The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,892 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

You can't get a repeat pairing, Kerry can't play cork or mayo if all get through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Finals

Saturday July 1

Kerry v Tyrone, Croke Park, 3.45pm, GAAGO

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare)

Armagh v Monaghan, Croke Park, 6pm, GAAGO

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork)

Sunday July 2

Derry v Cork, Croke Park, 1.45pm, RTE

Referee: Joe McQuillan (Cavan)

Dublin v Mayo, Croke Park, 4pm, RTE

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

(All fixtures E.T & Winner on the Day)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Ya, I agree. I think Kerry and Mayo have the toughest draws. I'm not sure about the other odds either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Mayo and Kerry can't meet in semis unless Cork also get through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,367 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Mayo are in a lovely position in that case. You can start making plans for the final so!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Belladonna44

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭HBC08

Good,

That's the kinda bite Mayo teams have been accused of not having in the past.

ROD was getting battered on and off the ball versus Cork.Maybe he was angry and I hope he is next week aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭crusd

If he was targeting his ankle has was about as accurate as a Shane Walsh shot, and it looks like he stood on his toe in time honoured GAA traditon.

image.png

It could even be argued from the second image that he deliberately avoided the ankle for a little step on the toe.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

No seat selection... God I hate playing Mayo, solely because they mess up our ability to pick the best seats.

Also howayiz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

He's a Mayo forward, accuracy and precision is not his strongest asset!

Just wait till Armagh get to at least a semi final, you ain't seen nothing yet.

Delighted that Gough is reffing Mayo Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I hate seeing players doing that but hopefully that ends the witch hunt that he targeted his injured ankle.

Both O'Donoghue and Kelly should have gotten yellows for acting the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

I fancy Dublin, Kerry, Armagh and Derry to win. Probably will be at least one against the odds but i'm going for the four group winners to progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭crusd

Exactly, yellow card offence, now lets talk about football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Treble double

I will go with Cork, Armagh, Dublin and Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭tanko

I’d like to see Tyrone, Mayo, Derry and Armagh win but realistically i see Kerry and Dublin winning.

Just heard PJs interview .

That was pathetic, blaming the ref,the ref was riding one team and it wasn't galway.

That's my own opinion but Galway were awarded 21 frees versus Mayos 10 and that bit is a fact that can't be argued with.

Even if he believed the ref cost them (which is delusional) he shouldn't be bringing that up in an interview.I can't imagine any of the top managers from big counties going on like that.

I'm not trying to get a cheap dig in here on the many sound and decent galway fans on here but lads he's a liability with this stuff and has a lot of form for it.

The fact he played two injured players isn't great either,again he has form for this and it has always backfired.

From my own Mayo point of view I hope he stays in the job for the next 5 years but from yer point of view ye need to be demanding higher standards from your manager.

Even though he's involved with Galway I always had the height of respect for him as a player and I thought he was growing and learning as a manager.The last couple of years he has shown himself to be overly emotional, irrational and dislikeable.

Anyway,time to look forward now as the big boy football is starting.

Kerry, Mayo, Derry, Monaghan for me - and if that does happen I will have to decide which of the three of the four I will shout for.

Joyce was close to winning Sam last year. I'd be careful what you wish for!

No he wasn't.

Galway had an easy ride to the final and Joyce had no bench to call on.Fairly naive stuff ( Mayo did the same in 16,17 but came a lot closer to winning it) I thought he'd strengthened his bench this year but other familiar PJ failings like playing injured players was his downfall.Then he blames the ref!

He blew it big time this year,I thought they were well placed to win Sam this year.

Anyway,I'm not that interested in looking back (I only commented as I didn't see his interview till today)

From here on its proper football and serious contenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭Panrich

Well if all 3 get through, you can't avoid a repeat pairing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I think it's actually possible all 3 might not get through at all!

Cork are very much the underdog, but that's quite okay, if we perform on the day, it will be very close.

Tyrone are quite capable of beating Kerry. Quieten Clifford - they will be upto all their tricks of the trade - and Kerry are not the be all and end all.

Have Mayo got their good performances out of the way already, v Kerry and Galway, do they have another in them? Will Dublin rise to the occasion?

It reallly is set up very nicwely and all 4 games could be crackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭vid36

Galway did not have an easy ride to the final last year.They beat Mayo, Armagh and Derry , two of whom will be semi finalists this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,769 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ide go with the same 4. Dublin haven't played a big team all season and I think it will show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,682 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I’m only after watching The Sunday Game , and I think I can safely say the ref in the Monaghan /Kildare game won’t see much action for the rest of the year judging by the panels comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Ya, Tyrone will definitely bring out the dark arts for the Cliffords. I think Kerry could struggle. Unless they have been playing the long game, and looking to peak for these last 3 games. But I doubt it.

Maybe I am being pessimistic, but I wouldn't regard Mayos performance yesterday as anything close to good. In the first half, they were as bad as I have seen them for a long time. Loads of basic mistakes. They had a good 15/20 minute spell in the second half, which drove them enough clear of a very depleted Galway side, and it was very difficult for Galway to come back into it playing into that gale. But at least Mayo did enough to get over the line. In their past 3 games, Mayo have been poor in overall terms. Hopefully, there is a good game in them come Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Robson99

It's great to see the Mayo boys so concerned about a Galway man with two all ireland medals in his pocket.

Kerry's hope is that Tyrone is at the level lot of us think they are, I think Dublin, Mayo and Tyrone are the only teams left that could beat them, they'd deal pretty handily with the rest IMHO.

Notwithstanding their performance was at the weekend, I still think Mayo and Galway are 2 of the top 3 counties in the country (we're about to find out which of Dublin/Kerry/Tyrone/Derry/Armagh is the other), so Mayo I think have a great chance this time, would be hilarious if they finally won and proved the curse was real.

A generation ago since the last time galway knocked Mayo out of championship.Mayo knocked galway out in 2019,2020,2021 and 2023. ......and bet them in 2 league finals in that time also for good measure.

Ouch......thems the facts and there ain't much of a comeback to that.

Roscommon are bigger rivals for us than the fancy Dan's.

Galway lads harking back to 98,pulling the stomachs out of themselves watching A Year Til Sunday..........on VHS.