payments to the CFO and the Auditors.

As I said previously, I worked doing Petty Cash Expenses. I wouldn't dare put down an extra €20 for one of the lads and say it was for stamps or something. Why would I put my job on the line for somebody else? And in Dee Forbes case, more than her job.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It will take me most of tomorrow to catch up on today's posts. Can ye all take a breather for a few hours tomorrow? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭BagofWeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Delete

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

that's my concern right there.

dont request, just demand. and sack everyone that don't cooperate till its furnished. we pay them after all.

i would also hope the PAC go to renault et al and ask for their accounting of the same transactions.

you dont give up an internal audit file, but you certainly cooperate with these kinds of requests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

A 110% behind them and like most unions nowadays will do nothing for them, to not rock the boat on the government. All unions want is money for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Thankfully someone in the auditors was unwilling to just accept D Forbes word. She seems to have been running a fine little show unthetered by either the rte board or best practice.

Rte needs a new board with people who are actually aware of what's happening in the organisation and not afraid to question whatever they see fit.

This country is too small. Dublin is too small. All of these people exist in the same social circles. Drink in the same watering holes and are so busy watching their own back they don't know or want to know what's happening elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭jmcc

Seems that Paddy Cosgrave has submitted a complaint to AGS.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

Ironically, it is not as bad as it seems as he may have been concentrating more on his job than what he was being paid. That's unusual for RTE management. He has really opened the floodgates with his comments about the taxpayers being potentially defrauded and most of the news orgs have picked this up. The mood on the barter account and credit notes has also noticeably shifted from being a minor oversight to being portrayed as a slush fund. Forbes is in very serious trouble as they are all trying to distance themselves from her actions. Collins also brought the oversight of the barter account into Finance from Commercial.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

The Indo thinks that yesterday went badly for RTE:

It isn't just Paddy Cosgrave's complaint. This might explain some of the worried looks on the RTE management at yesterdays' PAC session.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Will basic social media trawls of the RTE higher-uppers so to speak reveal gold? Text Y to 51551 so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

I’m afraid you’ve gotten most of everything wrong with your contributions to this thread. Perhaps consider deleting some posts to save face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

This an interesting little part that doesn't seem to have gained much traction.

A lovely night out for some random hangers ons and spouses, but people have also pointed out...there is no record of U2 playing croke park in 2019...plus they were about 1.2km from the venue, with barriers etc why did they need a coach seems kind of pointless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,128 ✭✭✭✭walshb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Yeah absolute bile as per , about 15 pages worth. And constantly flip flopping on what hes saying. But he will call that "nuance" and "context".

"As long as you are VAT Compliant the Revenue is happy." Says the former RTE man on the radio just now.

What about the professional services withholding tax you are required to collect on the 'Consultancy Services'?

Much ado about nothing. There’s an awful lot more important news we need to be following concerning RTE “stars.”

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/celebs/lottie-ryan-panic-buttons-emergency-30347928

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,247 ✭✭✭✭Penn

There's probably enough going on that we don't need to start going over Tubridy issues from 20+ years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭1992ChainGang

It's probably been mentioned no doubt in previous posts but how long are they going to pay Ryan Tubridy his wages while out of contract and not on air? His wages should be retracted from June 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Westlife played in 2019 U2 in 2017 - easy to mix up when you go to so many I suppose . It absolutely looks like aul Geraldine was using this for herself. The japan World Cup stuff is super odd - a few tickets or even a dinner hosted by rte and Geraldines husband grand … all expenses paid for a week or more - very odd.

I bet these folks will all be in the same social circle.

https://crokepark.ie/special-events/concerts/previous-concerts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

How awful. I have no doubt RTÉ compensated all affected persons for the trauma caused because daddy was a DJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

Anything good on Oireachtas TV today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭batman75

RTE are potentially in a tricky spot with Tubridy. As he clearly has no morals or scruples he will hang in there for his pound of flesh. From what I understand neither Tubridy or Noel Kelly have done nothing illegal. If RTE lack backbone that's on them.

It will be interesting to see how long they keep Tubridy off the airwaves. The board only have themselves to blame for this sh*tshow but I don't agree with Gareth O'Callaghan that Forbes has been made a scapegoat. She was head honcho and in that context is ultimately answerable for what goes on in RTE. In fairness to O'Callaghan he says Tubridy should not be allowed back on radio and I agree.

If Tubridy goes back on the radio the atmosphere in RTE will be poisonous. If they continue to pay him their will be public outrage at money being given to someone not earning it.

Having had time to reflect on this I'm simply puzzled.

Is Tubridy so greedy that he couldn't resist the temptation of what turned out to be 345k extra which amounts to less than 1 years pay spread out over 6 years?

Did he genuinely not see the dangers in taking the money particularly against the backdrop of doing so?

Ultimately why would you risk a lifetime of employment on a huge salary for a side bonus which amounted to figures which over 6 years was less than one years wages?

Does he have outgoings which might explain what appears to be pure naked greed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,895 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Well why don't you increase your attention seeking post count in one of those threads then? You have certainly made a fool of yourself in this one.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

From my understanding he’s not out of contract, he still has a radio only contract. Lynch mentioned talks about that contract were suspended, not exactly sure what that means though. If Tubs is legally due payment, then just pay it and tell him to get lost.

The new DG needs to get himself a new executive board and main board (whatever they do).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I hope one of the positives that comes out from this fiasco is that is shines a light on the what is going in these public/semi public companies and departments. It seems that the management are creaming off most of the budget for themselves and then sending the crumbs to the frontline where budget is needed. You can bet if it is going on in RTE with their budget you can picture what is going in places where the budget is bigger. I am surprised there has never really been much focus on the HSE and the way they allocate the budget and the amount waste in there.