Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Absolutely. Hasn't had much game time this year with injury, but has put together some highlight reel of scores!

Today off his left foot.

Against Roscommon out on the wing into a gale.

Kicked an unbelievable one off his left vs Armagh in the league too.

Have thought for a long time Cillian's the most underrated forward of his generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

His problem has been he has been too consistent. For over a decade he has done it season after season. Leading his county to All Ireland finals where a miss is highlighted. He might have been more appreciated it if he just did it sporadically with the occasional Provincial title victory and not reaching All Ireland finals…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

2 or 3 posters in particular will be AWOL no doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭HBC08

Hilariously quiet from a few prolific big lads on here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

With all due respect ye beat a Galway team riddled with injuries, ye went out in the second half intent on injuring Sean Kellys ankle, it's no wonder ye can't win an all Ireland and won't do any time soon. Everyone knows Galway will win one ahead of ye. I'd be embarrassed to be from Mayo watching Ryan O Donoghue on the Sunday game trying to deliberately injure a player. I've no doubt the instructions came from the top at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Firepower wasn't there for Galway this year.  Galway's scoring this year against div 1 opposition in league and championship coming into that game was 2-8,0-8,0-16,1-9,1-13,1-8,1-13,0-11,1-13,0-16, and 1-12 that's an average of 14 points per game.

Mayo scoring 1-10 enough to win which was one point less than they managed against Cork last week in a 3 point loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Can we spare a thought for the lads who were giving out about the current system a few weeks ago? The "24 games to eliminate 4 teams" lads?

Last weekend produced a number of games that were won by a single point or decided with the last kick of the ball, which determined the makeup of this weekends games

This weekend produced great games - of 4 games, 3 were won by a single point. 3 of those winners would have been out in group stages if the preQF didn't exist. Mayo, Tyrone, Armagh, Cork etc with some great trajectories so far.

We are heading into a QF round now with unquestionably the best 8 teams in the country at the moment. Are these lads still worrying about "jeopardy" I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Sure Mayo were riddled with injures last year and Galway only beat them by a point.

As someone said earlier on the thread thems the breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Dublin v Mayo

Armagh v Monaghan

Kerry v Tyrone

Derry v Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

For those who thought the thread was bad last week with Mayo and Galway supporters having snipes against eachother it's only going to get worse with Mayo Vs Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Reasonably happy with the draw tbh. Hard to know where Dublin are, very average early in the season; drew with Roscommon and then two very straight forward wins against Sligo & Kildare where they looked similar to the Dublin of old - they haven't really been put to the pin of their collar yet but it remains to be seen if we're good enough to actually do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I’d worry the painfully tough Mayo v Galway game will really stand to them and Dublin just won’t be ready for the step up in quality.

Mayo favourites , Dublin need all their old guard to find form out of nowhere. Big ask… But hopefully they show up and it’s a classic. Maybe we can try and convince the Mayo lads it’s an AI final and then it’s a nailed on Dublin win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Maybe we can try and convince the Mayo lads it’s an AI final and then it’s a nailed on Dublin win!

But the thing is it's still only a quarter final, that's hard to believe.

I think I like the new system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,805 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Brilliant draw for the neutrals I think, 2 big crowds in Croker next week.

It’s mad.

Gotta say I’ve not been loving the idea of the new champo but there’s been some enjoyable stuff the last 2 weekends. Having the tailteann simultaneously gives you an option to watch a guaranteed more open game aswell which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

From a Mayo point of view this is the best draw, they needed a team to get Dublin where motivation won’t be an issue I mean it should never be, but it is for Mayo at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Didn't mention injuries, has been low scoring war of attrition contests from Galway all year, I brought this up before weeks ago that it could be their downfall when sailing so close to the wind but some Galway fans claimed they would adjust for whatever opposition they faced.

Decent draw this morning Derry,Kerry,Dublin,Armagh should be favorites but Mayo and Tyrone are capable of taking out the big hitters.

I was in Croker for the semi final 2006. Possibly one of the worst defeats for me ever, alongside meath in 1991. I just can’t ever feel any Gra for Mayo , but on reflection them going to the hill at start of game in 2006 was a very shrewd move, wonder would they try that again? (Don’t think it would rattle this Dublin team).

Ironically that Dublin team were as flakey when it mattered in big games as Mayo have been in finals. I’d be really worried that Dublin have mostly shown f**k all for 2 years now (except being able to give kerry a game in semis last year) and people keep acting like it’s the dublin of old.

Id also be worried that the game at the weekend for Mayo was like Dublins against Donegal in 2011 that really stood to us in the final. A horrible game that could really stand to Mayo , particularly if the dubs game is close. Dublin have just not been on it too long, we need to click into form I haven’t seen against a top team in a long long time.

Derry 4/11 Cork 11/4

Amagh 1/2 Monaghan 2/1

Kerry 4/9 Tyrone 9/4

Dublin 8/13 Mayo 7/4

I think both Mayo & Tyrone are priced too high there, i'd have both as slight underdogs but only slight

Great chance for Armagh/Monaghan to make a semi final

That’s ridiculous odds for Mayo, if I was a betting man, I’d snap the fingers off the bookies for Mayo

I can see the fixtures being

Sat

Armagh v Monaghan

Kerry v Tyrone

Sun

14.00 Derry v Cork

16.00 Dublin v Mayo

Not bad odds on Mayo. If you put €10 on Mayo at 7/4 you would win the sum total of €0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

We're Mayo looking a weekend ahead yesterday. Was very surprised to see Kevin McLoughlin and Jason Doherty start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I think the odds on Tyrone are just as mad. A team that Kerry always struggle with, not to mind in a year where they seem to be struggling for form and have yet to really have a significant win. Doubtless this will focus the minds and get them going, but Im not convinced they are good enough this year. 9/4 is big. Id have it as max 6/4.

I hope you are right. But there’s been nothing from Dublin this year that suggests they deserve to be favourites. For all the talk of Mayo being poor, they’ve played alot more quality the last 6 months then dublin and dublin have been less then convincing more often then not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Funny to see the division 2 champions favourites over the division 1 champions.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,158 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I can see Kerry and Cork on the same day, not to have 3 Northern teams travelling down on the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,386 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Definitely the Kerry/Tyrone match will b Saturday and the Dublin/ Mayo Sunday. KT will be 7pm Saturday and DM 4pm Sunday.

The other two fixtures will be rearranged around this. It will depend on who they think will bring the smaller crowd that will be put opposite DM match.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,386 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I be having Tyrone at the same odds as Kerry. Kerry has not beaten them in about 4 years in League or championship.

Slava Ukrainii